Travel Router

Discussion in 'iPad Accessories' started by Richdmoore, Apr 15, 2010.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    #1
    I was wondering if anyone had any experience with using a travel router on the iPad?

    Specifically, I tried the simulation software to set up a treadnet travel router, but it is not compatible with Safari for Mac or iPad, so I assume the real one is not as well.

    Now I'm looking for another brand or suggestion for getting a wired-only hotel room internet into my iPad.
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    #2
    Apple Airport Express.

    Refurbs are $79.
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    barefeats

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2000
    #3
    ... or Sprint Overdrive 4G. We are using it in the California Pizza Kitchen as I write this. It's a palm-sized WiFi hotspot with 4G connection. With the iPad, I see between 3.5 to 4.5Mbps download. It supports up to 5 devices. We take two MBPs and two iPads and two iPhone3Gs on the road so we are quite pleased with the cost per device.
     
  4. macrumors member

    MrMorden

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Guatemala
    #4

    Attached Files:

    • zoom.jpg
      zoom.jpg
      File size:
      16.8 KB
      Views:
      4,203
  5. macrumors 68030

    RaceTripper

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    #5
    I have traveled with an Airport Express for years. I plug into an available ethernet port and I have my own private WiFi hotspot.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    #6
    Thanks for the response. I'm not interested in buying another data plan apart from my iPhone, and my company almost always negotiates the room internet into our rate for free.

    (I'm also not interested in jailbreaking my iphone, at least until I have upgraded my iphone, then I may consider jailbreaking the older one into a 3g wireless router.)

    Once I set up the airport express using my apple, is there ever a need to reconfigure it on the fly, which I believe you can't do with an iPad, or simply plug into any hotel room and go?
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #7

    the airport express would be nice but yes you are correct. i dont think you can configure an airport express with an ipad since its configured using the airport utility not through a browser.

    you never know what type of settings each network might require so i would want a router that can be configured through a browser.
     
  8. macrumors 68030

    RaceTripper

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    #8
    I've never needed to reconfigure mine. It's worked in every hotel I needed it.
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    #9
    Reconfigure

    I have and have used 4 travel routers: Linksys, netgear, and airport express "G" and now the "N" version. I have traveled with each one and once configured I have never had to reset any of them. So you are probably pretty safe. The Linksys and Netgear can be configured via the web browser. I have never tried reconfiguring A-Express without the utility.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    #10
    I bought the airport express and travel 3 days a week, we have free internet in all hotels we stay in per our company contract. I simply configured the airport express at home with a WPA password using my iMac, then connected my iPad to it. From that point on I simply plug it into the hotel ethernet cable and my iPad automatically hops onto the password protected WiFi network. in the view of the hotel i am plugged in so you will see the typical hotel sign in webpage first but it works normally as if plugged in, but your wireless. I stay in all chains imaginable that have wired internet (higher level chains) as well as the cheaper hotels that tend to have wireless instead of wired.
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    #11
    Similar experience here using the Airport Express for travel for many years. Also note that if you did a reset, the default function is to act as a wireless access point. But I've never had to and it's worked like a charm. Highly recommended.
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    #12
    I have a question about this mobile hotspot devices. If I were in let's say Outback Steakhouse and Joe Blow has one of those Sprint devices in use. If I look for it with my ipad will it see it? Will I be able to use the hotspot while he is there or are they password protected somehow?
     
  13. Guest

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #13
    most likely password protected. but in theory if you are in range you could tap into that network if you knew the password.

    so far the speeds have been less than impressive. but once the 4G standard is everywhere it may change.

    I use the airport express and it is great. my ipod touch always has full bars and never drops out. In comparison to my Linksys G router, the Apple works well and without issues.
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    #14
    Once I set up the airport express using my apple, is there ever a need to reconfigure it on the fly, which I believe you can't do with an iPad, or simply plug into any hotel room and go?
    -----------

    There shouldn't be any reason to reconfigure an airport express in a hotel room. While it isn't always needed, I always do a hard reset of the express at a new hotel, but other than that, I can't think of another reason to need to config anything in a hotel
     

Share This Page