Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Kipper

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 24, 2005
Hi there,

I'm not the most competent with technology but i can just about get my way round a Mac well enough!!! I've had a problem with my mac for a while now which is very scary and i've spoken to a few people who are clueless. Right, problem is with appleworks, i can have a file with a few words written or a couple of thousand and when i come back to carry on i can't open it as a box pops up saying "unexpected end of file" I've been vigilant in backing up but it did it on one of my disks last night, luckily i knew what was in it and it wasn't too important. Unfortunatley I am in my final year of uni and have a 10,000 word dissertation to write and can't afford to lose any of it!!! My computer is about 4 years or so old and pretty dead but can't afford a new one at the moment, and can't face using a pc. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated. (Apologies if this a stupid question or in the wrong forum etc.)

Thanks.
Kt.

Blue Velvet

Moderator emeritus
Jul 4, 2004
What kind of Mac do you have and what OS is it runnning?
Tell us as much about your Mac as you can...

Kipper

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 24, 2005
Ok, its an i book, OS 9( :eek: ) It is on its last legs, just need it to last another 3 months....sorry not sure what else to tell you, but i'll answer anything you ask!

Blue Velvet

Moderator emeritus
Jul 4, 2004
This is what it means (not my definition):