Using monitor as dual TV and monitor(mac mini)

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by brianhagen, Mar 10, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    #1
    Hello,

    I have a Mac Mini (Intel) set up in my sons room that I would love to be able to use the same LCD monitor to hook up to a directv box.

    I dont need to record shows, time shift, etc.. all I want to do is multitask the LCD monitor I have (Samsung 19") as both a monitor for the mac mini and for the satelitte box.

    Anyone got a low cost and simple solution to this? (No need for fancy DVR capabilities since the Directv box is Tivo already)

    Thanks in advance!

    (Note: The monitor has both VGA and DVI connections, DVI being used by Mac Mini)
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    Muncher

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #2
    What outputs does your satellite box have? If it has DVI (doubt it, but still) get a DVI/KVM switcher. If it has component or VGA (I highly recommend using one of these two, I'm sure it has one of them) buy a VGA/component to DVI, and then buy a DVI switcher. If it has HDMI, even easier. Buy an HDMI to DVI, and then a DVI switcher.

    The key part of my plan, as you can see, is the KVM/DVI switcher. They are easy to use, are very compact, and just what you need. See if you can find one that'll fit your needs. I estimate it'll cost you $20-25 max for everything, including cables.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #3
    does your LCD have HD resolution? if not, you could upgrade to an HDTV and it'll have the inputs you need. you're going to need to upgrade at some point in the next 2-3 yrs anyway
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    #4
    So its as simple as a Cable adapter? Wow.

    I already have a HDMI switcher sitting unused in a box (got sent 2 by accident).

    Thanks!
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #5
    Is there such a thing as an auto-switcher? Something to detect where the signal is coming from and switch to it automagically, or is it manual switching only?
     
  6. Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #6
    Personally, I'd use the built in switch in the monitor. Move the Mini to VGA and use an HDMI to DVI adapter for the DTV box. (Must be a HR10-250 TiVo box if it has HDMI....).

    Asking the obvious. What do you plan to do for speakers?

    B
     

Share This Page