Why does boot camp think my default OS is Windows?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by johnbro23, Jun 3, 2006.

  1. johnbro23 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #1
    When I boot my computer (either restarting or just booting from being off) it always starts up in Windows, unless I hold down the option key and choose Mac. I only go into Windows once in a while, and would like to just press the power button to get into Mac OSX. Now, I have to press the power button, hold the option button for 5 seconds then choose Mac.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Steve1496 macrumors 6502a

    Steve1496

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    #2
    In Windows:
    Start>Control Panel>Startup Disk>Mac OS X

    Steve
     
  3. johnbro23 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #3
    I went into Mac System Prefs, even though I thought I'd been there before, but I just clicked on "Mac OSX" and tested it out and it worked. Both with a restart and shut down. I'm feelin pretty dumb haha.
     
  4. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #4
    Yeah, I believe Bootcamp changes the default boot partition for the windows install to work. Though I wished the Driver CD would change it back.
     
  5. thewhitehart macrumors 6502a

    thewhitehart

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Location:
    The town without George Bailey
    #5
    I'm surprised Apple has allowed this. Not the best way to get those 'new because-of-boot-camp switchers' used to using OS X. But then again, we are running windows on a mac. :p
     
  6. MacQuest macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Location:
    You See Dead People...
    #6
    I'm sure it will be fixed. It totally doesn't make sense to have winBlows be the default OS. :mad: :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page