Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ZonPro

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 1, 2020
I do graphic design for a living. I'm looking to buy a 2018 i7 Mac Mini and wanted to know if it would be comparable to my work computer in terms of power and speed, if not better?

Here are the specs of my work computer:

iMac 27-inch, Late 2013
3.2 GHz Intel Core i5
32 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
NVIDIA GeForce GT 755M 1024 MB

The apps I primarily use are:

Photoshop
Illustrator
InDesign
Bridge
Lightroom
Mail
Chrome

I would also be running two monitors.

If I can run all of that without skipping a beat, then I'm set.

Bonus question, would it be adequate enough to also run Premiere Pro and After Effects effectively? I'm really only planning to edit up to 1440p video. I don't have much interest in 4k at the moment.

Last edited:

ZonPro

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 1, 2020
The Mini I'm looking at would be:

3.2GHz 6‑core 8th‑generation Intel Core i7 (Turbo Boost up to 4.6GHz)
8GB 2666MHz DDR4 (will likely upgrade it myself later)
Intel UHD Graphics 630

If it can run just the apps I listed without slowing down, then great. If it can also adequately be used for video editing at least 1440p, that would be even better.

buttongerald

macrumors 6502
Jan 29, 2016
St. John's, Newfoundland
I'd be wary of it. My late 2013 iMac has similar specs to that Mac mini sans the processor, and it struggles with Photoshop. Starting up, creating files, opening saved files etc. etc. are a constant gamble of "Is it just taking long or has it locked up again?"

This is partly on Adobe, because Photoshop has gotten more bloated than Windows and iTunes over the years.

If it were me? I'd keep saving the pennies for a more powerful rig, be it Mac or PC.

Reactions: organicCPU

organicCPU

macrumors 6502a
Aug 8, 2016
From https://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/kb/photoshop-cc-gpu-card-faq.html