Wireless problems

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by Mr. Anderson, Dec 7, 2002.

  1. Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #1
    I've been having some issues with my wireless network at home. I have a Linksys wireless router that until a while ago worked fine. Now I can have my TiPB 5' away and I constantly have to work at getting it reconnected through the network control panel (using DHCP and changing the name, then hitting apply). Its quite frustrating because it works fine at work, no dropping of the connection.

    Oh, and the signal strength is at 80% or so, so its not that its not getting a signal.

    Anyone know what this might be?

    D
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #2
    Hmmm, that's a tough one to diagnose.

    Here's a few questions:
    1) Is the firmware on the Linksys up-to-date?
    2) Have you tried power cycling it?
    3) Have you tried resetting it to factory defaults?
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2001
    #3
    You may want to make sure your Router is set up to output DHCP... Like the above poster said, also check for Firmware updates.
     
  4. macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #4
    check your firmware. a new update for my linksys wireless router came out a couple of days ago. go to versiontracker.com and check it out.

    iJon
     
  5. thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #5
    hhmmm, I'll do the firmware thing, but the one issue there is that they don't support Macs!! So I need to hook up a pc to do it and the only pc I have to do it is wireless and that won't connect at all.

    Damn, maybe I'll just call tech support and try and get the pc laptop connected - this is a huge pain in the ass. Oh, and I did cycle the power and reset to factory defaults. Also adjusted a few things through the browser pages that connect directly to it from my G4 desk top.

    Thanks,

    D
     
  6. macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #6
    thats not true. the whole setup process for the router is online. in internet explorer go to 192.168.1.1
    then go to update firmware and select the code.bin file that you download and do it. thats all there is to it. wish you luck.

    iJon
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #7
    also, many linksys wireless routers have issues with being a dhcp server. especially when they are expected to do NAT at the same time. another reason i never buy linksys.

    try turning off the dhcp server and manually setting your IP settings in your network control panel. I'd be willing to bet your problem disappears.
     

Share This Page