PDA

View Full Version : Boot Camp Bugs!




suenification
Apr 6, 2006, 02:06 AM
Post 'em. I'll start:

Everything works fine, except that xp doesn't detect my speakers and plays the audio through the built-in iMac ones.



MacBookJoePro
Apr 6, 2006, 02:13 AM
Problems installing AIM 5.9. I get this blue screen (not blue screen of death), but its brother. Then the computer jsut restarts. I've done this twice.


-JoE

Kingsly
Apr 6, 2006, 02:19 AM
Post 'em. I'll start:

Everything works fine, except that xp doesn't detect my speakers and plays the audio through the built-in iMac ones.

Q)While booted into Windows XP, I still hear sound coming from the built-in speaker even with headphones plugged in.

A)The Boot Camp Beta audio driver for Windows XP does not currently support rerouting sound.
From Apple Boot Camp FAQ (http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=303572#faq1)

Workaround: turn down the speakers to the lowest level, turn up your externals all the way. Hey, it worked for me!

As for the AIM/BSOD thing: yes, there is a bug. Its called Windows.

tom1502
Apr 6, 2006, 04:11 AM
you guy witht the AIM problem:
use www.trillian.cc, thats the better choice, or GAIM for windows! Trust me!

wPod
Apr 6, 2006, 10:06 AM
a lot of trouble with bluetooth and windows. even after installing the drivers apple provided my BT keyboard randomly decides to pair and un-pair during use. i guess thats why they say a USB keyboard is required!

Peace
Apr 6, 2006, 12:06 PM
Whatever you do do NOT click on the "usb camera" in My Computer.It will give you the BSOD.

crazycat
Apr 6, 2006, 12:27 PM
a lot of trouble with bluetooth and windows. even after installing the drivers apple provided my BT keyboard randomly decides to pair and un-pair during use. i guess thats why they say a USB keyboard is required!

I had some problems with the normal apple keybord, i just a windows one now and its fine. I am finding its better to use a logitech keybord with OS X and windows, but there is no optopns for raising or lowering teh volume which is not a bad tradeoff imo.

Kingsly
Apr 6, 2006, 03:33 PM
Whatever you do do NOT click on the "usb camera" in My Computer.It will give you the BSOD.
Yeah I learned the hard way.

ALaPPleCOREuser
Apr 6, 2006, 06:03 PM
I have the same trouble with sound coming from my 20 Inch Imac speaker. It's kind of annoying. Can you guys use the "eject" button on the Apple keyboard? How about the volume (up-down-mute) buttons? I can't get either to work. Everything else seems fine. Now if Apple can put Dell computer out of business or badly hurt them and Gateway . . . I'll be happy. :D

harveypooka
Apr 6, 2006, 06:53 PM
I double clicked the USB Camera and it just couldn't find the drivers! I find it hilarious that we get such a range of messages - from "Hey, this doesn't work!" to "$%^&@&&&&". Genius. I love XP.

sedek
Apr 6, 2006, 08:30 PM
Hi,

I just tried to install XP using boot camp on my Intel iMac 20'' and
it was a disaster. Although I followed the Installation Guide to the letter and boot camp, according to the GUI, successfully partitioned my disk, I only had the C: partition to choose within the Widnows setup. Assuming this is the Widnows partition (stupid me, but following the letter of the Installation guide)) I continued. The rest is disaster: Windows puts itself on top of the Mac OS X partition and I need to reinstall OSX after erasing my hard drive. I made a complete backup before, but it was still annoying.

Either Boot camp did not partition my hard drive even though it claimed to do so or my Windows setup did not recognize the partition. Again, the only partition is recognized was C:, which was the same as for OS X.

asherman13
Apr 6, 2006, 08:46 PM
Hi,

I just tried to install XP using boot camp on my Intel iMac 20'' and
it was a disaster. Although I followed the Installation Guide to the letter and boot camp, according to the GUI, successfully partitioned my disk, I only had the C: partition to choose within the Widnows setup. Assuming this is the Widnows partition (stupid me, but following the letter of the Installation guide)) I continued. The rest is disaster: Windows puts itself on top of the Mac OS X partition and I need to reinstall OSX after erasing my hard drive. I made a complete backup before, but it was still annoying.

Either Boot camp did not partition my hard drive even though it claimed to do so or my Windows setup did not recognize the partition. Again, the only partition is recognized was C:, which was the same as for OS X.

If this happens to us, what should we do?

sedek
Apr 6, 2006, 10:33 PM
If this happens to us, what should we do?Quit the Windows setup immediately and do not continue. Reboot OS X and be happy. I wrote to the feedback e-mail address and will report back in case Apple responds.

Backtothemac
Apr 7, 2006, 01:25 AM
Everytime I reboot into OS X. I have to turn off airport then turn it back on in order to have internet access. it is weird.

Also, the time issue which everyone knows about.

Also, when installing call of duty 2. If I do anything, I mean anything other than install COD2 once the game is completed and I load it, then I cannot get out of training. It will not see the potato flying through the doorway for some reason. Weird.

tcsmith822
Apr 7, 2006, 06:22 AM
Everytime I reboot into OS X. I have to turn off airport then turn it back on in order to have internet access. it is weird.

a lot of trouble with bluetooth and windows. even after installing the drivers apple provided my BT keyboard randomly decides to pair and un-pair during use. i guess thats why they say a USB keyboard is required!

Windows feature - that's why some 3rd party wireless card mfr's handle all wireless features on their own (at least for 802.11 a/b/g)

you guy witht the AIM problem:
use www.trillian.cc, thats the better choice, or GAIM for windows! Trust me!
Problems installing AIM 5.9. I get this blue screen (not blue screen of death), but its brother. Then the computer jsut restarts. I've done this twice.


-JoE

Whatever you do do NOT click on the "usb camera" in My Computer.It will give you the BSOD.

Yeah I learned the hard way.

All: Disable the iSight in Device Manager - windows auto-detection failure - happened to do the same things with XOM.efi.


Sorry for the "bad eXPeriences" though,
Tim

TIP: (germanglish translation) When a company reacts to Apple's announcement of implementing their product in the next version of Apple's OS by offering a "free beta" to get people to invest install time into their version and then sell the full version when [Apple's beta expires] for $50.00, one might think Apple Legal could step in to prevent such time investments.

ReanimationLP
Apr 7, 2006, 06:32 AM
Everytime I reboot into OS X. I have to turn off airport then turn it back on in order to have internet access. it is weird.

Also, the time issue which everyone knows about.

Also, when installing call of duty 2. If I do anything, I mean anything other than install COD2 once the game is completed and I load it, then I cannot get out of training. It will not see the potato flying through the doorway for some reason. Weird.

Patch the game. I had this problem on my Athlon 64. Damn potato.

Another way to do it is to go to GameFAQs and get the console codes and have it skip over to the next level.

Winstonp
Apr 7, 2006, 11:29 AM
xp doesn't detect my speakers and plays the audio through the built-in iMac ones.

ditto, except with my mbp

Winstonp
Apr 7, 2006, 11:30 AM
Whatever you do do NOT click on the "usb camera" in My Computer.It will give you the BSOD.
LOL! That's SOOOOO MS

Peace
Apr 7, 2006, 11:34 AM
LOL! That's SOOOOO MS

It's unfair to say that's MS..It's actually Apple for not making a driver for the USB iSight on XP

Thanatoast
Apr 7, 2006, 11:45 AM
It's unfair to say that's MS..It's actually Apple for not making a driver for the USB iSight on XP
But it's fair that clicking on an attached device should crash your machine? Sorry, that's all XP.

Aika
Apr 7, 2006, 12:08 PM
edit: fixed!

dougny
Apr 10, 2006, 10:53 PM
Everytime I go back and forth between OSX and Windows the internal clock changes the clock time to either 3 hours ahead or 3 hours behind.

Annoying

Backtothemac
Apr 10, 2006, 11:13 PM
Patch the game. I had this problem on my Athlon 64. Damn potato.

Another way to do it is to go to GameFAQs and get the console codes and have it skip over to the next level.

Ha! It worked. Thanks so much, I did not even realize that there was a patch. Now if I can just get people that I shoot in COD 1 to fall when I shoot them, then I will be ok :)

LimeiBook86
Apr 11, 2006, 01:31 PM
I hooked up my USB Logitech Optical Mouse, nothing fancy just a standard mouse, and it works fine in Windows XP. When I restart to Mac OS X, the Bluetooth Mouse Assistant will pop-up, searching for a mouse to use. Any input by my logitech mouse is ignored unless I un-plug it and plug it back in. Then everything works fine, this does not happen if I restart into Mac OS X with my Mighty Mouse attachted though.

It's ok, I'll just have to get used to it. :p

harveypooka
Apr 11, 2006, 01:37 PM
Everytime I go back and forth between OSX and Windows the internal clock changes the clock time to either 3 hours ahead or 3 hours behind.

Annoying

Apple know about this one. Mine only shifts between an hour...

Backtothemac
Apr 11, 2006, 02:31 PM
If you disconnect from a wi-fi before rebooting into os x, then you don't have the wi-fi problem in windows.

Peace
Apr 11, 2006, 02:38 PM
Folks might not know this but the external firewire iSight works under XP

Electro Funk
Apr 11, 2006, 03:20 PM
my numbers keys to the right of the keyboard do not work under XP...

although the ones across the top do...

Peace
Apr 11, 2006, 03:33 PM
my numbers keys to the right of the keyboard do not work under XP...

although the ones across the top do...


There's no numlock key on the Mac keyboard..

shortys408
Apr 11, 2006, 04:52 PM
my install of MCE doesn't even have a usb camera icon.

robert-a-hudson
Apr 11, 2006, 05:28 PM
I own: 30gb 5G ipod, 4gb nano, 1.42 ghz mac mini, 18.3 ghz macbook pro.



WOW 18.3GHz, man you're waaaaaaaay ahead of the game there! ;)

Hugh
Apr 11, 2006, 06:34 PM
There's no numlock key on the Mac keyboard..


What do you mean there isn't a Numlock on a Mackeyboard. I have an Apple Pro (black keys) keyboard and it's got a numlock key. :confused:

Hugh

Hugh
Apr 11, 2006, 06:40 PM
I hooked up my USB Logitech Optical Mouse, nothing fancy just a standard mouse, and it works fine in Windows XP. When I restart to Mac OS X, the Bluetooth Mouse Assistant will pop-up, searching for a mouse to use. Any input by my logitech mouse is ignored unless I un-plug it and plug it back in. Then everything works fine, this does not happen if I restart into Mac OS X with my Mighty Mouse attachted though.

It's ok, I'll just have to get used to it. :p

That's strange that you are having that problem. I have a logitech USB Optical mouse and have no problems switching back and forth. I just wish logitech would make a sys pref for the intel macs so I can use the back and forward buttons. I wonder if it has to do with which model you are using? I am using the Mx 310.

Hugh

friedymeister69
Apr 11, 2006, 08:42 PM
I just got my first BSOD on my iMac by trying to sign in to aim triton.

BUG perhaps?

Peace
Apr 11, 2006, 09:06 PM
What do you mean there isn't a Numlock on a Mackeyboard. I have an Apple Pro (black keys) keyboard and it's got a numlock key. :confused:

Hugh

The standard white Mac keyboard that comes with Macs don't have the num lock key.

Backtothemac
Apr 11, 2006, 09:54 PM
I just got my first BSOD on my iMac by trying to sign in to aim triton.

BUG perhaps?
Yes, it is called Windows. 99% of the BSOD that we experience will have nothing to do with the fact that windows is runing on a Mac.

LimeiBook86
Apr 11, 2006, 11:04 PM
That's strange that you are having that problem. I have a logitech USB Optical mouse and have no problems switching back and forth. I just wish logitech would make a sys pref for the intel macs so I can use the back and forward buttons. I wonder if it has to do with which model you are using? I am using the Mx 310.

Hugh
I don't think my mouse has a model. It's just a generic OEM Logitech Optical USB mouse like this one here:

http://www.picco.nl/images/D48311.jpg

Except it doesn't have a Logitech logo :p, it was only $5 at the PC show I went to a while back :) Oh well...

Ranma13
Apr 12, 2006, 08:26 AM
For those that have audio coming out of the internal speakers only:

http://forum.osx86project.org/index.php?showtopic=12185

Download the audio driver linked to in that post. It will disable the internal speakers and enable the headphone out only, but that's pretty much the behavior you'd want.

For those that have issues with the numpad: I've heard elsewhere that the 'clear' key functions like numlock. Give it a try.

bugfaceuk
Apr 12, 2006, 09:04 AM
For those that have audio coming out of the internal speakers only:

http://forum.osx86project.org/index.php?showtopic=12185

Download the audio driver linked to in that post. It will disable the internal speakers and enable the headphone out only, but that's pretty much the behavior you'd want.

For those that have issues with the numpad: I've heard elsewhere that the 'clear' key functions like numlock. Give it a try.

Just to confirm the clear key functions as numlock on a standard Apple USB keyboard.

Hugh
Apr 12, 2006, 10:34 AM
Just to confirm the clear key functions as numlock on a standard Apple USB keyboard.


Yeah, I was going to say to try hitting your 'clear' key to see if it will act like a numlock key while in Windows.

Hugh

Hugh
Apr 12, 2006, 10:35 AM
I don't think my mouse has a model. It's just a generic OEM Logitech Optical USB mouse like this one here:

http://www.picco.nl/images/D48311.jpg

Except it doesn't have a Logitech logo :p, it was only $5 at the PC show I went to a while back :) Oh well...


Well that just sucks that you have that problem, I would think that all logitech mice would work the same when it came to interface. :confused:

Hugh

kennyy
Apr 13, 2006, 02:43 AM
after installing winxp everything was fine, the most annoying thing is if plug in headphone the sound will still come out from the built-in speaker. any solution? thanks

ManchesterTrix
Apr 13, 2006, 07:48 AM
after installing winxp everything was fine, the most annoying thing is if plug in headphone the sound will still come out from the built-in speaker. any solution? thanks

This was in the Apple notes, It doesn't support rerouting of sound currently

milo
Apr 13, 2006, 08:57 AM
The Startup Disk control panel in XP only shows Windows as an option (when I first installed, it didn't show ANY!).

I can reboot into OSX fine holding option at boot, but this is an annoyance. Any ideas?

Whiteapple
Apr 13, 2006, 01:29 PM
Sometimes when i log out of OSX to reboot in XP, the loading completes, but then black screen, and nothing. Manual shutdown, reboot again, and then everything fine, even after the "CHECK DISK" and the "YOUR SYSTEM DID NOT SHUT DOWN CORRECTLY"

oh well, it's just bad for the HDD...

treblah
Apr 13, 2006, 02:15 PM
Sometimes when i log out of OSX to reboot in XP, the loading completes, but then black screen, and nothing. Manual shutdown, reboot again, and then everything fine, even after the "CHECK DISK" and the "YOUR SYSTEM DID NOT SHUT DOWN CORRECTLY"

oh well, it's just bad for the HDD...

This has happened to me a few times on my MBP. :confused:

Seems like the video card is trying to initialize but fails.

kennyy
Apr 13, 2006, 07:37 PM
winxp has been installed in my imac couple days, it started to slow i mean some times get hang...i don't know it is becasue of virus or adware or spyware?Did u guys have the same problem?

Electro Funk
Apr 13, 2006, 08:15 PM
The Startup Disk control panel in XP only shows Windows as an option (when I first installed, it didn't show ANY!).

I can reboot into OSX fine holding option at boot, but this is an annoyance. Any ideas?

under system prefs in osx go to startup disk and it will show you xp and osx...

choose osx as default and then you will only have to hit option when you want to boot into xp...

SpAtZ
Apr 14, 2006, 06:10 PM
If I pull the power chord from the MBP it shutsdown. Does anyone else have this problem? Only tried it once.

doughemi
May 22, 2006, 08:07 AM
The fix for the Windows clock problem has been posted:D :
http://discussions.apple.com/message.jspa?messageID=2084484

Mojo67821
May 22, 2006, 06:41 PM
Once you install that driver to disable the onboard speakers, can you uninstall it if you don't want it anymore? If so, how?

I haven't had any problems with bluetooth or the airport. I do get some wierd hardware issues, and I see a flash of a bluescreen about every 3rd time I shut down. If you hit the power button, it shuts off immediately. It's kind of funny, no "are you sure" or anything.

I too haven't been able to get AIM to work in windows... it's really strange. No BSOD though.

imacintel
May 26, 2006, 05:54 PM
Ahem...for me bluetooth works fine.I beamed some files over to my laptop just yeaterday and it worked great.

Mojo67821
May 26, 2006, 09:25 PM
Once you install that driver to disable the onboard speakers, can you uninstall it if you don't want it anymore? If so, how?

I haven't had any problems with bluetooth or the airport. I do get some wierd hardware issues, and I see a flash of a bluescreen about every 3rd time I shut down. If you hit the power button, it shuts off immediately. It's kind of funny, no "are you sure" or anything.

I too haven't been able to get AIM to work in windows... it's really strange. No BSOD though.


I'm quoting myself here, because I'm still wondering if you can uninstall the driver to disable the onboard speakers once you've installed it. Anyone?

ingenious
May 27, 2006, 12:50 AM
Quit the Windows setup immediately and do not continue. Reboot OS X and be happy. I wrote to the feedback e-mail address and will report back in case Apple responds.

Am I the only one that never gets a response to my feedback? Do you post on the website or is there an email address that is more likely to get a response?

hobsong
May 28, 2006, 10:15 AM
Call me stupid or a slow learner but does anyone know how to type their email address while in windows xp and get the @ sign to work? when i try all i get is either 2 or " help all you knowledgeable people!:confused:

harveypooka
May 28, 2006, 10:21 AM
Call me stupid or a slow learner but does anyone know how to type their email address while in windows xp and get the @ sign to work? when i try all i get is either 2 or " help all you knowledgeable people!:confused:

Haha, not a bug but the keyboard layout. Press shift+" and you'll get the @ symbol. You should be able to map the keyboard shift+@ to @, check the XP control panel.

hobsong
May 28, 2006, 10:31 AM
I knew you wise people were out there thanks now i can mail in windows on a mac and they say us Irish are mad!!!:)

fh2level
May 29, 2006, 03:26 PM
1. Optical Audio Light on
2. Mouse jumps around
3. Won't keep time


MBP
2 Ghz
1 gig Ram

harveypooka
May 29, 2006, 03:33 PM
1. Optical Audio Light on
2. Mouse jumps around
3. Won't keep time


MBP
2 Ghz
1 gig Ram

The "Won't keep time" bug has been mentioned a lot. You can partially solve it by setting XP's network time option.

Mojo67821
May 29, 2006, 06:40 PM
The "Won't keep time" bug has been mentioned a lot. You can partially solve it by setting XP's network time option.

My XP time is fine, it's when I switch back to OSX that my time is off. But it's always 3 hours off so I just changed my timezone... now I have correct time on both sides.

benthewraith
May 29, 2006, 06:51 PM
For those that claim that AIM Triton crashing and getting the blue screen of death is a Windows thing. It's not. I've never gotten the BSOD on my Dell Inspiron 600m....plenty of viruses and tons of spyware though. :S It was what made me get a Mac.

My big issue is while in Windows CTRL+click doesn't work. :(

bophojones
Jun 24, 2006, 02:28 PM
Ok, so aim was working fine for me, then i started getting the bsod. Easy fix.
Right click on My Computer - Device Manager - Imaging Devices - Right click on USB Video Device and disable it. This should fix everyone's aim problems.

Also, Apple support says that the issue with the time problems are due to differences between the os's.

Bern
Jun 24, 2006, 03:55 PM
My Wacom tablet won't work properly. Each time I restart XP I have to reinstall the driver to use it.

Lixivial
Jun 24, 2006, 04:15 PM
I have a black Apple Pro keyboard, and upon pressing F14 or F15 (the same brightness keys in OS X) it does indeed decrease/increase the brightness. But, at the same time, it also mutes/unmutes the volume with every subsequent press of F14.

But at least I don't have to rely upon that silly taskbar icon to manage my brightness (where you can turn off the backlight but have a heck of time finding that icon again). I've also noticed that my Macbook's speakers seem louder in XP than in OS X where they're very quiet.

And the BSOD in IM programs is almost certainly due to it attempting to detect the iSight, which upon access, blue screens Windows. This is not a fault of Windows, AIM or MSN. It's hardly even a fault of Apple. It's just that the driver has not yet been written -- disabling it, as previously noted, should solve any BSOD problems related to that.

after installing winxp everything was fine, the most annoying thing is if plug in headphone the sound will still come out from the built-in speaker. any solution? thanks

This was previously noted earlier in the thread, but here's another thread too. http://forum.onmac.net/showthread.php?t=1268

Shadowspirit6
Jun 24, 2006, 08:58 PM
Hi,

I just tried to install XP using boot camp on my Intel iMac 20'' and
it was a disaster. Although I followed the Installation Guide to the letter and boot camp, according to the GUI, successfully partitioned my disk, I only had the C: partition to choose within the Widnows setup. Assuming this is the Widnows partition (stupid me, but following the letter of the Installation guide)) I continued. The rest is disaster: Windows puts itself on top of the Mac OS X partition and I need to reinstall OSX after erasing my hard drive. I made a complete backup before, but it was still annoying.

Either Boot camp did not partition my hard drive even though it claimed to do so or my Windows setup did not recognize the partition. Again, the only partition is recognized was C:, which was the same as for OS X.

wait so are you saying DO NOT partition the C: drive ...becuase it WILL overwrite your MAC OSX PARTITION?

p.s sorry for the caps , i just wanted to point things out :D

Bern
Jun 24, 2006, 11:41 PM
Um... turns out I was using the wrong driver for my Wacom tablet :o All is well now.

chaingarden
Jun 25, 2006, 12:31 PM
Whenever I try to Switch User (Start -> Log Off -> Switch User) on my iMac, once the new user's desktop is loaded, XP no longer recognizes input from my Apple keyboard and Mighty Mouse.

I haven't seen this problem mentioned anywhere - has anybody else tried doing this? I guess a lot of people don't have multiple users set up in XP.

thoma004
Nov 14, 2006, 10:59 PM
(something for the search engines...)

I think I found an issue when installing Windows XP on a Macbook Pro via boot camp v1.1.2

I am trying to connect to a Dlink DWL-2100AP with an open network named " " - which is to say just a single space with no quotes.

The connection errors out. I then renamed the network to any text such as "test" and tried to reconnect and it worked fine. I then changed back to just a space and reconnected with again no working connection.

So, open wireless seems to work fine with at least simple text but not on a network with a name of " " (just a space)

Graklynn
May 17, 2007, 08:52 PM
Ever since I got my Mac Book Pro Duo 2 (17') I have been having issues, but finally I got to a state that seemed pretty stable, then DISASTER. For some reason whenever I load into the XP partition, XP black-screens and reboots automatically right before it initializes the network. I assume it is right before XP initializes the network because the one time it did work very randomly, right when I expected my computer to auto reboot the network icons appeared in the lower right and everything was fine... until I rebooted it.

I would be grateful for any help.

Thanks