Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 21, 2012, 09:55 PM   #26
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
Quote:
Originally Posted by thorns View Post
1. The graphics card has no noticeable influence on 1080p playback. The 2.0 GHz G5 can play 1080p MKV rips (15MBit/sec) since VLC 2.0 (and CorePlayer, but this software isn't free and completely unsupported by now).
2. The X1900 is the best value for money card for the late 2005 G5. I have successfully flashed many cards from 7800GT to 7800GTXs and various X1900. I can confirm that the x1900xt 512MB and X1950XT 256MB can be flashed to the G5 version. I always wanted to test the x1950pro since there's an abundance of them in Europe, but didn't manage to get ahold of one by now.
3. For Airport/BT support, I used a 3$ BT dongle and a mini-pcie card with wifi antennas, popped in a standard apple broadcom card and have full airport support since then. cost me about 40$, way cheaper than buying the standoff card and the combo card.
The ATI X1900XTX is a 512MB gfx card, I thought that the one that is compatible is the 256 because there is no existing 512MB ROM?
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 11:20 PM   #27
VanneDC
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dubai, UAE
Not only that, but I thought the only 1950 that flashed was the gainward golden sample card...
__________________
Late 2011 Macbook Pro 15"
BUILDING: TB eGPU Sonnet Echo Express + GTX480
Wacom Cintiq 21UX 24" Sony PS3 3D display.
VanneDC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 12:45 AM   #28
prvt.donut
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nameci View Post
The ATI X1900XTX is a 512MB gfx card, I thought that the one that is compatible is the 256 because there is no existing 512MB ROM?
Hi Nameci,

I have seen you have written much about the PowerMac G5's what with owning one yourself.

How does yours perform with the 1080 video?

I downloaded some sample MOV files from the Apple trailers site and they all played smoothly, so that was good, but the iPhone video, pretty choppy.

Also, I tested out a Hulu video 480p and in the small window and it played nice, but when full screen, it got the slightest hint of chop, which will get annoying when actually trying to watch something.

Does this sound normal?

I am thinking that software is to blame there, so maybe I should use a different browser or something.
prvt.donut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 03:55 AM   #29
Jethryn Freyman
macrumors 68020
 
Jethryn Freyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbarley View Post
I picked up a BT USB dongle on Ebay for about nine dollars, plugged it in and bingo!
Tiny little thing works like a charm.
Same here, a tiny 2cm USB 2 BT card works perfectly. "Cambridge Silicon Radio" it gets reported as. Remember that it will work much faster if it's outside of the metal G5 case.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thorns View Post
1. The graphics card has no noticeable influence on 1080p playback.
True - I upgraded from a 128MB Radeon 9600 XT to an X800 XTX 256MB and there was NO difference.
__________________
Late 2011 Macbook Pro - 2.4GHZ - 16GB RAM - Radeon 6770M 1GB - 750GB
Jethryn Freyman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 04:23 AM   #30
prvt.donut
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Well, I got a x1900xt 512MB from a friend who juat upgraded. But need to flash it as it was from a Mac Pro. He said we can flash it on his Mac Pro! Nice!

I have a SSD drive that I was thinking of testing out in it too.

Will I be better off installing Leopard? Or sticking with Tiger?

It's kinda sad to think that even after putting in this beast of a card, Hulu at 420p won't playback really smoothly on full screen.

Do you think the 1.5GB RAM is limiting it?
prvt.donut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 05:04 AM   #31
thorns
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
I am not sure if you can actually flash a PCIe card in a Mac Pro. Do you even have the correct ROM file?

Anything based on flash is relatively slow on a G5. The last available flash version is 10.2, it won't be updated in the future.

RAM should not be the limiting factor, you can check the page outs in system monitor to see if you run out of memory.

@flashing X1900s: RAM size doesn't matter, this and clock rates/chip characteristics (pipelines/vertex units etc) are set by the BIOS/driver combination. This is why you cannot overclock the X1900GT (it has fewer pipelines and clock rates than both the X1900XT and X1950XT). The good thing about the X1900GT ROM is that it fits on any card with the correct chipset, since it is just 64KB.
__________________
Powermac G5 Late 2005, DC 2,0, 10GB DDR2, X1900, 2,5TB, 10.5.8
thorns is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 07:00 AM   #32
prvt.donut
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by thorns View Post
I am not sure if you can actually flash a PCIe card in a Mac Pro. Do you even have the correct ROM file?


@flashing X1900s: RAM size doesn't matter, this and clock rates/chip characteristics (pipelines/vertex units etc) are set by the BIOS/driver combination. This is why you cannot overclock the X1900GT (it has fewer pipelines and clock rates than both the X1900XT and X1950XT). The good thing about the X1900GT ROM is that it fits on any card with the correct chipset, since it is just 64KB.
I don't have the ROM, trying to research it and find a ROM.

I don't even know if this is would work because I have never seen a G5 flashed x1900XT with 512MB RAM although the one linked on ebay is 512 and claims to be for the G5.

You seem to suggest I can use the normal 256MB ROM. Can you confirm that?

That would make life easy if I can just use that ROM. I can't imagine why a Mac Pro GPU wouldn't be as flash-able as a PC GPU. The hardware is the same, just that the Mac Pro GPU has an EFI section to the ROM.

Can anyone please confirm the situation? the card is free, but I don't want to waste it, even though it will get binned if I don't take it.
prvt.donut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 09:15 AM   #33
VanneDC
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dubai, UAE
You cannot flash a 512mb card with a 256mb rom
__________________
Late 2011 Macbook Pro 15"
BUILDING: TB eGPU Sonnet Echo Express + GTX480
Wacom Cintiq 21UX 24" Sony PS3 3D display.
VanneDC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 09:20 AM   #34
prvt.donut
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by VanneDC View Post
You cannot flash a 512mb card with a 256mb rom
Ok, so is Thorns spouting BS then? Because I need to know if I can flash this card or not.
prvt.donut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 10:04 AM   #35
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
Quote:
Originally Posted by prvt.donut View Post
Hi Nameci,

I have seen you have written much about the PowerMac G5's what with owning one yourself.

How does yours perform with the 1080 video?

I downloaded some sample MOV files from the Apple trailers site and they all played smoothly, so that was good, but the iPhone video, pretty choppy.

Also, I tested out a Hulu video 480p and in the small window and it played nice, but when full screen, it got the slightest hint of chop, which will get annoying when actually trying to watch something.

Does this sound normal?

I am thinking that software is to blame there, so maybe I should use a different browser or something.
Playing 1080p on a G5 depends on how the movie was encoded. I would play HD movies both from outside sources, ripped and from iTunes and the G5 would play it with ease.

With hulu, I have no complaints. I am using hulu desktop, since they use flash, playing it on full screen would tax the cpu and would render it a little bit choppy.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 10:21 AM   #36
thorns
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
I currently have a flashed X1900XT 512M running in my G5 without problems. I can't think of a way to prove it, so just take my word. If you give me your email I will give you the X1900GT G5 ROM. Are you going to use Zeus to flash the X1900? I am not sure if this tool supports PPC ROMs.. Remember that you will need to get the extra power cable for the X1900 (It's actually the same as in the Mac Pro).
__________________
Powermac G5 Late 2005, DC 2,0, 10GB DDR2, X1900, 2,5TB, 10.5.8
thorns is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 11:40 AM   #37
Colpeas
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Prague, Czech Rep.
Quote:
Originally Posted by thorns View Post
I currently have a flashed X1900XT 512M running in my G5 without problems. I can't think of a way to prove it, so just take my word.
A screenshot of system profiler?
Colpeas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 01:04 PM   #38
thorns
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colpeas View Post
A screenshot of system profiler?
It actually shows as a X1900 XT with 256MB. Should be 128MB (that's a common error). I am not sure if I have 256MB or in fact 512MB in use (if so, the more, the merrier). Is there a tool which can tell how much graphics RAM is used? There's one for Windows iirc...

Edit: Okay, I checked with this tool: http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/155...vidia-get-vram and only 256MB seem to be accessible.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Bild 2.png
Views:	78
Size:	62.7 KB
ID:	379116  
__________________
Powermac G5 Late 2005, DC 2,0, 10GB DDR2, X1900, 2,5TB, 10.5.8

Last edited by thorns; Nov 22, 2012 at 01:12 PM.
thorns is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 01:37 PM   #39
seveej
macrumors 6502a
 
seveej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Quote:
Originally Posted by prvt.donut View Post
Hi PPC aficionados,

I always wanted a G5 PowerMac, neigh coveted the G5 PowerMacs.

So, now I have one (the office threw it out), and I'm not sure if I should keep it!
Yeah, that's the Dual Core 2.0, last generation of the PPC era.

Tell you what, memory and GPU are easy to upgrade later on, so if I was you, I'd get an SSD (just big enough for your system - 120 GB should do), install the OS on that, and start using the computer.

That way you can ascertain what you really need, and if your requirements outstrip the CPU, you can get 80% of your investment back when you sell the SSD.

Depending on what you may want to use the machine for, I'd guess that 2005-models of video cards will meet your needs pretty nicely (I had a 2,3 DP once upon a time and the Radeon 9600 was quite sufficient for my needs).

RGDS,
Pekka
__________________
MP 3,1 'nuff RAM, 3 HDD's, 1 SSD, AMD 5770, 10.6
2009 Mini, as server
, and a lot of other gear.
seveej is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 02:08 PM   #40
Colpeas
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Prague, Czech Rep.
Quote:
Originally Posted by thorns View Post
It actually shows as a X1900 XT with 256MB. Should be 128MB (that's a common error). I am not sure if I have 256MB or in fact 512MB in use (if so, the more, the merrier). Is there a tool which can tell how much graphics RAM is used? There's one for Windows iirc...

Edit: Okay, I checked with this tool: http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/155...vidia-get-vram and only 256MB seem to be accessible.
So there is no point in getting a 512MB X1900XT instead of 256MB X1900G5, correct? I see...
Colpeas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 02:27 PM   #41
thorns
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Well, the X1900XT 512MB is a pretty common card, so in general it is pretty cheap (like the X1950XT) at around 15-20 Euro. The original X1900GT has a loud one slot cooler, instead of a virtually silent dual slot cooler of the XT versions. So, if you don't want to spend a fortune on an original G5 X1900GT you can just get one of the XT versions and flash it, given you can get your hands on a PCI-Express PC.
__________________
Powermac G5 Late 2005, DC 2,0, 10GB DDR2, X1900, 2,5TB, 10.5.8
thorns is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 03:21 PM   #42
prvt.donut
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by thorns View Post
I currently have a flashed X1900XT 512M running in my G5 without problems. I can't think of a way to prove it, so just take my word. If you give me your email I will give you the X1900GT G5 ROM. Are you going to use Zeus to flash the X1900? I am not sure if this tool supports PPC ROMs.. Remember that you will need to get the extra power cable for the X1900 (It's actually the same as in the Mac Pro).
The card has a sticker on the bottom side of the card saying x1900xt 512mb.

Could you send me the ROM? The Mac Elite doesn't seem to have the x1900gt rom! This seems a common card to flash so I am surprised it isn't listed.
prvt.donut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 09:13 PM   #43
VanneDC
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dubai, UAE
It's not listed as the guy / partners thereoff who wrote that rom is still actively selling the gt card.

Thorns, have you confirmed you actually have the x1900xt 512mb card? And it's sporting the 256mb rom? If that's the case then that is amazing.. I can't remember if my g5 showed the gt card as an xt or gt, at any case it is 256mb. (Looking at the card now)
__________________
Late 2011 Macbook Pro 15"
BUILDING: TB eGPU Sonnet Echo Express + GTX480
Wacom Cintiq 21UX 24" Sony PS3 3D display.

Last edited by VanneDC; Nov 22, 2012 at 09:23 PM.
VanneDC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 03:27 AM   #44
thorns
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Yes, VanneDC, I had a look at the card yesterday. The sticker says X1900XT 512MB! However, it doesn't matter since there are still only 256MB accessible. The ROM works perfectly, no sleep issues (however, some quirks in connection to my Sonnet SATA controller..). I guess the Device ID isn't changed by the BIOS, so it shows as a X1900 XT (0x7244) if it was one before.
__________________
Powermac G5 Late 2005, DC 2,0, 10GB DDR2, X1900, 2,5TB, 10.5.8
thorns is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 08:03 AM   #45
prvt.donut
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Hi Guys. I have been playing with the options, thought about getting a Dremel and Hackintoshing it up, but I just can't bear to destroy the beautiful design of the G5. Even the very best G5 mods end up looking like hack jobs on some level, either internally or externally.

I even posted it up on the local Craigslist and so far the best offer I have gotten is $100!!!

So best option is to keep it and upgrade it as best I can. I have a 260GB SSD spare that I hadn't used for a different computer. So will install leopard to that, and then buy a fistful of RAM and flash the x1900 GPU and have fun with it!!!
prvt.donut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 04:22 PM   #46
Colpeas
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Prague, Czech Rep.
I have a question about flashing FX4500

I've been browsing eBay recently, and I came across this quadro FX4500 (presumably a PC version, but not completely sure, since both versions look the same). If it's a PC version, is it flashable? I wouldn't like to paperweight it, nor waste money in vain if it's not eligible to be flashed to PPC ROM.
On the other hand, if it is, it's a bargain, right?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...MakeTrack=true

Thanks for your advices.
Colpeas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 04:34 PM   #47
thorns
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
If you are based in Czech Republic, why bother with shipping & customs from the US? Bidding for the Quadro hasn't ended, so the price will probably go up a bit. At eBay.de there are actually some FX4500 available for sale. I wouldn't pay more than 30 EUR for the card itself, except you need it for professional work. A flashed X1950XT/X1900XT is the better card in terms of value for money and in relation to the value of a G5.
__________________
Powermac G5 Late 2005, DC 2,0, 10GB DDR2, X1900, 2,5TB, 10.5.8
thorns is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 06:32 PM   #48
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
Quote:
Originally Posted by thorns View Post
If you are based in Czech Republic, why bother with shipping & customs from the US? Bidding for the Quadro hasn't ended, so the price will probably go up a bit. At eBay.de there are actually some FX4500 available for sale. I wouldn't pay more than 30 EUR for the card itself, except you need it for professional work. A flashed X1950XT/X1900XT is the better card in terms of value for money and in relation to the value of a G5.
i strongly agree, if you don't do 3d or CAD work it does not make sense to have a quadro, the best bang for the buck is the X1900.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 04:07 AM   #49
AnonMac50
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by prvt.donut View Post
Hi PPC aficionados,

I always wanted a G5 PowerMac, neigh coveted the G5 PowerMacs.

So, now I have one (the office threw it out), and I'm not sure if I should keep it!

Specs wise:
Machine Name: Power Mac G5
Machine Model: PowerMac11,2
CPU Type: PowerPC G5 (1.1)
Number Of CPUs: 2
CPU Speed: 2 GHz
L2 Cache (per CPU): 1 MB
Memory: 1.5 GB
GPU Model: GeForce 6600LE
VRAM (Total): 128 MB
Monitor: Apple Cinema Display 23-Inch

I know 1.5GB ram is not much nowadays, but it has a clean install of Tiger and the OS feels nice and snappy (although web-pages seem to load pretty slowly).

Can it be of any use in this x64 chipset world we live in?

I was thinking I could drop a few HDD's in it and using it as a media Library. Although if I sell it I could get a Time Capsule with the money and server the same purpose.
Tiger has some 64-bit support, but for apps to be 64-bit, they need to be at least Leopard, I think.
__________________
[Tutorial] Three Finger Drag on Non-supported Multitouch Macs (MAJOR UPDATES!!! (8/7/2013))
Front Row for Lion
Now I know why the maps icon wants you to jump off of a bridge!
AnonMac50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 04:50 AM   #50
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterKeeks View Post
I believe this one should be flashable, but I am not at all certain.
This one is surely flashable for PPC. There are 2 versions of FX4500: one and two sided RAM chips. One sided are working with EFI ROM but not with PPC one, two sided are working with both ROMs.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Nameci View Post
i strongly agree, if you don't do 3d or CAD work it does not make sense to have a quadro, the best bang for the buck is the X1900.
I'd add video editing to this list. It's always better to have 512MB framebuffer than 256MB. My recommendation would be Quadro (or 7800GTX 512MB) for serious work (video, 3D, CAD), X1900 for other purposes as gaming and everyday tasks. Choice depends on what you're using your Mac for.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sell or keep PowerMac G5 Quad hftvhftv PowerPC Macs 21 May 28, 2014 07:23 AM
Have you ever inherited something at work and it turns into a complete disaster? glocke12 Community Discussion 11 Mar 28, 2013 08:45 PM
Converting inherited old HTML to modern standards wrldwzrd89 Web Design and Development 6 Dec 8, 2012 05:57 AM
Inherited iMac want to move my itunes over dork420 Mac Basics and Help 2 Nov 28, 2012 02:17 PM
Just inherited a 2008 iMac antisomnic iMac 49 Jul 13, 2012 06:58 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC