Used Mac Pro G5 no operating system need help!!

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by zpaitsel, Feb 8, 2012.

1. macrumors newbie

thanks in advance here, I am new to MAC. I am very proficient in PC to the point of running a network. I just have never used mac.

Getting to the point, I was given three MAC pro G5 (2004) I replaced the motherboard and it works.. although I don't believe there is any operating system on the HDD. I am looking for a guide or instructions telling me how to install the OSX, additionally It is a 8 ram slot machine with what appears to be dual(watercooled ... looks like a radiator for a heatsink) cpu chips.

Right now I am running 2(1gb) sticks of Ram. I am using a windows keyboard and trying to translate the keys.

Is there a boot menu I can boot into to change the boot order to boot to cd rom, and I think i read somewhere I can just push the power on while holding down the mouse key and insert the disc for the OSX.. will it then just run and install like a p.c. ?? or is there something I'm missing here..

sorry again just not much experience with MAC and I am trying to get experience

2. macrumors 65816

Neodym

Have the OSX CD inserted into the optical drive and when the chime sounded after reboot/cold start, press 'c' and keep it down until the machine boots from the CD. Installation then runs automatically as you know it from Windows.

Make sure the OSX CD is Leopard (10.5) or OLDER, as newer OS releases don't support the PPC CPU in the Powermacs anymore...

3. macrumors 6502a

That – and you're informed correctly about the part about holding down the mouse button. At least for wired mice that should work, too.

4. macrumors 6502a

Another option is to hold the "ALT" key as the computer starts.
    That should give you the boot selector menu.

From there you can pick hard drive or optical drive.