Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 5, 2013, 04:37 AM   #1
im-loving-it
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Someone help please - Max RAM question

noob here,

i just bought macbook pro from ebay and model number is a160 and the serial number ends with yjx

200gb hard drive, 2gb ram nvidia graphics card and 15"4 screen.

i typed my serial into this website to see what version i got look:

http://everymac.com/systems/apple/ma...ryn-specs.html

1 questions

it says the maximum ram says is 4gb but then it says 6gb, what is true?
im-loving-it is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 04:41 AM   #2
vpro
macrumors 65816
 
vpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
nope

Quote:
Originally Posted by im-loving-it View Post
noob here,

i just bought macbook pro from ebay and model number is a160 and the serial number ends with yjx

200gb hard drive, 2gb ram nvidia graphics card and 15"4 screen.

i typed my serial into this website to see what version i got look:

http://everymac.com/systems/apple/ma...ryn-specs.html

1 questions

it says the maximum ram says is 4gb but then it says 6gb, what is true?

Well I'm reading there it says max ram as 6GB. Rule of thumb, with these sorts of things - just ignore what ever the 'fruity' company dictates you can or can't do with the gadgets you bought with your own money - and go by users experience. Congrats !
__________________
15" 2.8Ghz 16GB, 1TB|17" 2.5Ghz 16GB, 520GB SSD+980GB RAID|Mac Pro 3.0GHz 32GB, 1TB
vpro is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 06:15 AM   #3
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
OP, I changed the title to the thread to increase the likelihood of getting help. Help me type thread titles do not garner the level of help because members do not go into the thread to see what its about
maflynn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 06:40 AM   #4
im-loving-it
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by maflynn View Post
OP, I changed the title to the thread to increase the likelihood of getting help. Help me type thread titles do not garner the level of help because members do not go into the thread to see what its about
ok thanks, so do you know if this will take 6ram?
im-loving-it is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 06:43 AM   #5
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by im-loving-it View Post
ok thanks, so do you know if this will take 6ram?
If EveryMac says it will take 6 GB of RAM, it will take 6 GB of RAM.
Upgrading RAM in MacBooks and MacBook Pros
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 11:22 AM   #6
im-loving-it
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
If EveryMac says it will take 6 GB of RAM, it will take 6 GB of RAM.
Upgrading RAM in MacBooks and MacBook Pros
ok but do you know where i can get the ram cuz it says i need 1 2gb one and another 4gb one but can someone help me with a link of where i can buy them cuz i dont know which fit in my laptop cuz they all look the same
im-loving-it is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 11:35 AM   #7
robo74
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Near Chicago
Send a message via AIM to robo74
macsales.com

Look up your model and they can point you in the right direction.
robo74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 11:43 AM   #8
im-loving-it
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by robo74 View Post
macsales.com

Look up your model and they can point you in the right direction.
ok im looking on there now....
im-loving-it is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 11:52 AM   #9
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by im-loving-it View Post
i just bought macbook pro from ebay and model number is a160
A160 is not a valid model number. If you mean A1260, your MBP supports 6GB of RAM.
Quote:
Originally Posted by im-loving-it View Post
it says the maximum ram says is 4gb but then it says 6gb, what is true?
You can find specs on all Apple products, including maximum RAM:
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 11:57 AM   #10
duervo
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
I upgraded my old Early-2008 MBP to 6GB RAM. So, it is possible.

I went out and bought a 4GB stick of Kingston ValueRAM and swapped it with one of the 2GB Apple SODIMMS that was in it when I bought it.

I'd post the Kingston part no. but unfortunately that system is on a desk, almost 3,000 miles away, powered off.
duervo is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Max RAM h9826790 Mac Pro 4 Apr 14, 2014 02:33 AM
Max RAM 64b? Intelligent Mac Pro 9 Jan 10, 2014 04:49 AM
new imac Max Ram datapusher iMac 3 Oct 23, 2012 06:37 PM
Max Ram MacBook 2,1 MacSquirrel MacBook 3 Jun 20, 2012 02:36 AM
How much is the max RAM? TGoltser123 MacBook 3 Jun 17, 2012 02:42 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC