Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Hankster

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Jan 30, 2008
Washington DC
My wife has been looking at upgrading her four year old MBA. She's also looking into the new iPads as our family one is about 4-5 years old. She asked me last night why all the new MacBooks (Air, Pro, Retina) and new iPads coming out this year all have the headphone jack when it was removed from the iPhone. She still have the iPhone 6. I have the new iPhone 7 without the jack.

I thought about this. I've been using Apple devices for almost 10 years now. When the iPhone 7 was launched Apple stated the headphone jack was old technology and the lightening jack was newer and better. If that's the case why does every new iPad launching in 2017 (based on good rumors) have the headphone jack? Why does the new MacBook Pros have a headphone jack? Shouldn't they all have the lightening port?

Reactions: macfacts

Zaft

macrumors 601
Jun 16, 2009
Brooklyn, NY
My wife has been looking at upgrading her four year old MBA. She's also looking into the new iPads as our family one is about 4-5 years old. She asked me last night why all the new MacBooks (Air, Pro, Retina) and new iPads coming out this year all have the headphone jack when it was removed from the iPhone. She still have the iPhone 6. I have the new iPhone 7 without the jack.

I thought about this. I've been using Apple devices for almost 10 years now. When the iPhone 7 was launched Apple stated the headphone jack was old technology and the lightening jack was newer and better. If that's the case why does every new iPad launching in 2017 (based on good rumors) have the headphone jack? Why does the new MacBook Pros have a headphone jack? Shouldn't they all have the lightening port?
Well according to apple they are pushing wireless and removing the headphone jack frees up space for other stuff.