Windows Vista Full Version/BootCamp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by miTunes75, Mar 2, 2007.

  1. miTunes75 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    #1
    I was just wondering if anyone has purchased Windows Vista (Full Version) and installed yet? I was wondering if it ran ok with bootcamp or are there bugs that need worked out before I make the purchase? I never had a copy of windows at the house, so I dont have anything to upgrade from.
     
  2. barkins macrumors regular

    barkins

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    Encino, CA
    #2
    Take it from someone who bought a Vista laptop and returned in within a week of living with bugs and crashes. Stay away from Vista like cancer. :mad:
     
  3. Pct1theory macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Location:
    NY
    #3
    better than XP

    if u have to run Windows than use Vista over XP.
    Vista Is Better Than XP, But Not as Good as OS X :D
     
  4. cbrain macrumors 65816

    cbrain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    North-East, UK
    #4
    Hi!

    How easy is it to install Vista in BootCamp? I heard there was something about deleting an EFI partition? Or was that only in Vista beta? What about the BootCamp drivers? Isn't there some trouble there as well?

    Thanks!
     
  5. MGLXP macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    #5
    The actual installation of Vista in using the Bootcamp partition manager is pretty easy. Just put in the Vista DVD and boot off of it and Vista will install. There is no need to delete the EFI partition (you only needed this in the early betas of Vista). About the bootcamp drivers, you MUST download the ATI/AMD graphics driver (for Macbook Pro/iMac) Mobile Catalyst 7.2 from ati.amd.com. I repeat, DO NOT use the bootcamp video drivers, as they are XP drivers and Windows Vista uses a different video driver model. A lot of drivers are automatically detected and installed by Vista, like the chipset drivers, etc. I'm not sure about an iMac, but on a Macbook Pro, the sound drivers must be installed manually by extracting the bootcamp drivers off of the CD and going into device manager to install it. Drivers for Appletime, brightness and iSight do not work (although they may install). Hope this helped.
     
  6. miTunes75 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    #6
    whatever happened to "it just works":eek:
     
  7. psycoswimmer macrumors 65816

    psycoswimmer

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    We're dealing with Windows here. :)
     
  8. drjay128 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #8
    Vista install

    Hi,

    I have an iMac C2D that I bought about 3-4 months ago that we bought for the family. It's great, but I want to install Windows since we have a lot of old files/programs from our Dell. We have four family users set up on the iMac.

    2 questions:
    * I bought a copy of Vista Home Premium. I've read a few things about licensing limitations. If I set it up on the iMac and run through Boot Camp, a) can all four accounts access Vista; and b) will I be operating under the license as long as I don't set up Parallels (a virtual PC)?

    Any advice?

    Thanks
    Jay
     
  9. coffey7 macrumors 6502a

    coffey7

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    #9
    Just for the record. I actually own Vista(home premium) and I have it on my homebuilt desktop. I have used it since its release and have not had 1 single crash or problem. The only thing I am waiting for is a free firewall to come out for it. A zone alarm update. When I go back to xp its bug city. I can't stand xp after using Vista. I would love to install Vista on my macbook but have not as of yet.
     
  10. miTunes75 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    #10
    maybe i should purchase xp/sp2 from ebay and forget it.

    the only copy of xp i have is of sp1 - so, i haven't tried to put that on the mac as it requires sp2
     
  11. Bill Gates macrumors 68020

    Bill Gates

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #11
    You can slipstream SP2. Don't ask for more information--google it.
     

Share This Page