Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Benjamindaines

macrumors 68030
Original poster
Mar 24, 2005
A religiously oppressed state
What if Jobs never came back to Apple, obviously most of us probably wouldn't be sitting with Macs on our desks. What do u think we would have? PCs with Windows, perhaps a dell with NextStep 8.0 or maybe even Next hardware, Linux even? Or something else?

crazycat

macrumors 65816
Dec 5, 2005
There is no dought that Steave Jobs had a huge impact on apple, i think that apple would still be here but not as big. I would still think apple would be around but maybe stay at the 1% market share.

jsw

Moderator emeritus
Mar 16, 2004
Andover, MA
If Jobs had never come back, it probably would have meant that Apple went with Be instead of NeXT.

While I very much enjoy what NeXT brought, I was a BeOS developer and would have loved to see what they would have done to the Apple OS.

Of course, Jobs is a rock star, but I'm not convinced that he's the only one who could have turned Apple around.

mkrishnan

Moderator emeritus
Jan 9, 2004
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
I was thinking the same about BeOS.... Although I think OS X benefitted so vastly from the tons of Unix code out there.

In terms of today...I think Apple still needs to do more to recognize and nurture future leaders. The day will eventually come when Jobs steps back. It needs to not devolve into a bureaucratic mess that's managed as if general management expertise can solve any problem without needing vision (cough cough Ballmer and MS).

OnceUGoMac

macrumors 6502a
Mar 3, 2004
mkrishnan said:
I was thinking the same about BeOS.... Although I think OS X benefitted so vastly from the tons of Unix code out there.