Volume stopped working

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by sunfast, Jun 15, 2007.

  1. macrumors 68020

    sunfast

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Hello all, but of a curious one here.

    I can't seem to adjust my system volume using either the slider on the menu bar or the keys on my keyboard.

    When I try, the volume change display appears but wont work. Have taken a screenshot.

    Any ideas?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #2
    Repair permissions, relaunch Dock and Finder and/or restart.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68020

    sunfast

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Cool, thanks for the tips. Will try when I get home. :)
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    If those methods don't work (and they should), then a quick PRAM reset might get you back on your feet, as shown here. :)
     
  5. Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #5
    ^^ Cool, didn't see that other thread... it was the little 'Ø' that made me think of permissions, but the PRAM makes even more sense when it comes to Volume settings... :)
     
  6. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    I've seen it a bit 'round here recently. There's a bug with the audio jack and a restart fixes it, but there seems to be another bug out there that needs the full PRAM reset to kick it back into action.
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    #7
    actually just had that happen to me with my imac, repair permissions did not work, however resetting the PRAM did. now if you can think of anyway to make Mail launch i'd be doing alright. i click on it in the dock and nothing comes up. to make matters worse i have to use force quit to make the little gray triangle go away. (can't use the short cut)
     
  8. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #8
    Try dragging a file named com.apple.mail.plist from your Preferences folder to the Desktop. Does it launch now?
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    #9
    mail trouble

    are you talking about mail-->preferences? i can't even get mail to launch from the applications folder. i get the beach ball and then have to force quit because of non responding
     
  10. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #10
    Nah. Do a Spotlight search for that file and drag it to the Desktop. It's in a folder in your Home folder's Library called Preferences. :)
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 68020

    sunfast

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #11
    Only just had a chance to try the tips and no joy!

    I've repaired permissions, reset the PRAM and relaunched finder/dock and still can't change volume.

    Any more ideas chaps? :(
     
  12. Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #12
    Does it work if you log into another account (make one if you have to)?
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 68020

    sunfast

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #13
    Yes it does!

    How do you think I can fix it?
     
  14. Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #14
    Don't know, yet... but I have a couple of ideas... ;)

    From your original account, can you regulate the volume if you go directly in System Preferences -> Sound -> Output and use the Output volume slider?
     
  15. thread starter macrumors 68020

    sunfast

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #15
    You've solved it!

    Went to sound pref and, as you can see from the screenshot, the selected output device had no volume control. I changed the output device and we're off!

    Thanks for the help :)
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #16
    Not the culprit I was expecting, but always glad to be of some assistance... :D
     
  17. Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #17
    Some pieces of software will install the aggregated sound driver and give the symptoms you were describing. I had a similar issue when I install iShowU and used the option to record system volume. Glad you found the solution, just thought i would point this out.
     

Share This Page