Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

GT107

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 25, 2006
Does anybody know how to install tiger on an iMac G3 450Mhz DV with 512MB Ram. The ROM firmware has been updated to
4.1.9f. I am new to this but i either get a message about the Darwin Kernel version 8.4.1 powerMac 2.2 text on screen etc, etc. I have tried installing tiger the various methods commonly used, for example holding the C key down whilst booting up, and double clicking installer icon. When I do this the window that tells you to press the Restart buttton on it to install Mac Tiger OS 10.4.5 comes up as it should. Then when I press the blue restart button the computer reboots but with the current operating system OS 10.1.4. The iMac has a DVD-ROM slot load. Does anyone know what i may be doing wrong or need to change. Also done a Disk Utility verification and everything is fine.
:confused:

FoxyKaye

macrumors 68000
The old slot-loading iMacs will run Panther just fine - XPostFacto is not required for them. Slot-loading iMacs with DVD drives (or even not, as long as they have built-in firewire, will also install and run Tiger fine - no XPostFacto needed). XPostFacto is only required for iMac systems with tray-loading drives.

You could be running in to a few issues: hard drive space, bad media (are you installing from an original Tiger DVD or a copy?), or heck, maybe even 10.1 is messing with the installation in some way - you might have to re-partition your HDD if this is the case. You are also installing from a retail full installation DVD, not an upgrade DVD I would assume? The upgrade DVD will only work if the system is already running Panther or Tiger.

Suspended
Dec 27, 2003
Hmmm...try this...

Firmware upgraded?

10.1 updated to the latest version?

Using a retail copy of Tiger?