Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

PDFierro

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Sep 8, 2009
I just thought it would be interesting to read some responses on this subject. I got a 11-inch ultimate back when the new models first came out, but I returned it. Now I'm looking to get an Air again for good, and I think I'm def. going to step down to a i5 processor.

The only thing I'm trying to determine is how much storage to get this time around. Some of my priorities have changed since July. So how big of a SSD did you get, and why? What do you have on your Air, do you plan to use iCloud, etc.

I don't need much space for applications/programs. I am pretty much your typical user. I'm a writer, so I do a lot of that. The occasional music listening but heavy video watching, and just surfing the web and all that.

I had even thought of ordering the 480GB SSD from OWC before, but decided 256 would be fine. I had never really looked into iCloud until recently, because I didn't think I would have a use for it. I've always been more of a have-it-locally-stored at all times kind of person, but iCloud sounds pretty cool and sort of changes my thinking on that.

I can either keep a lot of video stored on there at all times or just very little, so I think I may step down to 64 or 128GB. Probably 128 since it makes more financial sense. I will also be getting the iPhone 5, hopefully a 64GB version if they release one, and will be having a lot of my entertainment on there.

So are you going to use iCloud and did it influence your decision? I'm just thinking out loud here how I would use my Air in combination with the iPhone. Before I wanted to have everything on the Air, but I'm thinking going down to 128GB would be the best thing to do, and use it for mostly productivity and only some entertainment. And use iCloud, which seems like it will be really useful in my case.

ZBoater

macrumors G3
Jul 2, 2007