Why isn't my Airport Extreme Card Working?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by maxpayne.co.uk, Sep 8, 2005.

  1. maxpayne.co.uk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    I just installed an Airport Extreme card in my eMac 1.25Ghz.

    Its not picking up my wireless network at all. There is a wireless signal in the room, but the AirPort software refuses to recognise it. My Windows machine works on it.

    OS X Tiger all updates.
    BT Voyager 2000 Router (802.11b)
    eMac 1.25Ghz/1GB

    Any ideas?
     
  2. caveman_uk Guest

    caveman_uk

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    Hitchin, Herts, UK
    #2
    Is the card properly seated and the aerial attached?
     
  3. maxpayne.co.uk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    The card is properly seated as the Mac detects that its there. There is no aerial attached as this thing is inside my eMac.
     
  4. caveman_uk Guest

    caveman_uk

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    Hitchin, Herts, UK
    #4
    It does have an aerial. It's a wire that's plugged into the top of the Airport card. Check the installation manuals here . If that wires not plugged in it won't work.
     
  5. maxpayne.co.uk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    Does the aerial come in the Airport Extreme box? If not, the bugger on eBay ripped me off!

    Are you certain that the aerial stops the Airport card from getting any signal at all?
     
  6. caveman_uk Guest

    caveman_uk

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    Hitchin, Herts, UK
    #6
    The aerial is inside your emac. It's just a wire - it must be attached. Look at the instructions I linked.
     
  7. maxpayne.co.uk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #7
    Ah! Yeah! Now you mention it - I remember seeing a wire hanging loose when I replaced the hard drive. Thanks :)
     
  8. caveman_uk Guest

    caveman_uk

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    Hitchin, Herts, UK
    #8
    It's black and has a silver metal right handed connector at the end.
     
  9. maxpayne.co.uk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #9
    Yeah thats the one, had to get behind the DVDRW to get it it, but its all working now :) Thanks.
     

Share This Page