Trouble Installing Tiger 10.4.5 onto iMac G3 DV 450Mhz

Discussion in 'macOS' started by GT107, Apr 25, 2006.

  1. GT107 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    #1
    Does anybody know how to install tiger on an iMac G3 450Mhz DV with 512MB Ram. The ROM firmware has been updated to
    4.1.9f. I am new to this but i either get a message about the Darwin Kernel version 8.4.1 powerMac 2.2 text on screen etc, etc. I have tried installing tiger the various methods commonly used, for example holding the C key down whilst booting up, and double clicking installer icon. When I do this the window that tells you to press the Restart buttton on it to install Mac Tiger OS 10.4.5 comes up as it should. Then when I press the blue restart button the computer reboots but with the current operating system OS 10.1.4. The iMac has a DVD-ROM slot load. Does anyone know what i may be doing wrong or need to change. Also done a Disk Utility verification and everything is fine.
    Online
    :confused:
     
  2. gman71882 macrumors 6502

    gman71882

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    #2
    You may not be able to install it on that older system. Does the system have Firewire ports?
    Check here for system requirements

    According to Apple the only Imacs you can install it on is the SLOT LOADING imacs. :eek:
     
  3. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #3
    You'll need xPostFacto to install anything past 10.2 on that iMac. Do a Google for it, it is free.
     
  4. FoxyKaye macrumors 68000

    FoxyKaye

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, Terre d'Ange, Bas Lag, Gallifrey
    #4
    The old slot-loading iMacs will run Panther just fine - XPostFacto is not required for them. Slot-loading iMacs with DVD drives (or even not, as long as they have built-in firewire, will also install and run Tiger fine - no XPostFacto needed). XPostFacto is only required for iMac systems with tray-loading drives.

    You could be running in to a few issues: hard drive space, bad media (are you installing from an original Tiger DVD or a copy?), or heck, maybe even 10.1 is messing with the installation in some way - you might have to re-partition your HDD if this is the case. You are also installing from a retail full installation DVD, not an upgrade DVD I would assume? The upgrade DVD will only work if the system is already running Panther or Tiger.
     
  5. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #5
    Yeah I stand corrected xPostFacto isn't needed.

    Got my wires crossed on the machine we were talking about.
     
  6. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    Hmmm...try this...

    Firmware upgraded?

    10.1 updated to the latest version?

    Using a retail copy of Tiger?

    I had no problems installing Tiger on a slot loading, iMac DV (400mhz), but I did upgrade to Jaguar and Panther before Tiger, with clean installs each time.
     
  7. GT107 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    #7
    At This Stage The iMac G3 has ...

    The iMac G3 450Mhz 512 MB Ram, has firewire ports, Running OS 10.1.4, firmware updated to 4.1.9f, trying to install fron an Original Tiger 10.4.5 DVD that came with the new iMac Core Duo.

    Thanks for the responses so far. Any more would be helpful.
     
  8. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #8
    Ummm...

    First of all, that's illegal.

    Second of all, you're trying to install the Intel build of Tiger on a PPC iMac.

    You're out of luck.
     
  9. DeathChill macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    #9
    Eh, the install DVD's that came with the Intel Mac's are actually Universal, but they are of course limited to one system type, which is the one it came with.

    You can see on my Intel Mini:
    deathchills-computer:/ deathchill$ file mach_kernel
    mach_kernel: Mach-O universal binary with 2 architectures
    mach_kernel (for architecture ppc): Mach-O executable ppc
    mach_kernel (for architecture i386): Mach-O executable i386
     
  10. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #10
    Yeah, I feel stupid. It's just the updates that seem to be coming in PPC and Intel varieties.

    Either way this guy needs to buy a retail copy.
     
  11. GT107 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    #11
    So, recommend that i purchase a retail version of Tiger, cool? Currently borrowed a 20 GB Western Digital Hard Drive, th e original 20GB seagate died and also need a new Hard Drive, How big a hard drive should I install and which brand do you recommend? Also do I need more than 512MB ram?

    Thank for any advice?
     
  12. DZ/015 macrumors 6502a

    DZ/015

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Location:
    New England
    #12
    I have a 400MHz iMacDV with 512MB ram running tiger. It's not the fastest, but for web browsing and the like, it is tolerable.

    More ram is better if you have access to some or can afford it. I get the spinning beach ball quite often on my machine.

    As for hard drives, you can't beat Seagate's 5 year warranty.
     
  13. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #13
    you really aught to backup your important documents, and format your hard drive to 100% avoid any conflicts with previous OS installs....
     
  14. TheMasin9 macrumors 6502a

    TheMasin9

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Location:
    Huber Heights, OH
    #14
    untrue

    i had the same system running 10.4.3 before i sold it.
     

Share This Page