Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Arachas

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 1, 2016
Netherlands
Hi guys,

I'm in the market for a new computer and a tablet. However, I'm completely torn on what to get and I was hoping to get some advice from the more savvy members of this forum.

My situation is as follows: I'm a marketing consultant and I spend my days split between on-site work with clients on my own computer as well as days at the home office or at a cafe/remote location working. My work is almost all browser-based (I work with Salesforce and other marketing platforms), supported by a local email client (Airmail) and light office work (I use Libre Office at the moment). The heaviest graphic editing I do is in Canva or Pixlr and is negligible.

My 13" Macbook Pro is from 2012 and still operates perfectly. I took the leap from Windows back then and haven't looked back since, with one notable exception: I really, really still miss Outlook on Windows. Outlook on Mac doesn't even come close to the functionality on Windows (simple example: copying an email to a task list doesn't work on Mac, and it's a feature I used to use daily on my Windows laptop).

Though it's still good, I've been eyeing a newer laptop, as the weight as decreased tremendously since I got this bulky Macbook back in '12. In addition, I've never owned a tablet, but I would like to: I now lug my Macbook around the house and I'm kind of sick of that. I also play in a band and all my buddies use an iPad with OnSong to manage their chord charts and lyrics. Jealous, as I'm still using paper!