Will my Microsoft keyboard work with Powerbook?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by coolbreeze, Jan 23, 2003.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    UT
    #1
    As you might already know...I'm recently switching. I have the Microsoft Natural Pro keyboard for my (soon to be RIP) PC...I love it (the keyboard, that is). Heck it might even keep me from getting carpal tunnel (heh.)

    Anyhow, it's not USB, and not Apple...so will it work with my Apple Powerbook?
     
  2. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #2
    I would say no, but that would be taking the easy way out, so, what port does this keyboard use?

    You might be able to get on of the ____ to USB connectors.

    Anyway they aren't that great... I'm sure the powerbook keyboard is nice enough.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    UT
    #3
    WOW! Thank you for asking that question. After reading your post, I disconnected the PS/2 connection (what PC users use to connect their keyboard to the PC) to take a photo of it to show you. This keyboard also has a USB connection (has ports on the keyboard itself). Well, when I disconnected the PS/2 connection, I hear a couple of dings, and lo-and-behold, Windows XP installed new drivers for my "Microsoft Natural Pro Keyboard." (the usb connection was still plugged into the PC).

    This is good news to me, because I love this keyboard..and it appears it will work via the USB connection only...so I think if I plug it into my powerbook, it will work.

    We'll see tomorrow....
     

    Attached Files:

  4. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    UT
    #4
    ...and here is a photo of the keyboard that hopefully will work with my powermac via usb...whaddya think? will it work?
     

    Attached Files:

  5. macrumors 6502a

    Juventuz

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    Binghamton
    #5
  6. macrumors 65816

    benixau

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #6
    it will work to at least type. i dont think you will get the special keys from a discontinued product line.

    good luck.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    GeneR

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    The land of delusions, CA.
    #7
    CoolBreeze...I agree with MrMacMan...

    CoolBreeze,

    I agree with MrMacman: I too had a temptation to simply tell you, "No! It doesn't work! Get a Mac keyboard!!!!"

    Unfortunately, I don't have the objectivity and honesty that MrMacman has so, here goes:

    "NOOOO!!! It doesn't work! Get a Mac keyboard!!!!!!"

    Honestly, I don't know if it works or not. Best of luck. (And glad to hear you're switching over from the dark side...) :D
     
  8. arn
    macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
  9. macrumors 603

    rainman::|:|

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Location:
    iowa
    #9
    Now, keyboard aside, didn't you read the iPod documentation? you shouldn't be charging it in it's carrying case, there can be heat issues...

    MS mice work, so there's no reason this wouldn't... of course, there are other split-keyboards for Mac, if you should be so inclined to get one that's more aesthetically pleasing ;)

    pnw
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Location:
    You See Dead People...
    #10
    Juventuz already provided the solution...

    coolbreeze-

    First of all, Welcome to the Mac Community.

    Secondly, I followed the link that Juventuz provided and verified that a] the Natural Keyboard Pro is discontinued, shouldn't matter though, and b] that there is a Mac OS X driver for the "Natural Keyboard Pro" but not the "Natural MultiMedia Keyboard".

    I only mention the Natural Multimedia keyboard because there are so many buttons on yours and I wanted you to make sure that that is not the one you have.

    If not, it should work fine

    Again, welcome.



    I'll re-post the link for you just in case:
    http://www.microsoft.com/hardware/k...download_ns.asp
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    #11
    no it doesn't work. that keyboard may have both USB and PS/2. but they are meant for different things.

    the USB is for using the USB hub that's on the front of the keyboard, nothing more. the keyboard function still needs PS/2 port, which Macs don't have.
     
  12. macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #12
    Hope you are sitting nice and high above that keyboard because if not arching your wrists up over that pad helps creates carpal syndrome. I have allways found that low and flat is better and i used to work in the medical field.

    Welcome to the Mac World it appears you are thinking different!
     
  13. macrumors 68000

    FelixDerKater

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    #13
    IT WILL WORK!

    I have two MS keyboards and they both work fine. The buttons are programmable as well... Just download the MS IntelliType software.

    As long as it has a USB connection it will be fine. The PS/2-only keyboard don't work without an adapter.

    To those of you making random guesses about whether something works or not, please just don't reply if you haven't the faintest idea what you are talking about!
     
  14. macrumors 68000

    FelixDerKater

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    #14
    Have you ever used one? Have one connected to your Mac? Probably not...

    I am typing on one right now... The USB plug is connected to my Mac and there is a PS/2 connector dangling behind my desk... Don't state guesses as fact.
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #15
    PS/2 to USB

    You might want to look into PS/2 to USB adapters if you really love your keyboard. I did a quick search and found one for around $30. This would complete the connection to the keyboard, and Juventuz mentioned that the drivers were available for it. Although it seems odd that the USB connection wouldn't work, good luck. Hope this helps.


    Heres the link to the PS/2-->USB adapter I found.
     
  16. macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #16
    hey, you never know... maybe the other end of the fw cable isn't plugged in! haha.
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    #17
    it was NOT a guess. I use the EXACT same keyboard for my PC. I plugged it into my dual 1ghz G4 tower, and it only sees the USB hub. Typing on it does nothing.

    Don't be so quick to accuse people of guessing.
     
  18. macrumors 65816

    benixau

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #18
    calm down.

    jeez, its only a keyboard. what does he loose for trying??? nothing.

    if it work, GREAT. if it dont, awwwww

    besides if he loves it alot he can get a PS/2 -> USB adaper.

    he already has a USB hub (well he should) there for he can plug it all in.

    see, now i was calm and i didnt attempt to blow anyones b***s off for stating their experiences.

    shees, grown adults fighting like kiddies. (i am 17 :D)
     

Share This Page