Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

notquitefob

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 20, 2004
Hi, currently in the market to purchase the PB12" with SuperDrive. I'm no expert at this, been using PCs all my life, recently looking to pickup a laptop and hoping to try something new.

The current PB12" was updated 9/2003 as follows -
12" PowerBook, 1GHz PowerPC G4, 512K L2 Cache, 256MB PC2100 Memory, NVidia GeForce FX Go5200 (32MB), 40GB Hard Drive, Built-in Bluetooth, Airport Extreme Ready.

I was curious as to what we can expect from the next update. Since it's a PB12" I'm pretty sure the G5 won't make it onto this platform for a long while but does it look like perhaps it will recieve hand-me-downs from the 15 and 17 inch counterpart.

If anyone has any clue, or any opinions on when and whether or not the next PB12" will include:

ATI mobility 9600
PC2700 DDR
1.25ghz G4
-----------------

Hopefully then i can decide if i should go ahead and purchase the PB12", or perhaps wait a month and get the next update, since that's when most people are expecting a little tweak from Apple. Thanks so much in advance for any replies, been doing some reading and this forum is a great source for information.

aswitcher

macrumors 603
Oct 8, 2003
Canberra OZ
notquitefob said:
I was curious as to what we can expect from the next update. Since it's a PB12" I'm pretty sure the G5 won't make it onto this platform for a long while but does it look like perhaps it will recieve hand-me-downs from the 15 and 17 inch counterpart.

If anyone has any clue, or any opinions on when and whether or not the next PB12" will include:

ATI mobility 9600
PC2700 DDR
1.25ghz G4
-----------------

Ok, we don't know. Speculation is rife. New G4 chips are being touted as the next upgrade but it couild be that only a few months after that the G5PBs would appear anyway - this happened before with Al book and current models.