PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Adobe Products with Java 7 and no Java 6




anonnymouz
Mar 5, 2013, 01:50 PM
Hi, I hope someone may help!

I've made a clean intallation of Mountain Lion and installed only the Oracle-provided Java 7, when I try to run some Adobe Softwares (Illustrator and Dreamweaver) it asks to install Apple-privided Java 6.

The problem is that my bank's Internet Banking site works only with Java 7, if I install Java 6 it stops working! :confused:

I've made tests using only Java 6,only Java 7 and both, Java 6 and Java 7 together.

It really won't work if I install Java 6 ! :(

The question is: is there a way to force AI and DW to use only Java 7???

Thanks in advance!!!



maflynn
Mar 5, 2013, 01:53 PM
Not to my knowledge as it expects a certain version and there's no way around it.

mactumors
Mar 5, 2013, 06:07 PM
I think this (http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5559) might be what you are looking for.

anonnymouz
Mar 7, 2013, 11:17 AM
I think this (http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5559) might be what you are looking for.

Hey, sorry for taking so long... :o

Thanks for all the replies!!!

As I said before, if I ever install Apple-provided Java 6 my bank´s website will stop working... :mad:

Don't know how it can identify Java 6, since it uses Java 7 (and I set Java 7 as the main VM), but it does!

Too bad, I'll have to choose: or Internet Banking or AI... :(

Thanks again!!!

mactumors
Mar 8, 2013, 02:27 PM
I see what you are asking now, but I don't know why it's not working.

When you install Java 7 on top of Java 6, the Java 6 web plugin gets replaced by the Java 7 one. I don't see how Safari would be affected by or even have knowledge of Java 6 existing on your system. I could be wrong about this.

I would uninstall Java 7, make sure Java 6 is up to date, restart, clean install Java 7, restart, and try your banking website again in Private Browsing mode so you know you're not being affected by something it might have left in a cookie or cache.

anonnymouz
Mar 9, 2013, 03:58 PM
Phew!!! I worked!!! :D

It seems it didn't work because of the cache. I've followed your instructions and used CCleaner for cleaning out cache, cookies etc.

Thank you very much for your help!!!

Cheerio!!!

I see what you are asking now, but I don't know why it's not working.

When you install Java 7 on top of Java 6, the Java 6 web plugin gets replaced by the Java 7 one. I don't see how Safari would be affected by or even have knowledge of Java 6 existing on your system. I could be wrong about this.

I would uninstall Java 7, make sure Java 6 is up to date, restart, clean install Java 7, restart, and try your banking website again in Private Browsing mode so you know you're not being affected by something it might have left in a cookie or cache.