Urgent Disk image needed

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by lexus, Apr 21, 2006.

  1. lexus macrumors 68000

    lexus

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Location:
    Depends Greatly On The Weather
    #1
    Ok I need to make an urgent back up disk image of my pb. What should I use and how should I do it. I have a HD with 70 gb free and my hd is 85.

    Thanks
     
  2. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #2
    I would recommend Super Duper! Mine is registered but I think even unregistered it will do what you need.
     
  3. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #3
    Please note.. I hope you're backing up to another source. A backup to your current hard drive is NOT a backup at all.
     
  4. lexus thread starter macrumors 68000

    lexus

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Location:
    Depends Greatly On The Weather
    #4
    Of course but super duper is not letting me what settings do I need.
     
  5. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #5
    Well... in the "copy" drop down select your hard drive, in the "to" drop down select the destination hd, and in the "using" drop down select "Backup - All Files".

    Then click "Copy Now".
     
  6. deebster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Location:
    Olde Englande
    #6
    If you just want to make a Disk Image (.dmg file) then Apple's Disk Utility will do it for you. Mount the disks you want to copy from and to, then (either) click the New Image toolbar button (or go to File>New>Image From...) and select the disk to be copied.

    If you want to make a bootable clone then either use SuperDuper! (shareware, but will do a clone in demo mode too) or CarbonCopyCloner, which is donationware and will do the job just fine.
     
  7. gman71882 macrumors 6502

    gman71882

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    #7
    Cabon Copy Cloner is another alternative that will exactly duplicate one drive to another. its freeware with a reccomended Donation i believe.
    Bombich softare:CCC
     
  8. lexus thread starter macrumors 68000

    lexus

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Location:
    Depends Greatly On The Weather
    #8
    I keep getting this error.


    Lacie is formatted as Windows_FAT_32, which cannot properly host HFS+ files along with all their attributes, resources and ownership.

    To use Lacie with SuperDuper!, use Disk Utility to erase it, selecting "Mac OS Extended" or "Mac OS Extended (Journaled)" as the format.
     
  9. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #9
    The source and destination drive must be using the same format. The pb hdd is formatted HFS+, so your external must also be HFS+; FAT32 will NOT work.
     
  10. lexus thread starter macrumors 68000

    lexus

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Location:
    Depends Greatly On The Weather
  11. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #11
    You cannot convert it, you have to erase it and reformat it HFS+.

    Use Disk Utility to do that. (Mac OS Extended (Journaled))
     
  12. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #12
    Use Disk Utility. You'll lose any data that you have on the external hard drive though so I hope it's empty.
     
  13. lexus thread starter macrumors 68000

    lexus

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Location:
    Depends Greatly On The Weather
    #13
    No it is not empty I have another hard drive with 80 GB's can I copy it to that then to the fat32 one?
     
  14. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #14
    Copy the data off of your external HD to somewhere... use disk utility to format the drive as HFS+... run the backup thing.
     
  15. FFTT macrumors 68030

    FFTT

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
    #15
    I would back up to your .Mac account if you have one providing you have a
    broadband connection.
     
  16. lexus thread starter macrumors 68000

    lexus

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Location:
    Depends Greatly On The Weather
  17. lexus thread starter macrumors 68000

    lexus

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Location:
    Depends Greatly On The Weather
  18. FFTT macrumors 68030

    FFTT

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
    #18
    I would just up my HOME folder with all my personal stuff

    Your .Mac account offers Backup 3

    http://www.apple.com/dotmac/backup.html

    AFAIK it currently offers 1 GB of Back-up for prefs, address books and other personal
    stuff.

    I burn everything irreplaceable to CD or DVD, then I'm covered.

    My HOME folder is currently a total of 12.95 GB, but I've got all of it saved to CD's


    This is my personal back up strategy.

    If I were to lose my primary drive, this insures that I can restore my system
    a quickly as possible.



    http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=2321652&postcount=9
     
  19. lexus thread starter macrumors 68000

    lexus

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Location:
    Depends Greatly On The Weather
  20. lexus thread starter macrumors 68000

    lexus

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Location:
    Depends Greatly On The Weather
    #20
    Ok I just did made a boot disk now how do I boot from it?
     
  21. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #21
    Go to System Preferences/Startup Disk and select your new disk, the allow it to restart when asked. Or start the computer and press Option when you hear the chime, the select the boot disk from the menu it gives you.
     
  22. lexus thread starter macrumors 68000

    lexus

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Location:
    Depends Greatly On The Weather
    #22
    Just to note it will not work from an ppc image on an intel mac.
     

Share This Page