Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Distributed Computing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 17, 2010, 12:15 PM   #126
lordonuthin
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Iowa
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
yeah the top dsl speed here is 6 mb/s. not really great, but better than what i'm getting.

i'm really not sure why the speed is so low.



try http://www.speedtest.net. i just ran it and got 0.81 mb/s. i'm paying for 12.0
That is a very poor speed, at least I'm getting close to 10 mb/s but paying for 30 I think... $76 a month. These monopolies we have in the US are a drag, they can do whatever they want and the gov does nothing about it. Mine is adequate for all the folding at least.
__________________
2009 MP, 13" '12 MBP, iPhone 4, iPad 2
FAH team 3446 with 5 Titan gpu's and 1 GTX 660ti
lordonuthin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2010, 03:34 PM   #127
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordonuthin View Post
That is a very poor speed, at least I'm getting close to 10 mb/s but paying for 30 I think... $76 a month. These monopolies we have in the US are a drag, they can do whatever they want and the gov does nothing about it. Mine is adequate for all the folding at least.
yeah what i'm getting is terrible. but it's been getting a little better today. but i can't upload bigadv results with these speeds
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2010, 04:27 AM   #128
lordonuthin
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Iowa
My router is having some trouble, seems to quit working whenever I'm at work I bought a new one on ebay, hope it gets here SOON!
__________________
2009 MP, 13" '12 MBP, iPhone 4, iPad 2
FAH team 3446 with 5 Titan gpu's and 1 GTX 660ti
lordonuthin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2010, 04:54 AM   #129
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordonuthin View Post
That is a very poor speed, at least I'm getting close to 10 mb/s but paying for 30 I think... $76 a month. These monopolies we have in the US are a drag, they can do whatever they want and the gov does nothing about it. Mine is adequate for all the folding at least.
i pay $130aus a month ($~110 US) for 50GB of downloads! (adsl2+). at least i hit the speeds.

are you on cable lord?
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2010, 11:21 AM   #130
lordonuthin
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Iowa
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoFoT9 View Post
i pay $130aus a month ($~110 US) for 50GB of downloads! (adsl2+). at least i hit the speeds.

are you on cable lord?
Yes I'm on cable, I did have dsl a couple of years ago but the company couldn't offer anything faster than 10gb/s at a higher price.
__________________
2009 MP, 13" '12 MBP, iPhone 4, iPad 2
FAH team 3446 with 5 Titan gpu's and 1 GTX 660ti
lordonuthin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2010, 11:27 PM   #131
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordonuthin View Post
My router is having some trouble, seems to quit working whenever I'm at work I bought a new one on ebay, hope it gets here SOON!
dang. i've had good luck with my apple extreme routers so far

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoFoT9 View Post
i pay $130aus a month ($~110 US) for 50GB of downloads! (adsl2+). at least i hit the speeds.

are you on cable lord?
dang that's a lot of money. but fast speeds also. i don't think they even offer those speeds around here

Quote:
Originally Posted by lordonuthin View Post
Yes I'm on cable, I did have dsl a couple of years ago but the company couldn't offer anything faster than 10gb/s at a higher price.
yeah dsl is slower around here also
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2010, 11:35 PM   #132
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
dang. i've had good luck with my apple extreme routers so far
yeh similar story here. no issues.

Quote:
dang that's a lot of money. but fast speeds also. i don't think they even offer those speeds around here
im about 1.1km of cable away from the exchange, so i get good speeds too bad there is virtually only 1 ISP that provides said speeds
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2010, 04:01 PM   #133
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
well i still have 3 main machines for folding, but none are back up to full force.

i don't have any of them running over 3.6 ghz (the fastest now is like 3.55 or so). so right now i'm just running -advmethods instead of -bigadv on 2 of them, and i'm actually using the other one, so no cpu folding right now.

i do have 2 gpus in each one folding.
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2010, 07:00 PM   #134
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
well i still have 3 main machines for folding, but none are back up to full force.

i don't have any of them running over 3.6 ghz (the fastest now is like 3.55 or so). so right now i'm just running -advmethods instead of -bigadv on 2 of them, and i'm actually using the other one, so no cpu folding right now.

i do have 2 gpus in each one folding.
you got any mac machines in there?? christ, 3 computers - im happy with the one for now!
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2010, 08:26 PM   #135
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoFoT9 View Post
you got any mac machines in there?? christ, 3 computers - im happy with the one for now!
yes i have macs, but i don't fold with any of them. my mac pro is too old to fold with. but i am eying those new mac pros though
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2010, 08:51 PM   #136
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
yes i have macs, but i don't fold with any of them. my mac pro is too old to fold with. but i am eying those new mac pros though
too bad osx cant utilise GPUs and whatnot. otherwise id let my 4850 have a crack - better then the CPU thats for sure!
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2010, 10:08 PM   #137
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoFoT9 View Post
too bad osx cant utilise GPUs and whatnot. otherwise id let my 4850 have a crack - better then the CPU thats for sure!
yeah i wish they had gpu folding for mac os x. but really, there aren't that many mac video cards
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2010, 10:35 PM   #138
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
yeah i wish they had gpu folding for mac os x. but really, there aren't that many mac video cards
i know! it cant be that hard to write some support for it can it? just support some of the later ones even.
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2010, 11:54 PM   #139
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoFoT9 View Post
i know! it cant be that hard to write some support for it can it? just support some of the later ones even.
yeah you would think that. maybe some day
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2010, 06:19 PM   #140
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
well guys i might be getting back up there soon. the last couple of days i've been working on my home built system, and i had it stable folding at 3.8 ghz. of course i got greedy, and am currently trying to manage 4.0 ghz. but right now heat is in the way, and i might have to take it back down a notch. we'll see
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2010, 06:53 PM   #141
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
^^ is 200mhz really that important
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2010, 07:06 PM   #142
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoFoT9 View Post
^^ is 200mhz really that important
i'm tellin ya, there's something about starting with the number 4.

but it got too hot, and i had to turn it down to 3.98 ghz. not quite 4. hopefully it'll stay at that though
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2010, 07:27 PM   #143
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
i'm tellin ya, there's something about starting with the number 4.

but it got too hot, and i had to turn it down to 3.98 ghz. not quite 4. hopefully it'll stay at that though
i prefer the number 9 to be honest 9ghz! phoar!

what temps are they running at? had you considered water cooling?
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2010, 09:03 PM   #144
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoFoT9 View Post
i prefer the number 9 to be honest 9ghz! phoar!

what temps are they running at? had you considered water cooling?
i was running around 90C. i've now taken it down to just 3.9 ghz. it's still up close to around 85C. i really don't feel like messing with water cooling on this system. maybe next time
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2010, 09:44 PM   #145
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
i was running around 90C. i've now taken it down to just 3.9 ghz. it's still up close to around 85C. i really don't feel like messing with water cooling on this system. maybe next time
fair call, added power, costs, fuss etcetc. not worth it i guess
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2010, 09:59 PM   #146
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoFoT9 View Post
fair call, added power, costs, fuss etcetc. not worth it i guess
i think it might be worth it on some systems, but not this one. this one has had a rough life
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2010, 04:20 PM   #147
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
well i added 2 more GPUs to my folding mix. i got a gtx 465 folding in the same rig as a gtx 260. it took awhile, but finally have them both folding with the gpu3 client. we'll see how it does
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2010, 07:50 PM   #148
lordonuthin
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Iowa
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
well i added 2 more GPUs to my folding mix. i got a gtx 465 folding in the same rig as a gtx 260. it took awhile, but finally have them both folding with the gpu3 client. we'll see how it does
Ooooh! great, it will be good to get the points on our team from that 465!
__________________
2009 MP, 13" '12 MBP, iPhone 4, iPad 2
FAH team 3446 with 5 Titan gpu's and 1 GTX 660ti
lordonuthin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2010, 08:09 PM   #149
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
well i added 2 more GPUs to my folding mix. i got a gtx 465 folding in the same rig as a gtx 260. it took awhile, but finally have them both folding with the gpu3 client. we'll see how it does
2 more farout man! how do you afford all that hahaha!
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2010, 12:11 AM   #150
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordonuthin View Post
Ooooh! great, it will be good to get the points on our team from that 465!
thanks. so far this thing is smoking. but it is using different units. i'm not sure what the ppd for the card itself is, but it's gotta be 10K ppd or more.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoFoT9 View Post
2 more farout man! how do you afford all that hahaha!
well only 1 465 gtx. the other was just another 9800 GT. but when i run 3 of them in the same computer, one of them overheats - to 104C! but if i take one out, then it runs fine
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Distributed Computing

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Millionaire gay couple is suing to force a church to hold their wedding jkcerda Politics, Religion, Social Issues 76 Mar 20, 2014 10:23 AM
Couple of applets for setting sound output ... Hughmac PowerPC Macs 16 Feb 25, 2014 02:27 PM
Started to get this couple days ago, anyone knows what to do? pastarojna MacBook Pro 2 Sep 19, 2013 01:16 PM
TV3 messed up over the last couple of days emptysoul Apple TV and Home Theater 2 Feb 25, 2013 04:43 AM
Bluetooths dies after a couple of days. hellfog OS X 0 Dec 25, 2012 06:50 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC