PDA

View Full Version : Take 2 & Sources?




billabong
Jan 18, 2008, 01:01 AM
In the new AppleTV interface, I don't see the option for sources like we currently have. They wouldn't take the feature of streaming content from our computers out now would they?



cbrain
Jan 18, 2008, 01:23 AM
Perhaps it's now in the "Settings" menu.

nlivo
Jan 18, 2008, 03:21 AM
In the new AppleTV interface, I don't see the option for sources like we currently have. They wouldn't take the feature of streaming content from our computers out now would they?

No, what they have cleverly done is combine computers' iTunes libraries and the content on the appletv itself into one combined section called "My Movies", My TV Shows", "My Music", etc. When you click on Music (for example) down the bottom of the list is "My Music", when you click on this it'll have both music from iTunes libraries on your network and in your appletv. You see?

imlucid
Jan 18, 2008, 11:21 AM
No, what they have cleverly done is combine computers' iTunes libraries and the content on the appletv itself into one combined section called "My Movies", My TV Shows", "My Music", etc. When you click on Music (for example) down the bottom of the list is "My Music", when you click on this it'll have both music from iTunes libraries on your network and in your appletv. You see?

That's close. Actually you'll see a menu that has "My Movies" and if you have shared sources as well another that says "Shared Movies". Going into Shared Movies will either just show the list of movies, or a list of shares (if you have more than one computer with sharing on).

Kevin

billabong
Jan 20, 2008, 11:48 AM
That's close. Actually you'll see a menu that has "My Movies" and if you have shared sources as well another that says "Shared Movies". Going into Shared Movies will either just show the list of movies, or a list of shares (if you have more than one computer with sharing on).

Kevin

Do you know this 100%, did you use a demo at MacWorld or something? Or just speculating?

herr_neumann
Jan 20, 2008, 12:26 PM
Do you know this 100%, did you use a demo at MacWorld or something? Or just speculating?

Look at the link in his profile and you will get your answer.....

imlucid
Jan 20, 2008, 12:50 PM
Do you know this 100%, did you use a demo at MacWorld or something? Or just speculating?

I know this 100%

Kevin

imlucid
Jan 20, 2008, 12:51 PM
Look at the link in his profile and you will get your answer.....

Yeah, its not too difficult to figure out where I get my knowledge...

;)

billabong
Jan 20, 2008, 02:56 PM
Yeah, its not too difficult to figure out where I get my knowledge...

;)

wow that is so cool Kevin, congrats on Take 2. I can't wait for the update!

billabong
Jan 20, 2008, 04:31 PM
Yeah, its not too difficult to figure out where I get my knowledge...

;)

Hey Kevin,

just wondering if browsing the movies has changed at all? Can we now browse by genre? Does it look and different?

imlucid
Jan 20, 2008, 04:46 PM
Hey Kevin,

just wondering if browsing the movies has changed at all? Can we now browse by genre? Does it look and different?

Browsing movies under "My Movies" has not changed.

Kevin

omni
Jan 20, 2008, 07:45 PM
Kevin (sorry to bug you)

Not sure if this is really the best place to ask this but I didn't want to start a new thread and I haven't been able to find an answer.

On AppleTV Take 1 the sorting for TV Shows leaves a lot to be desired. In Take 2 will it support structure such as:

TV Shows
-->X-Files
-----> Season 1
-----> Season 2

etc

I realize I can simply rename them now to be X-Files Season 1 but I'm not a huge fan of that.

Thanks, keep up the good work and congrats on Take 2!

Derek

imlucid
Jan 20, 2008, 11:33 PM
Kevin (sorry to bug you)

Not sure if this is really the best place to ask this but I didn't want to start a new thread and I haven't been able to find an answer.

On AppleTV Take 1 the sorting for TV Shows leaves a lot to be desired. In Take 2 will it support structure such as:

TV Shows
-->X-Files
-----> Season 1
-----> Season 2

etc

I realize I can simply rename them now to be X-Files Season 1 but I'm not a huge fan of that.

Thanks, keep up the good work and congrats on Take 2!

Derek

It will look more like:

My TV Shows
X-Files
--------- Season 2 ----------
Episode 3
Episode 2
Episode 1
--------- Season 1 ----------
Episode 20
Episode 19
....

Kevin

omni
Jan 20, 2008, 11:49 PM
Kevin,

This is exactly what I was looking for, Thanks!

Anyway the sorting can go from descending to ascending?

Example:

My TV Shows:

X-Files
----Season 1---
Ep 1
Ep 2
---Season 2---
Ep 1
Ep 2

etc.

Again, thanks for replying!

Derek

imlucid
Jan 21, 2008, 12:02 AM
Anyway the sorting can go from descending to ascending?


No

Kevin

ipedro
Jan 21, 2008, 12:03 AM
Descending order does make more sense. You'd want the latest episode to be at the top.

Doors6767
Jan 21, 2008, 04:15 AM
Yeah, its not too difficult to figure out where I get my knowledge...

;)

Did they fix AppleTV so it will play more than one Music Video at a time? It's been one of the sought after requests ever since it came out.

Thanks,

Chris

imlucid
Jan 21, 2008, 11:25 AM
Did they fix AppleTV so it will play more than one Music Video at a time? It's been one of the sought after requests ever since it came out.

Thanks,

Chris

Not for this release.

Kevin

d.f
Jan 21, 2008, 06:06 PM
I know this 100%

Kevin

does anyone have any thoughts on Apple ever allowing Time Capsule (or any other itunes Ready NAS Drive) to be a standalone source...?

seems odd that you still have to turn on a mac and launch iTunes to watch / listen to your media. it's clearly something Apple is disabling.....does anyone know why...?

crjeong
Jan 21, 2008, 07:09 PM
Is there a way to put movies into playlists in the new AppleTV?

Like: Feature Films, Short Films, Home Movies...etc

Superman07
Jan 21, 2008, 07:18 PM
does anyone have any thoughts on Apple ever allowing Time Capsule (or any other itunes Ready NAS Drive) to be a standalone source...?

seems odd that you still have to turn on a mac and launch iTunes to watch / listen to your media. it's clearly something Apple is disabling.....does anyone know why...?

Huh? I thought this was going out the window with 2.0. If I buy something on 2.0 iTMS direct, that would mean I can play it on the aTV rather than booting up an iT client.

I miss something?

EvilRob
Jan 22, 2008, 02:11 AM
That's close. Actually you'll see a menu that has "My Movies" and if you have shared sources as well another that says "Shared Movies". Going into Shared Movies will either just show the list of movies, or a list of shares (if you have more than one computer with sharing on).


Wait, so remote iTunes libraries are now an extra click from the movies section? If you have nothing stored on your :apple:TVs at all, how do you set a remote library as the default?

For people who already have an extensive iTunes library on a central machine, removing the ability to set a remote library as the default source would be eye-bleedingly stupid.

RumMunkey
Jan 22, 2008, 06:47 AM
Wait, so remote iTunes libraries are now an extra click from the movies section? If you have nothing stored on your :apple:TVs at all, how do you set a remote library as the default?

For people who already have an extensive iTunes library on a central machine, removing the ability to set a remote library as the default source would be eye-bleedingly stupid.

One extra click is hardly "eye-bleedingly stupid". In fact, I'd argue that for 95% of everyday users, it makes more sense.

pedz
Jan 22, 2008, 08:15 AM
I don't mind the extra click, though I would assume if you only have of source it wouldn't require the click? If i have no video on the apple tv and one source specified it should require a click. I know it is not a big deal, but my kids use it and it wouldn't want it to get more complicated than it already is.

Also, if there is no predefined source will it have to 'load' the source when selected? That would really be painful if you had to load it everytime you wanted to use it.

guess we will find out next week!

imlucid
Jan 22, 2008, 11:32 AM
I don't mind the extra click, though I would assume if you only have of source it wouldn't require the click? If i have no video on the apple tv and one source specified it should require a click. I know it is not a big deal, but my kids use it and it wouldn't want it to get more complicated than it already is.

Also, if there is no predefined source will it have to 'load' the source when selected? That would really be painful if you had to load it everytime you wanted to use it.

guess we will find out next week!

Getting to local content is the same number of clicks as remote content (well, if you are streaming from a single source).

The new menu design abstracts the content one level and adds all the store menus as well.

As far as loading, it should be faster to load individual sections than loading the entire remote library.

Kevin

zedsdead
Jan 26, 2008, 07:02 AM
Getting to local content is the same number of clicks as remote content (well, if you are streaming from a single source).

The new menu design abstracts the content one level and adds all the store menus as well.

As far as loading, it should be faster to load individual sections than loading the entire remote library.

Kevin

Did you by any chance notice if Apple added a Chapter Marker Selection Menu?

SthrnCmfrtr
Jan 26, 2008, 10:29 AM
Hmm. Looks like I might be selling my :apple:TV and building another XBMC.

imlucid, how's that unRAID working for you? I saw them when I was figuring out a RAID server, but they were beyond my price range.

ebony
Jan 26, 2008, 01:27 PM
Getting to local content is the same number of clicks as remote content (well, if you are streaming from a single source).

The new menu design abstracts the content one level and adds all the store menus as well.

As far as loading, it should be faster to load individual sections than loading the entire remote library.

Kevin

it may be the same number of clicks if using appletv take 2. But compared to version1 I would now have to for example, navigate to TV Shows, select or push right ( not sure on method ), push down 2 or 3 times to select "My movies " ( or whatever itunes library content is now called ).

In version one I would select tv shows and thats it.

For someone who has a lot of content preloaded in their own itunes library the new appletv take2 is a backward step.

I am completely happy with the way things were with version1, and I feel the updates are not there to enhance the user experience of appletv users but basically to sell more content.

I can understand apple wants to make money by selling content, but changing the whole interface to force the itunes store down our throat, is a bit much for me.

zedsdead
Jan 26, 2008, 01:50 PM
it may be the same number of clicks if using appletv take 2. But compared to version1 I would now have to for example, navigate to TV Shows, select or push right ( not sure on method ), push down 2 or 3 times to select "My movies " ( or whatever itunes library content is now called ).

In version one I would select tv shows and thats it.

For someone who has a lot of content preloaded in their own itunes library the new appletv take2 is a backward step.

I am completely happy with the way things were with version1, and I feel the updates are not there to enhance the user experience of appletv users but basically to sell more content.

I can understand apple wants to make money by selling content, but changing the whole interface to force the itunes store down our throat, is a bit much for me.

I agree. Apple should have just added another option to the main menu called, "iTunes Store." It was definitely a decision based on selling content.

Anyone know if they have any new screen savers like the ones in Leopard?

EvilRob
Jan 26, 2008, 11:29 PM
For someone who has a lot of content preloaded in their own itunes library the new appletv take2 is a backward step.

They do seem to have snatched defeat from the jaws of victory.

When I first saw the brilliant way the AppleTV handled sources, I had a feeling it was too subtle and some well-intentioned fool would eventually break it. I didn't expect that to happen quite this soon, however.

For the record, I have no objection to the store content being moved front and centre, and I probably would have used it to rent movies, but burying an existing library behind a lot of stupid remote aerobics ruins it, for me. The search for a workable set top box for normal people continues.

imlucid
Jan 27, 2008, 10:40 AM
The ATV remembers your previous menu selection. So if you only go to Movies -> My Movies, then you'll only have the one extra selection. You won't have to scroll down the list.

Kevin

imlucid
Jan 27, 2008, 10:40 AM
Did you by any chance notice if Apple added a Chapter Marker Selection Menu?

No chapter marker selection menu in this release.

Kevin

ebony
Jan 27, 2008, 03:12 PM
The ATV remembers your previous menu selection. So if you only go to Movies -> My Movies, then you'll only have the one extra selection. You won't have to scroll down the list.

Kevin

its still an extra selection / click. While this is not much to most when you have under twelves using the appletv this can cause an additional level of confusion which is not necessary.

My own dislike of Take 2 is not the extra picks that are involved, but that the complete functionality of the device is being changed from an itunes library extender to an itunes store purchasing device.

I'm happy to admit that I may be in the minority with being completely happy with Take 1, but if I upgrade to Take 2 ( with is highly unlikely ), I would prefer the itunes store not being forced upon me.

Why is there no option to turn external content off, simple to implement but costly to Apple; I've bought the device, so stop trying to suck the life blood out of me with purchasable media.

TuckBodi
Feb 4, 2008, 12:19 PM
Why is there no option to turn external content off, simple to implement but costly to Apple; I've bought the device, so stop trying to suck the life blood out of me with purchasable media.

DITTO