Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Stinkythe1

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 30, 2005
So I have a little tale of an experience I've had with Internet Explorer 7. Now that it is a required update for windows, I can expect a big switch to Mozilla Firefox. Why?

Well, I am a computer consultant for some medical clinics in town, and every now and then they have problems and I go and fix them. Unfortunately, one of the computers ran windows update and updated to IE7. Now, whenever IE7 would try to open up, it would bog down the computer so much that it would freeze.

So when I got back there, I did not even try to downgrade back down to IE6, I just installed Firefox. It opened up perfectly.

Microsoft is constantly losing base with their customers. They are constantly making bloated products with faulty features. Let's not get started on their rejection of web standards.

So there it is.

clayj

macrumors 604
Jan 14, 2005
visiting from downstream
It's been my experience that IE7 uses LESS memory than IE6... they've done a lot to improve performance, particularly if you use a lot of tabbed browsing (IE7) versus running a bunch of separate windows (IE6).

pianoman

macrumors 68000
May 31, 2006
i recently re-installed WinXP on a computer i was fixing up for a friend and i did Windows/Microsoft Update when i was done and installed IE7. the entire machine crashed and i had to start from scratch. the second time, though, i forgot about that update and told them to stick with Firefox.

it's a sucky experience especially since i'm used to a system that works without fault.

to be fair, this was an isolated experience. my dad has IE7 on his ThinkPad and it works flawlessly.

Stinkythe1

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 30, 2005
What does "required update" mean? Does Windows Update not allow you to de-select it, or is it required for other security updates or something?