Why is adding ringtones so difficult?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by calvinc, Aug 26, 2010.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #1
    I used the iTunes method and created a m4r file. It shows up under Ringtones in the Library. I just can't get it onto my iPhone even after syncing. Can someone please help me? Thanks.

    Note: I used the exact same method and managed to add a ringtone to my phone a few days ago. But somehow it magically disappeared and now I can't add any ringtones.
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    BurntReality

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tyler, TX
    #2
    Downloaded iRinger
    It is 100% free and does all the work for you. All you do is select what part of the song you want, choose to add fades, and then add it to ITunes.
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    Christiansburg, VA
    #3
    Do you have a Mac or PC?

    Did you make sure the length was 40 secs or less?
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #4
    I have a PC. It's only 29 secs. I did the exact same thing just a few days ago and I got a ringtone on the phone.

    But for whatever reason the ringtone magically disappeared. I am trying to add it back on but I can't. I see it in the Library. It just won't go to the Device. Any suggestions?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #5
    I am able to create a ringtone. But it's only in the Library. It won't go to Device.
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    I just made another ringtone last night using the iTunes/convert ACC/change to m4r method....no problems. Strange that it won't sync over to your device. Is your device jailbroken?
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    #7
    Is "Sync Ringtones" checked under the "Ringtones" tab of the iPhone?

    I have about 33 ringtones on my phone, made the same way... no problems. The only issue that I ever had was when I was manually syncing songs and videos. In that case, for some reason All of the ringtones were the same... 33 copies of the top tone.

    Anyway, when I restored my phone it wouldn't sync ringtones, but I noticed that I forgot to check the box to do so.

    Hope this helps, it's easily overlooked!
     
  8. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #8
    Where exactly is this? When I right click on Ringtones, the only I see is Open in New Window. Thanks.
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    #9
    +1. This program is great.
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    #10
    You're looking in the wrong place. When you plug your phone into your computer and start iTunes, in the sidebar you should see your iPhone. If you click that it will bring you to the screen where you can check for an update/restore. Across the top of that screen are various tabs. Click on the one labeled "ringtones" and make sure "Sync Ringtones" is checked. Hope that clears things up.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #11
    Thanks a lot!! Found it.
     
  12. Eso
    macrumors 68000

    Eso

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #12
    Wow...

    PS If you're iPhone isn't charging properly, make sure it's plugged into the wall.
     
  13. macrumors 68040

    cocky jeremy

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Huntington, WV
    #13
    Ringer. It's a cheap application for Macs that makes ringtones very easily. They go straight to your iTunes ringtones list. Easy to use, great quality.. worth the money.
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    #14
    Audiko.net
     
  15. macrumors regular

    yentrog31

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Location:
    RGGnDFW
    #15
    +2...thats what I use..it's free and easy(import,preview,export) done.
     
  16. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    #16
    Is there an equivalent program for a Mac?

    Thanks!
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    BurntReality

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tyler, TX
    #17
    No clue I am a PC person myself.
     
  18. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    #18
    My issue is that many of the songs I have downloaded and paid for in iTunes aren't able to be converted to ringtones in iTunes. It gives me the message that "this song is no longer able to be converted into a ringtone" or something like that.

    EDIT: It seems like only some of the songs I bought through iTunes are giving me that error message. Oh well.
     
  19. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Newbury, UK
    #19
    that was a great site, but recently its down the pan, you have to pay to use it now.
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    #20
    If you manually manage your music, you can also just highlight the ringtones and drag it to the phone. That's what I do. When I tried to sync ringtones with my 3GS, it wanted to sync all my music. Don't know if that's changed with the new itunes (having to sync all music), but dragging it over is super easy.
     
  21. macrumors 68000

    Frenchjay

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #21
    No you don't have to pay. I'm sure you are reffering the message that says 3.00 to get ringtone?

    That's just to get it texted to your phone. Hit skip this and it will let you download the m4r for free. This had me confused before but that's what you can do still for free :)
     
  22. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #22
    Says who? I just made my own ringtone from youtube and put it on my phone 10 seconds ago.

    It's free, and you don't have to download any programs to make it run, copy and paste the youtube link, choose the section you want as a ringtone, download, and it already opens up in your itunes.. synch phone, and walla..

    still free, and still the best and easiest way to get ringtones..

    audiko.net
     
  23. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Newbury, UK
    #23
    when i clicked on download ringtone, i got this page saying to subscribe for £10 a month. so left the site, went back there just now, same thing, but noticed at the bottom of the page there's a list of "my ringtones" and download links next to them. think they redesigned the site to try and get people to pay them whilst hiding the free downloads thats all.

    edit, see screenshot, first time i went to the site, i didn't have that at the bottom of the screen, so it looked like i had to pay a subscription fee to get the ringtones. which annoyed me as i had been using it fine for years, but not so much recently.
     

    Attached Files:

  24. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    #24
    Try FoneTones

    I'm not trying to spam the forum, but I think you might actually get use out of one of my apps, FoneTones. It lets you create ringtones right on your iPhone using the music in your iPod library. You still have to sync the ringtones to your iPhone using iTunes, but there's a step by step walkthrough in the app's description in the App Store.

    If you're not interested in that, you can check out this article from MacLife http://www.maclife.com/article/howtos/create_custom_iphone_ringtones. Good luck.
     
  25. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney
    #25


    yeh i agree... its easy and simple. give it a try
     

Share This Page