Warcraft 3 and brand new Powerbook

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by joelrw, May 14, 2004.

  1. joelrw macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    #1
    If anyone can help with this, I'd be very grateful:

    I got a new G4 Powerbook yesterday: 15", no DVD burner, 512 MB of RAM, 1.33 GHz. First installation was Warcraft 3. Upon playing it, however, it crashed almost immediately. I was later able to download the version 1.15 patch from Battlenet, however. Warcraft crashed afterwards as well as before.

    Does anyone have an idea what the problem(s) might be?

    Joel W.
     
  2. joelrw thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    #2
    Uh-oh

    About 30 seconds after I posted the above message, Safari quit unexpectedly. So now I'm wondering if I have a hardware problem, or if the additional 256 MB that was installed by the dealer was bad or not the right kind.

    Joel W.
     
  3. telecomm macrumors 65816

    telecomm

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Location:
    Rome
    #3
    Certainly sounds like bad RAM, you might want to pull the dealer installed module and see if you still experience any problems.

    Best of luck.
     
  4. Xelaxam macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    #4
    Ibook

    I have got the same problem on my new ibook... And correct me if i'm wrong but usually you can start the game and it freeze randomly cuz other time you cannot even play it freeze in the menu.
     
  5. invaLPsion macrumors 65816

    invaLPsion

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Northlands
    #5
    It works fine on my powerbook. I'll have to go with bad ram...
     
  6. wide macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    It could be bad RAM...most probably is.

    You could also format your computer and reinstall Mac OS X, but I wouldn't advise that.

    If you live near an Apple Store, I would bring your computer there and have them check it out.

    Why are so many Apples unreliable? My Dell and all the Dells I have ever had (I have had 8 since 1998) have never had any problem like the ones users on these forums are experiencing...I'm a little scared to switch to Mac this winter--especially to the PowerBook G5 REV. A....

    I hope Apple will be able to fix these problems before they manufacture even more defective computers (the clamshell iBook and the snow iBook have both had problems, as did the TiBook and apparently now the AlBooks....what's happening to Apple?)
     
  7. applebum macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Location:
    SC
    #7
    You are on a forum where people know they can go when they need help. If Dell had such a forum, I would bet that you could find the same kind of problems there. Just because you haven't had a problem, doesn't mean that plenty of other Dell users haven't. I have 4 Macs currently and have never had any major problems with any of them. If I did, I would come here first to see if it was something I could fix. Then I would call Apple support. Rest assured that after you get your Mac, if you did have any problems, you could come here and get help.
     

Share This Page