Updating processor in Intel core duo iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by mcman77, Nov 27, 2012.

  1. mcman77, Nov 27, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2012

    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    #1
    What processor fits in a 2006 iMac?

    I'm looking to get down and dirty and attempt to change my processor :eek:

    I know there are already people who have done this with success using a Intel core 2 duo processor but I was wondering if there are other options?

    It will at least make it easier to find the processor.

    Will it be possible to run a quad core?
     
  2. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    #2
    So I know that there are members who put in Core 2 duo processors in these white iMacs.

    My question is can I fit a newer processor in there too?
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    bmcgrath

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    #3
    You can put a core 2 duo in there but nothing higher. And I think only certain types of Core 2 Duo aswell but not entirely sure.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    #4
    Yip you are right I think. 667 FSB max ...

    Thanks for that btw :)
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    #5
    While technically possible you have to weigh the merits of spending the time and money on a 6 (almost 7) year old computer. There is an old term in car racing, "You can't turn a pig into a pure bread horse but you sure can make an awfully fast pig." I think that applies in this case.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    #6
    Not looking to go racing but just looking to get the most out of my ride ;)

    There is no chance of me getting something new unfortunately ... I was hoping that I could fit a descent 4-core in it but I guess a duo-core upgrade will do since I want to run Lion.
     

Share This Page