Upgrading windows vista question

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Nitromaster, Feb 2, 2007.

  1. Nitromaster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland.
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (NokiaN70-1/2.0539.1.2/SN359380002126483 Series60/2.8 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1)

    This question is non mac specific
    If you buy an upgrade version do you have to install over xp or can you format the hard drive and install?
     
  2. KKP925 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    #3
    You will likely need your original XP disk as proof of ownership for the upgrade though! :)
     
  3. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #4
    No, you have to have XP installed to use Vista Upgrades.
     
  4. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    Actually there's a workaround to that that has been floating around the net. You can apparently install a trial version of Vista first from the upgrade media and then use that to verify your clean install.

    http://www.engadget.com/2007/01/31/clean-install-workaround-for-vista-upgrade-discovered/

    This seems to be the cleanest way of installing Vista cleanly from upgrade media, assuming of course you are doing so with an upgradable XP license available.

    B
     
  5. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #6
    Yeah, there's that too, if you want to install it twice (probably better than dealing with a XP->Vista upgrade though).
     
  6. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #7
    Or 2000, for what it's worth.
     
  7. Nitromaster thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland.
    #8
    How does that way work?
    Do you not need an copy of xp installed to install the trial from an upgrade disc?
     
  8. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #9
    All of the DVDs are the same, it's just the product code that differs. There's no such thing as an "upgrade disc", it's just a standard disc with an upgrade code.
     
  9. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #10
    And all media will allow you to install a 30 day trial of any other edition of Vista.

    B
     

Share This Page