Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Ace2617

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 16, 2016
Hey everyone,

Next week I'll be upgrading the RAM on a mid 2012 MacBook Pro. I'll be taking it from the standard 4 GB up to 16 GB of DDR3 RAM.

Is there anything I should know before doing this? I've never done anything like this before lol but I've watched plenty of videos and it looks quite simple. I suppose my question is, is it really as simple as it looks? Is there any simple mistakes that I should look to avoid? Or is it as simple as moving the hinges on both sides of the modules, popping the existing RAM sticks out, and popping the new ones into place?

I'm excited to do this - and excited to have more memory in the MBP - just a little hesitant because I don't want to screw it up.

Thanks everyone

Reactions: MBP_187

MBP_187

macrumors regular
May 10, 2016
Dhaka, Bangladesh
Good Luck Ace2617 :)

I've been thinking of doing the same. I have 4Gb RAM now (Late 2011) MBP. I'm saving up to put in 16 Gb. I also have DDR3 RAM. I'm not an expert, but make sure you have the same bus speed, ie. it should be t

What brand of RAM did you buy? I have access to Transend RAM here.

Reactions: Ace2617

Ace2617

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 16, 2016
Good Luck Ace2617 :)

I've been thinking of doing the same. I have 4Gb RAM now (Late 2011) MBP. I'm saving up to put in 16 Gb. I also have DDR3 RAM. I'm not an expert, but make sure you have the same bus speed, ie. it should be t

What brand of RAM did you buy? I have access to Transend RAM here.

Thanks! I went with Crucial - 16 GB (Two 8GB Sticks) of 1600 MHz DDR3, since that's the speed that it came with. It should arrive next week, so I'm excited to give it a try lol

Reactions: MBP_187

robvas

macrumors 68040
Mar 29, 2009
USA