Will UK iPhone work in Germany?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by crisito, Sep 22, 2009.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #1
    Will a UK iPhone locked to O2 work in Germany on the German O2 network SIM card?
     
  2. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
  3. macrumors 6502

    Bulldog VII

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Alas I doubt it?? I have a locked Vodafone (work one) & I tried putting a French Sim card in it & it didn't work
     
  4. macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    上海 (Shanghai)
    #4
    You need to buy an unlocked iPhone for it to work.
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #5
    No it won't, unless you have one that can be unlocked, and you go through the process of unlocking it.

    You can unlock all iPhone 2G's, and 3G/3GS models that have not been updated to firmware 3.1
     
  6. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #6
    Vodafone doesn't have a network in France.

    But if it's on the same operator - i.e. O2 - it may work?

    An iPhone locked to O2 in the UK works in Ireland with an O2 Ireland SIM.
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #7
    eeerrrr no they don't the OP has an iPhone already why fork more money out for something they can do for free???

    if you want to use your iphone with a german O2 sim best option (to ensure it will work) is to jailbreak and then unlock it with ultrasn0w, but you may find this a bit difficult to do if you have already updated to 3.1
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    atlanticza

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Cape Town
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    #9
    O2 is not always the same as O2

    Hi there. Your phone will NOT work with a German O2 SIM because each GSM operator has a network identifier unique to that operator and country. In this case, the phone is locked to O2 UK. See here

    O2 UK = 234 (UK Mobile Country Code, not same as IDD code!) 02

    O2 Germany = 262 (German MCC) 07.

    So, company name is the same - but not anything else.

    You'll have to get your phone unlocked - sorry!
     
  10. macrumors 601

    Compile 'em all

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
  11. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #11
    Why then does O2 UK iPhone work with an O2 Ireland SIM?
     
  12. macrumors 65816

    instaxgirl

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #12
    I really think it'd just be simpler for you to unlock it, then you're covered either way.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
  14. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #14
    Then right now you're out of luck. 3.1 can't be unlocked to another network. That may change in the future but there's no certainty on that.
     

Share This Page