Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 20, 2011, 09:00 PM   #1
MacRumors
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
How To Disable Lion's 'Resume' Feature







Resume is one of the main new features to OS X Lion, one taken directly from iOS:
Quote:
Now apps you close will reopen right where you left off, so you never have to start from scratch again. And when you install software updates, you no longer need to save your work, close your apps, and spend valuable time setting everything up again. With Resume, you can restart your Mac and return to what you were doing -- with all your apps in the places where you left them.
Now, this feature might be all well and good, but what if you want your Mac to behave like it did in Snow Leopard? Resume can be easily disabled, but the option is fairly hidden.

Head to System Preferences and select the General tab. At the bottom of that page is a checkbox labeled "Restore windows when quitting and re-opening apps." If you uncheck that, your apps will continue to behave as they did in Snow Leopard.

Hat tip OS X Daily.

Article Link: How To Disable Lion's 'Resume' Feature
MacRumors is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2011, 09:03 PM   #2
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
It is incredibly hard to break the habit of closing down all applications and saving your work before logging out. Not to mention the additional time it takes for resume to write the contents to disk.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
77 Month Old MacBook
Eidorian is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2011, 09:09 PM   #3
sclawis300
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
How is that "fairly hidden"?
sclawis300 is offline   8 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2011, 09:10 PM   #4
Tronic
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

I wish you could pick and choose what apps to use this for. There are certain programs I like to start fresh with whenever I close them. Ie firefox, iTunes, Photoshop.
Tronic is offline   9 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2011, 09:13 PM   #5
Hairball
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_4 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Mobile/8K2)

Resume is a really good feature, just not while using Safari.
__________________
27" iMac, 3.0g GHz; 17" iMac, 1.83 GHz, Intel Core Duo; HP Pavilion dv6000 15" notebook; iPhone 3GS 16GB; iPad 1, 16GB WiFi; iPod Touch 2, 8gb; iPod Nano 3g Green, 8gb; iPod 5g Video White, 30gb

Last edited by Hairball; Jul 20, 2011 at 09:14 PM.
Hairball is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2011, 09:16 PM   #6
ovrlrd
macrumors 65816
 
ovrlrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
This is the best tip and I am surprised it's not mentioned in the article:

Quote:
Originally Posted by ovrlrd View Post
Hate the new resume feature and how you end up with a bunch of old windows/tabs open when you launch Safari, QuickTime, or any app that uses Lion's new resume feature?

Well a simple three button keyboard shortcut will save you all the trouble:

⌥ + ⌘ + Q
(thats Option + Command + Q)

Simply press these keys when you want to quit an app and the next time you open it, the last opened windows/tabs will not be resumed and you will start with a fresh app.
__________________
15" rMBP 2.7GHz+16GB+768GB :: iPhone 5 32GB :: iPad Mini 64GB Wi-Fi
ovrlrd is offline   14 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2011, 09:17 PM   #7
PlaceofDis
macrumors Core
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
am i the only one that likes this feature?
__________________
dim my eyes on the waves of confessions...
PlaceofDis is offline   6 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2011, 09:18 PM   #8
pjhamill
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hairball View Post
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_4 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Mobile/8K2)

Resume is a really good feature, just not while using Safari.
I hope when you say that you're referring to 'online banking'
pjhamill is offline   13 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2011, 09:25 PM   #9
lincolntran
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

I like it too
__________________
------- App Store ---------
HUE Command Center
lincolntran is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2011, 09:50 PM   #10
omnivector
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Francisco, CA
Send a message via ICQ to omnivector Send a message via AIM to omnivector Send a message via MSN to omnivector Send a message via Yahoo to omnivector Send a message via Skype™ to omnivector
You guys really shouldn't be encouraging people to disable this feature IMHO.
omnivector is offline   -25 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2011, 10:01 PM   #11
Carlanga
macrumors 601
 
Carlanga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: PR
so it's "fairly hidden" in plain sight...
__________________
☻ "A dream you dream alone is only a dream...
... A dream you dream together is reality." ☻
Carlanga is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2011, 10:09 PM   #12
GenesisST
macrumors 65816
 
GenesisST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Where I live
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjhamill View Post
I hope when you say that you're referring to 'online banking'
There's private browsing for 'online banking', so your wife doesn't your weird tastes in "bank accounts"...
GenesisST is offline   10 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2011, 10:11 PM   #13
cerote
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by GenesisST View Post
There's private browsing for 'online banking', so your wife doesn't your weird tastes in "bank accounts"...
Yea, hated when those "bank accounts" would resume in preview or quicktime.
cerote is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2011, 10:17 PM   #14
kerplunknet
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
This feature is annoying.

It's been disabled on my Macs. Thanks for the tip.
kerplunknet is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2011, 10:19 PM   #15
meerkat35
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kuala Lumpur
Had my first "unexpectedly quit" Mail app on Lion at the beginning of the day, nothing major but when I restarted my MBA the Mail app started at the point it was left off where it froze, so I have to restart again.
__________________
| 27" iMac | MBA 11" 4gb | iPhone4 |
meerkat35 is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2011, 10:24 PM   #16
ArtOfWarfare
macrumors 601
 
ArtOfWarfare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Send a message via Skype™ to ArtOfWarfare
Quote:
Hate the new resume feature and how you end up with a bunch of old windows/tabs open when you launch Safari, QuickTime, or any app that uses Lion's new resume feature?

Well a simple three button keyboard shortcut will save you all the trouble:

⌥ + ⌘ + Q
(thats Option + Command + Q)

Simply press these keys when you want to quit an app and the next time you open it, the last opened windows/tabs will not be resumed and you will start with a fresh app.
Huh... not the most elegant key combination to have to press. Fortunately, I think I'll like Resume (although I haven't installed Lion on my computer yet... I figure I'll give it a few versions to iron out the bugs before I move over to it.)
__________________
Battery Status - On the Mac App Store
The only app that'll estimate when your wireless devices will need their batteries changed.
Including the ones paired with other Macs on your network.
ArtOfWarfare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2011, 10:29 PM   #17
velocityg4
macrumors 68040
 
velocityg4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Georgia
Quote:
Originally Posted by omnivector View Post
You guys really shouldn't be encouraging people to disable this feature IMHO.
By telling people how to repair a design fault. When I quit a program I expect it to be back in it's default state when I open it again rather than having to remember to close all the windows first then quitting. Such having multiple spreadsheets open in Excel or photos in Photoshop. Which more than likely I will not want to view when I open back up the program.

I'm sure this seems great to people that set their browser to open back up all the tabs that where open when closed. However, I can count on one hand the number of clients I have that ever want to use that feature.
__________________
Quadra 650 040 33MHz 72MB RAM, 2GB HD, 2x CD
Macbook C2D 2.0Ghz; 3GB RAM, 500GB HD
Home Made i5 4.0Ghz, GeForce 560 Ti, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD RAID 0, 3TB HD RAID 0 in a G5 Case.
velocityg4 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2011, 10:44 PM   #18
BettBee
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by velocityg4 View Post
By telling people how to repair a design fault. When I quit a program I expect it to be back in it's default state when I open it again rather than having to remember to close all the windows first then quitting. Such having multiple spreadsheets open in Excel or photos in Photoshop. Which more than likely I will not want to view when I open back up the program.

I'm sure this seems great to people that set their browser to open back up all the tabs that where open when closed. However, I can count on one hand the number of clients I have that ever want to use that feature.
I think omnivector may be being deliberately annoying here. Of course users should be encouraged to know how to totally customize their experience of any graphical user interface.
BettBee is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2011, 10:44 PM   #19
robertsduney
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
This really is retarded.

It most certainly is not good when you're "online banking." Even when you're not, who wants everything they had open when they closed an application quickly with COMMAND+Q to open again when they reopen it?

It is most especially annoying with Preview. If I open a picture, look at it, quit the application, then open the application again when looking at another photo, it open the old one just behind the new one! It's an ever-growing tree!
robertsduney is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2011, 10:48 PM   #20
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Wait a second, this explains why I was encountering "ghost" images opening in Preview after I would close it and later open another file in another folder.

*facedesk*

My brother thought my Macbook was possessed or he somehow had broken it.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
77 Month Old MacBook
Eidorian is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2011, 10:51 PM   #21
lhotka
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Now we just need a way to change the default on reboot. It takes forever to reopen apps (that I probably don't want open - that's why I rebooted to begin with), and that darn checkbox on the shutdown window is defaulted in the wrong direction (should be empty).
lhotka is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2011, 11:02 PM   #22
lupinglade
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by kerplunknet View Post
This feature is annoying.

It's been disabled on my Macs. Thanks for the tip.
Totally, bugs the hell out of me, randomly opening files I no longer want to see… especially in Preview… had it off soon as I found the option.

Besides if this was a true "Resume" feature it should have dumped out the app ram/state to disk and then REALLY resume where you left off, not "try" to resume "roughly kinda somewhat" where you left off. This feature sucks!
lupinglade is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2011, 11:03 PM   #23
winston1236
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: ><
Quote:
Originally Posted by kerplunknet View Post
This feature is annoying.

It's been disabled on my Macs. Thanks for the tip.
how many times have you powered on and off in a day??
winston1236 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2011, 11:05 PM   #24
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by winston1236 View Post
how many times have you powered on and off in a day??
This "feature" can be appreciated without the need to log out of your session or cycle power. Preview appears the be the best showcase for this.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
77 Month Old MacBook
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2011, 11:19 PM   #25
Bigdaddyguido
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Wirelessly posted (Iphone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

I have had so many people yell at me as I try and help them with their computer troubles that they wished something like resume existed.

Now it exists and some of these sane people are yelling at me that it does.

People just have so much trouble not freaking out at something new.
__________________
late-2009 15" MBP 2.66GHz, black iPhone 4 32 gig
Bigdaddyguido is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to convince my parents to let me buy a 17" MacBook Pro Ulf1103 Buying Tips and Advice 58 Nov 27, 2013 11:45 AM
Tutorial: How to get PCSX2 to run on Mac (without BootCamp) Mirrors Mac Applications and Mac App Store 22 Jun 14, 2013 08:19 PM
IPHONE 4 how to JAILBREAK AND UNLOCK bs2511feist Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 6 Apr 14, 2012 05:52 PM
Does anybody know how to get TweetTask? xmelissaxmayhem Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 3 Jul 3, 2011 01:21 AM
[HOW TO] DIY iPhone 4 Swivel Car Mount QuarterSwede iPhone Accessories 13 Mar 8, 2011 02:51 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC