Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 29, 2010, 05:00 PM   #1
rw3
macrumors 6502a
 
rw3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: DFW, TX
128GB SSD iPod Classic

Well, it works. I finally found an original MacBook Air SSD and put it in my iPod Classic and it works great! So much smoother and faster. I'm looking into getting other brands as well to see if they will work.

See attached screenshots...

RG
__________________
27" iMac (Late 2013)|i7 3.5GHz|32GB|512GB SSD Silver iPhone 5s |32GB ATV3 x3
ACMT, ACSP

Last edited by rw3; Aug 29, 2013 at 04:50 PM.
rw3 is offline   6 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2010, 05:04 PM   #2
liamkp
macrumors 68020
 
liamkp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Ssd?
__________________
Soon to be 4G Ipod Touch, Join My Thread on the Subject!!!
liamkp is offline   -5 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2010, 05:08 PM   #3
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
wow this is pretty awsome! how much did you pay for the SSD!?
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2010, 05:21 PM   #4
rw3
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
rw3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: DFW, TX
I don't even wanna say how much the SSD was....but the ones that I've been fidning that aren't Apple OEM are $300...

SSD - Solid State Drive - This helps so that you can drop it not have the risk of the HDD going bad since SSDs don't have any moving parts, it's all flash memory.
__________________
27" iMac (Late 2013)|i7 3.5GHz|32GB|512GB SSD Silver iPhone 5s |32GB ATV3 x3
ACMT, ACSP
rw3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2010, 08:15 PM   #5
rgarjr
macrumors 603
 
rgarjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: C a l i f o r n i a
Cool mod but where's the hardware pics of the iPod.

Last edited by rgarjr; Jul 29, 2010 at 08:53 PM.
rgarjr is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2010, 09:32 PM   #6
iEvolution
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Nicely done, I swapped my white dead 5th gen out with a 240GB HD and new Battery and I love it. Only iPod I have with enough capacity to hold a decent amount of videos that I order from iTunes Store.

I bet the performance is pretty awesome, the 240GB is meh as far as performance goes but it works for what I use it for...that is for video output to my TV.
iEvolution is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2010, 09:38 PM   #7
rgarjr
macrumors 603
 
rgarjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: C a l i f o r n i a
So they make 240GB 1.8 drives? How full do you have yours now?
rgarjr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2010, 12:02 AM   #8
iEvolution
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgarjr View Post
So they make 240GB 1.8 drives? How full do you have yours now?
80GB of video, but the original plan was to hold my music and video and with that I'd be pushing about 180GB, but I decided against it because of all the money I put into it, didn't want to break it at work. So I've continued to use my 120GB classic and leave the 240GB strictly for video. I'll post a screen shot later.

I wish the Classic was able to be modded, sucks that apple has it so locked up. I really miss the Artist/Song listening on one screen VS the song only listing of the 5th gen.
iEvolution is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2010, 05:32 AM   #9
OGDaniel
macrumors 6502a
 
OGDaniel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Arizona
To the OP, aren't the newer drives in the Classic SSD's? Why wouldn't they be? I remember the horrible whining all my old Classics made at one point or another.
__________________
I shiny things
Search before you post: MRoogle
OGDaniel is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2010, 10:43 AM   #10
rw3
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
rw3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: DFW, TX
No, the 6th and 7th Gen iPod Classics still use Toshiba 1.8" PATA ZIF Hard Drives, no SSD, they wouldn't be cost effective with SSDs. The 128GB SSD I used cost me the price of a new 160GB Classic...
__________________
27" iMac (Late 2013)|i7 3.5GHz|32GB|512GB SSD Silver iPhone 5s |32GB ATV3 x3
ACMT, ACSP
rw3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2010, 02:05 PM   #11
aethelbert
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: NRW, Germany
It's a real shame that you can't sync it over eSATA or some variation of firewire. There would be huge potential in syncing some of the more powerful 1.8" SSDs over a faster connection to drastically reduce sync time. Hopefully USB 3.0 can fill some of that gap soon.

Nifty mod, though. I've told myself that I'll replace the disk when mine dies, so maybe a SSD will be an option at that time.
aethelbert is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2010, 02:12 PM   #12
iBookG4user
macrumors 604
 
iBookG4user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Send a message via MSN to iBookG4user
That's pretty nifty, you should post a video on how much faster it runs with the SSD than the HDD. I bet it is quite noticeable
__________________
*Super high tech stuff goes here*
iBookG4user is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2010, 10:57 AM   #13
steinfigur
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
I just registed and saw the picture attached. Is it IPOD CLASSIC or IPOD VIDEO? Got a red circled cross on my pity Ipod Classic too and I wanna change the HDD into some faster model, that is, CF or SDD. The CF cards is good but its max capacity I can pay is 32G the SSD is a very good selection for a original MBA 128G SSD is about $300 in my country, but from what I consulted from Kingspec Tech Support Team, it is not possible to replace the MK1634GAL with Kingspec - or any other 1.8" CE ssd - 'cos the Ipod Classic can not provide sufficient power
so if you got a SSD-inside Ipod Classic it'll be a great news to me and now I wonder how could I do it myself, that is, more picture&guidance needed. Maybe a tutorial?
Thanks anyway.


PS:Sorry about my poor English
steinfigur is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2010, 02:29 AM   #14
icefest
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
So any SSD that works in a macbook air rev1 also works in an ipod?
icefest is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2010, 03:03 AM   #15
wywern209
macrumors 65832
 
wywern209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: do you rly want to know?
Quote:
Originally Posted by steinfigur View Post
I just registed and saw the picture attached. Is it IPOD CLASSIC or IPOD VIDEO? Got a red circled cross on my pity Ipod Classic too and I wanna change the HDD into some faster model, that is, CF or SDD. The CF cards is good but its max capacity I can pay is 32G the SSD is a very good selection for a original MBA 128G SSD is about $300 in my country, but from what I consulted from Kingspec Tech Support Team, it is not possible to replace the MK1634GAL with Kingspec - or any other 1.8" CE ssd - 'cos the Ipod Classic can not provide sufficient power
so if you got a SSD-inside Ipod Classic it'll be a great news to me and now I wonder how could I do it myself, that is, more picture&guidance needed. Maybe a tutorial?
Thanks anyway.


PS:Sorry about my poor English
It says it is a black ipod video in the info page of itunes.
__________________
2.2 GHZ quad i7 15" MBP 2011
Specs:AMD Radeon 6750m, 8GB 1333Mhz RAM, HR Anti-Glare,500GB 7200rpm HDD.
wywern209 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2010, 05:22 AM   #16
steinfigur
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by wywern209 View Post
It says it is a black ipod video in the info page of itunes.
yeah and it says it is an ipod classic.
so is there the possibility that itunes recognizes SSD-inside ipod classic as ipod 5Gen?
steinfigur is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2010, 07:45 AM   #17
840quadra
Moderator
 
840quadra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Land of 10,000 Lakes
Nice!

I am in the process of doing a compact flash install in my 30gb video, and my 3rd gen iPod units.

Still love rocking the old iPods, amazing how many looks they still get when you have them sitting out at the local coffee shops .
840quadra is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2010, 08:08 AM   #18
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
Quote:
Originally Posted by steinfigur View Post
yeah and it says it is an ipod classic.
so is there the possibility that itunes recognizes SSD-inside ipod classic as ipod 5Gen?
... a SSD is just a hard drive, of course its compatible
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2010, 08:48 AM   #19
jaknudsen
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Oslo, Norway
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoFoT9 View Post
... a SSD is just a hard drive, of course its compatible
The point here is that the original poster said he has an iPod Classic, but his screenshots show a 5G Video iPod.
__________________
Procrastinators - the leaders of tomorrow
jaknudsen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2010, 11:55 AM   #20
steinfigur
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoFoT9 View Post
... a SSD is just a hard drive, of course its compatible
well,I have emailed Kingspec tech support and they told me it was no way getting an Kingspec SSD inside ipod for its poor +3v
haven't tried yet though, SSD's so expensive these days
steinfigur is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2010, 11:57 AM   #21
steinfigur
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaknudsen View Post
The point here is that the original poster said he has an iPod Classic, but his screenshots show a 5G Video iPod.
That's the point!
steinfigur is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2010, 06:38 PM   #22
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaknudsen View Post
The point here is that the original poster said he has an iPod Classic, but his screenshots show a 5G Video iPod.
then it is likely that the OP considers all iPods of that calibre to be named Classics. no biggie.

Quote:
Originally Posted by steinfigur View Post
well,I have emailed Kingspec tech support and they told me it was no way getting an Kingspec SSD inside ipod for its poor +3v
haven't tried yet though, SSD's so expensive these days
would be interesting to know. follow it up
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2010, 06:45 PM   #23
MonkeyET
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Coachella, CA
Is there a specific SSD to look for. From what I have seen on boxes, the SSDs look like the size of a 2.5" drive. How would they fit in the same space as a 1.8"? Is the size of it determinant on its ability to be used?
__________________
ET
20" iMac (Early 2009), 2.66 GHz, 8 GB RAM, 1 TB HD; 13" MBP (2010), 2.4 GHz, 4 GB RAM, 250 GB HD; 160 GB Black iPod Classic; Verizon iPhone 5S 16 GB Space Gray
MonkeyET is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2010, 06:46 PM   #24
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
Quote:
Originally Posted by MonkeyET View Post
Is there a specific SSD to look for. From what I have seen on boxes, the SSDs look like the size of a 2.5" drive. How would they fit in the same space as a 1.8"? Is the size of it determinant on its ability to be used?
you need a 1.8" SSD obviously lol..
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2010, 07:07 PM   #25
rgarjr
macrumors 603
 
rgarjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: C a l i f o r n i a
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoFoT9 View Post
you need a 1.8" SSD obviously lol..
not only that, u need one that has the ZIF flat cable.
rgarjr is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sammy 840 pro 128gb internal ssd vs external TB ssd wkw iMac 2 Oct 14, 2013 09:15 AM
iPod classic 6th Gen SSD Mod jrswizzle iPod 13 Jun 26, 2013 02:34 PM
Ipod classic ssd or what?? science0654 iPod 1 Feb 19, 2013 09:47 PM
Kingston Hyperx 3k 128gb or Samsung 830 128gb ssd? macmesser Mac Pro 4 Oct 17, 2012 09:16 AM
500gb 7200rpm w/SSD or 128gb SSD for 2006 Mac Mini? El Burro Mac mini 16 Aug 23, 2012 05:27 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC