Resolved Wifi or Ethernet connected but OS X can't get online

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by Failurbydesign, Sep 6, 2013.

  1. Failurbydesign, Sep 6, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2013

    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    CA
    #1
    I have tried all but step 2 in the link below but I'm having zero luck. Network utility shows I'm connected but times out when I try an ping. Tech Tools shows all devices connected to my network but won't connect online. I'm posting this from my iPhone using the wifi and am having no issues. Any thoughts?

    http://macosx.com/forums/howto-faqs/321879-howto-reset-wireless-airport-card-settings-os-x-10-7-x-10-8-x.html
     
  2. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    CA
    #2
    I don't have any apps such as little snitch or anything related to block connections.
     
  3. macrumors 601

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #3
    Check to see if you are a DNS. Do this by going to System Preferences->Network pane, Adanced button, DNS mini-tab.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    CA
    #4
    I'll check in the morning! Also I ran a 50ft cat 6 line directly from my modem in to the imac....nothing!

    Would that DNS issue effect both wifi and Ethernet?
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #5
    Yes any connection, but if you did step 3, then DNS is probably not the issue.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    CA
  7. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    CA
    #7
    Changing the DNS didn't work. The current ip is 192.168.1.1, which is my router
     
  8. macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #8
    Do you have another computer you can attach? If you or anyone else have been using a file sharing app on this computer, your MAC address may be blocked by the provider. It's a shot in the dark, but I can't think of anything else.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    CA
    #9
    Well with no luck and not wanting to spend hours trying to fix it. I decided to reinstall ML and migrate my backup without selecting settings...problem solved!
     

Share This Page