Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jakochampolska

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 31, 2005
Okay I'm new to mac and I just got my first one (a powerbook 12") on chirstmas.
I have to say everything has been going great, nice and fast (expect for my internet connection), quiet no problems what so ever. Until today. I was trying to log on to AIM but it just wouldnt sign on at all, so I thought I'd try ichat and log onto aim from there. Everything was going smoothly until the the screen went dark (like when you open dashboard) and it said "You need to start your comuter" in like 30 different languages. So I did. This never happened to me before. Then I thought nothing must have happened. So I when I turned on the computer again and went to write an email to a friend. While I was writing (this was maybe 5 mins after restarting it) This black and white (it was highlighted black with white text) came up and said "System faluire" and all these numbers came up and these codes! And so I sat there staring at the screen and crying (I tend to get emtionally attached to my computers) and thinking I must be doing sometime wrong or my computer is going to die!
SO WHAT IN THE NAME OF CHIRST IS GOING ON?

GFLPraxis

macrumors 604
Mar 17, 2004
Kernel panic means there was a hardware problem. If you keep getting them, call Apple, they'll have to fix it or replace it. Probably some defective part like RAM or the Airport card.

jakochampolska

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 31, 2005
GFLPraxis said:
Kernel panic means there was a hardware problem. If you keep getting them, call Apple, they'll have to fix it or replace it. Probably some defective part like RAM or the Airport card.

Just called them. While I was calling it happened again. The guy told me to do all this stuff and if it happens again to do disk utililty....I'm so scared! Why me? WHY!