PDA

View Full Version : How to import a DVD to a format I can put into iTunes?




MythicFrost
Mar 9, 2010, 10:08 PM
I'd like to import some DVDs that I own onto my computer to a format that allows me to just drop the movie file into iTunes... is that possible?
I'd like to watch some of these movies on my ATV & iPhone.

What procedure do I need to do that? Would Toast 9 be able to do it?



kresh
Mar 9, 2010, 10:10 PM
I use Handbrake, you will also need VLC.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HandBrake

http://www.videolan.org/vlc/

spinnerlys
Mar 9, 2010, 10:14 PM
MRoogle will give you many, many, many, many, many, ... threads about this.

In short: Use Handbrake to convert the DVD video using the Apple TV or iPhone presets in Handbrake. Be sure VLC is installed on your Mac.

Or use MacTheRipper first and then Handbrake.
Or RipIt and then Handbrake.
Or Fairmount and then Handbrake.

MythicFrost
Mar 9, 2010, 10:30 PM
Thanks for your replies,

What purpose does VLC have? What exactly does it do? Is there anyway so that I don't have to use it?

KevinC867
Mar 9, 2010, 10:46 PM
Thanks for your replies,

What purpose does VLC have? What exactly does it do? Is there anyway so that I don't have to use it?

HandBrake uses VLC to do the decryption of the DVD on the fly. Otherwise, you can use a 2-step process and first copy and decrypt the DVD using RipIt, FairMount or MacTheRipper. Then, encode to h.264/MP4 format using HandBrake.

MythicFrost
Mar 10, 2010, 12:34 AM
I decided to use Handbrake w/ VLC. Does Handbrake normally use 500% CPU? :eek:
Not that it's a problem but I'm curious, also when output as an ATV format can it be used on my iPhone as well?

spinnerlys
Mar 10, 2010, 12:37 AM
I decided to use Handbrake w/ VLC. Does Handbrake normally use 500% CPU? :eek:
Not that it's a problem but I'm curious, also when output as an ATV format can it be used on my iPhone as well?

If you have a machine capable of 500 to 600% CPU usage, yes.
That would mean you either have a 4-core iMac with Hyperthreading or a Mac Pro with 4 cores and HT or 8 cores.

Be glad, it just makes it faster.

MythicFrost
Mar 10, 2010, 12:40 AM
Ah great, FYI it's an 08 MP Octo @ 3.0GHz, says it'll take 30 min.

iSavant
Mar 10, 2010, 01:05 AM
Ah great, FYI it's an 08 MP Octo @ 3.0GHz, says it'll take 30 min.

LOL your computer is the HandBrake transcoder of the Gods... it's made just for this stuff!

MythicFrost
Mar 10, 2010, 01:07 AM
Excellent, would the newer Nehalem Mac Pro with 16 cores @ 2.93GHz do it twice as fast? :cool: :p

iSavant
Mar 10, 2010, 01:16 AM
afaik handbrake will use all the cores the computer has... so, pretty sure it would be close to half the time.

I miss my Mac Pro :o

flynz4
Mar 10, 2010, 01:21 AM
Ah great, FYI it's an 08 MP Octo @ 3.0GHz, says it'll take 30 min.

My 27" i7 iMac transcodes in similar times. I find that RipIt and Handbrake take about equal amounts of time on average... and while I am transcoding one using HB... I can be ripping the next with RipIt.

/Jim

MythicFrost
Mar 10, 2010, 01:24 AM
Ah I see, good to know... How do I increase the resolution of the DVD further? I'd like to have it higher quality but it won't go any higher than 720x572 or something, any reason?

iSavant
Mar 10, 2010, 01:34 AM
Ah I see, good to know... How do I increase the resolution of the DVD further? I'd like to have it higher quality but it won't go any higher than 720x572 or something, any reason?

DVD doesn't equal BluRay (HD)

I rip using RipIt to an external FW drive, then
I transcode using HandBrake (Universal preset), then
I fill out "tags" using MetaX (Moooo)

MetaX is set up yo send my movie to iTunes where I (may) reset my artwork associated with the file.

Easy peasy, Everything is free except RipIt and that is currently available in the MacHeist nanobundle offering.

R.Perez
Mar 10, 2010, 01:50 AM
You should use handbrake, and choose the apple tv setting.

That is what I do anyway

MythicFrost
Mar 10, 2010, 03:18 AM
I have a question, why is the sound volume for the movie I imported really low compared to any other iTunes movies?
Although, strangely enough all my movies seem quiet compared to how loud my music is when it's playing but the imported movie was really quiet.

The default quality for the movie was 60.78% is that normal? If I put that higher will I get better quality picture/(& louder)sound?

Any idea why?

iSavant
Mar 10, 2010, 03:32 AM
I've got an encode going now... Universal preset.

Constant Quality 60.78%

I don't believe that would affect volume

What movie?

MythicFrost
Mar 10, 2010, 03:42 AM
The movie is Elf, its almost impossible to hear. I find it quite odd.

iSavant
Mar 10, 2010, 03:48 AM
hrmmm

lookee here:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=506363

I've noticed this some but not to any 50% degree

MythicFrost
Mar 10, 2010, 03:52 AM
I see, I'll try another one and see if it's the same.

MythicFrost
Mar 10, 2010, 05:04 AM
I've tested this with Finding Nemo, comparing playing the imported movie vs via DVD player from the disc, the imported movie is very quiet (with iTunes volume at max).
Any idea's what to do about this? Could it be my Snow Leopard? :cool:

DoFoT9
Mar 10, 2010, 05:06 AM
what sound format are you using? sometimes i do find that using AC3 does sound a bit softer.

try using the dolby formats if possible, that ensures that you get the best sound preservation

MythicFrost
Mar 10, 2010, 05:12 AM
I have uploaded two images of the audio section in Handbrake, one is a preset for the ATV, the other is for Normal.

DoFoT9
Mar 10, 2010, 05:13 AM
I have uploaded two images of the audio section in Handbrake, one is a preset for the ATV, the other is for Normal.

try it selecting the highest bitrate possible and see how you go.

n.bi updated my pervious post with a bit of info

MythicFrost
Mar 10, 2010, 05:18 AM
what sound format are you using? sometimes i do find that using AC3 does sound a bit softer.

try using the dolby formats if possible, that ensures that you get the best sound preservation
Which one of those settings would I change? Would I change AC3 to DTS?

DoFoT9
Mar 10, 2010, 05:22 AM
Which one of those settings would I change? Would I change AC3 to DTS?

the 2nd picture you attached, simply change the bitrate of "dolby digital" to the highest rate possible. not sure what the DRC is either but put that to full notch :p

pacmania1982
Mar 10, 2010, 05:29 AM
Someone has probably already said this, but you shouldn't need to run your DVD's through MacTheRipper or RipIt. Handbrake should handle the DVD decryption for you

pac

tbayrgs
Mar 10, 2010, 09:32 AM
Someone has probably already said this, but you shouldn't need to run your DVD's through MacTheRipper or RipIt. Handbrake should handle the DVD decryption for you

pac

It was addressed at the beginning of the thread and that's not true. Handbrake only handles the transcoding--you need VLC installed in order to handle the decryption.

dynaflash
Mar 10, 2010, 09:54 AM
not sure what the DRC is either but put that to full notch :p
Dynamic Range Compression. Recommended would be 0.0 - about 1.5. It boosts soft sounds like voices. This is not the same as gain which increases the volume for all sounds. HandBrake has no gain control.

grapejucy
Mar 10, 2010, 09:43 PM
iTunes can play mp4, mov video format, so you should convert DVD to that. Many friends use Handbrake - a free DVD ripper software.

http://handbrake.fr/

DoFoT9
Mar 10, 2010, 10:18 PM
Dynamic Range Compression. Recommended would be 0.0 - about 1.5. It boosts soft sounds like voices. This is not the same as gain which increases the volume for all sounds. HandBrake has no gain control.

ahh great thanks for clarifying!