XChat: updating program

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Razorhog, Oct 25, 2006.

  1. Razorhog macrumors 65816

    Razorhog

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #1
    Last night I cranked up XChat Aqua, and it said a new version (0.16.0) was available. So I go download the dmg file. I trashed the old version, 0.15.3, and put the new one in it's place. However, when I start it and check the version it still says 0.15.3. What am I doing wrong?
     
  2. Razorhog thread starter macrumors 65816

    Razorhog

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Location:
    Arkansas
  3. bitabytex macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    #3
    .plist

    Have you tried removing the .plist from your user library?

    Use spotlight to find the file, usually just by typing in the name of the program.

    edited: added second comment.
     
  4. Razorhog thread starter macrumors 65816

    Razorhog

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #4
    spotlight doesn't find a .plist for xchat. It does find xchat.conf though...
     
  5. bitabytex macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    #5
    Delete this folder: <username>/Library/Application Support/X-Chat Aqua

    edited: Sorry, I didn't have the program beforehand, so I went ahead and downloaded it to see what needed to be trashed.
     
  6. Razorhog thread starter macrumors 65816

    Razorhog

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #6
    Thanks, I'll give it a shot. I suppose I need to preserve the xchataqua.conf in order to keep my settings....
     

Share This Page