Wireless Network Without Router?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by neilrobinson, Nov 13, 2004.

  1. neilrobinson
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Location:
    Perth, WA, Australia
    #1
    is this possible? networking 2 computers wirelessly without a wireless router/hub/thingmygigy in the middle.

    the idea behind this is i am looking at a G4/G5/PowerBook/iBook and wanting to wireless network it with my linux box (server, web, mail, music ect) i am wondering if this is possible? :confused:
     
  2. JeDiBoYTJ
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    JeDiBoYTJ

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    #2
    yeah, it actually is possible.... im a way... you just need an Airport Extreme card in the G5/G4/Powerbook, and then go up to System Preferences -> Sharing -> Internet -> then choose to share your internet FROM the ethernet, through Airport, and the linux boxes should (in theory), be able to see the network
     
  3. neilrobinson
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Location:
    Perth, WA, Australia
    #3
    ok, sorry for the confusion but its the other way round :eek: the linux box is the server so the Mac would be the client access whatever is needed mail, web ect.
     
  4. JeDiBoYTJ
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    JeDiBoYTJ

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    #4
    oh I dont know then.... I dont know linux, but if you can get wireless cards into those boxes and find a way for it to broadcast the internet signal through the wireless card.... then it should work
     
  5. Will Curran
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Will Curran

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    #5
    Yes it's possible it's called ad-hoc. Fun stuff.

    Don't have any idea how to network it on a mac or linux though.
     
  6. zimv20
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #6
    it's still running the router software, though, yes? so, "yes, you can do the wireless thing w/o having to buy an extra box," but, "no, you cannot do it w/o something acting as the router."
     
  7. patrick0brien
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    patrick0brien

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    The West Loop
    #7
    -neilrobinson

    Too true. You need something to dole out IP addresses.
     

Share This Page