Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 7, 2013, 08:21 AM   #1
leez
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: UK
Send a message via Skype™ to leez
[Update] Adobe Creative Suite CS2 Premium for free on Adobe website.

As Dov Isaacs wrote on Adobe forums (http://forums.adobe.com/message/4974662#4974662):

Quote:
On behalf of Adobe Systems Incorporated ...

You have heard wrong! Adobe is absolutely not providing free copies of CS2!

What is true is that Adobe is terminating the activation servers for CS2 and that for existing licensed users of CS2 who need to reinstall their software, copies of CS2 that don't require activation but do require valid serial numbers are available. (Special serial numbers are provided on the page for each product download.) See <http://forums.adobe.com/thread/1114930>.

You are only legally entitled to download and install with that serial number if you have a valid license to the product!

- Dov
Link to official Adobe post about problems activating CS2: http://forums.adobe.com/thread/1114930
Link to support page describing the issue and with links to CS2 software: http://helpx.adobe.com/x-productkb/p...-end-life.html

-----------------------------------

As in the title. Download here:

https://www.adobe.com/cfusion/entitl...s2%5Fdownloads

I know it's old, but what a move by Adobe !

Last edited by leez; Jan 10, 2013 at 03:20 PM.
leez is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 08:23 AM   #2
GoCubsGo
macrumors Nehalem
 
GoCubsGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
I saw that on twitter this morning and thought that it was nice and all but aren't they on CS6 now? It is a good move, but why not offer something like CS4? Either way, free is free and that is something I don't see Adobe do.
GoCubsGo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 08:32 AM   #3
leez
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: UK
Send a message via Skype™ to leez
Quote:
Originally Posted by jessica. View Post
I saw that on twitter this morning and thought that it was nice and all but aren't they on CS6 now? It is a good move, but why not offer something like CS4? Either way, free is free and that is something I don't see Adobe do.
Yes, I'm on CS6 as well and as I said, CS2 is old (not sure if it will work on Mountain Lion).

But look at it as fighting with piracy, giving an alternative, pro alternative to GIMP etc., preparing young people to use it at work in the future (so they will recommend it and learn it) and finally to let people try it before buying Creative Cloud - which I think will be the future road for Adobe - let's wait till they announce the profit on it after first year of launch. As far as I can remember they never released any of their Suites for free.

Last edited by leez; Jan 7, 2013 at 09:45 AM.
leez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 09:36 AM   #4
fig
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by jessica. View Post
I saw that on twitter this morning and thought that it was nice and all but aren't they on CS6 now? It is a good move, but why not offer something like CS4? Either way, free is free and that is something I don't see Adobe do.
CS2 isn't really that different from CS6. Most people could be using CS/CS2 and be just fine.

I've got CS3 running on Lion on my iMac at home and that works great, I'd think CS2 would work but I guess we'll see.
__________________
figdigital | @figdigital | dribbble
fig is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 09:52 AM   #5
chrfr
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by fig View Post
CS2 isn't really that different from CS6. Most people could be using CS/CS2 and be just fine.

I've got CS3 running on Lion on my iMac at home and that works great, I'd think CS2 would work but I guess we'll see.
CS2 will not work, as it's only compatible with PowerPC processors, and wasn't generally compatible with 10.6.x and can't run at all in 10.7 or later.
chrfr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 11:06 AM   #6
fig
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrfr View Post
CS2 will not work, as it's only compatible with PowerPC processors, and wasn't generally compatible with 10.6.x and can't run at all in 10.7 or later.
Good to know, thanks. Might be worth running bootcamp for to run it in an older version of Windows for some folks.
__________________
figdigital | @figdigital | dribbble
fig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 11:14 AM   #7
CrickettGrrrl
macrumors 6502a
 
CrickettGrrrl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: B'more or Less
I'm still using CS2 and it works in Snow Leopard and it's quite usable, definitely not able to run it in Lion or Mountain Lion though. --Also, the site is down. Too bad Adobe didn't offer CS3, oh well...
CrickettGrrrl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 12:01 PM   #8
snberk103
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: An Island in the Salish Sea
Smart move by Adobe. Offer something for people on old hardware to get them hooked on Adobe products, knowing that the hardware will need to be replaced sooner rather than later. And that if the user wants to continue using CS they then have to buy a new version. Good marketing move.
__________________
My friends, love is better than anger. Hope is better than fear. Optimism is better than despair. So let us be loving, hopeful and optimistic. And we'll change the world. - Jack Layton
snberk103 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 01:26 PM   #9
urban.spaceman
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: I'm a backpacker, so I could be anywhere
"You can’t open the application “Adobe Installer” because PowerPC applications are no longer supported."
Running Mountain Lion - is there anything I can do or have I just spent the last hour putting 2.64gb on my laptop for no bloody reason?
urban.spaceman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 02:19 PM   #10
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
Does this include Fireworks? I know that CS3 did but I'm finding conflicting information about whether CS2 included Fireworks or not.
Nermal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 02:45 PM   #11
hvfsl
macrumors 68000
 
hvfsl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by urban.spaceman View Post
"You can’t open the application “Adobe Installer” because PowerPC applications are no longer supported."
Running Mountain Lion - is there anything I can do or have I just spent the last hour putting 2.64gb on my laptop for no bloody reason?
You could always run 10.6 in a Virtual Machine.
__________________
MacBook (2009) 2.2Ghz 500GB Snow Leopard/XP
MacBook Pro (2012) 2.6Ghz i7 256GB SSD + 750GB HD 10.9/Windows 7
Hackintosh Pro - 2.4Ghz C2Q XP/OS X
Media Centre - 3Ghz i3 G5500 BluRay Windows 7
hvfsl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 02:50 PM   #12
Jaffa Cake
macrumors Core
 
Jaffa Cake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: The City of Culture, Englandshire
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nermal View Post
Does this include Fireworks? I know that CS3 did but I'm finding conflicting information about whether CS2 included Fireworks or not.
Nope, no Fireworks in CS2 – we have both the Standard and Premium versions at work and it isn't included with either.
__________________
How may I live without my name? I have given you my soul, leave me my name!
Jaffa Cake is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 02:54 PM   #13
VictorNT
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York City
Oops ! The site is unavailable ....
VictorNT is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 02:56 PM   #14
And1ss
macrumors 6502a
 
And1ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Looks like adobe decided that it was giving out too many free copies...
__________________
15" Early 2011 Macbook Pro | iPhone 4 32GB Black | iPad2 64 Wifi+3G
And1ss is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 04:31 PM   #15
arogge
macrumors 65816
 
arogge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Tatooine
No, You Can't Download Adobe CS2 Applications For Free

It looks like the gullible people looking for free stuff got duped, as usual!

http://www.forbes.com/sites/adrianki...ions-for-free/
arogge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 04:44 PM   #16
leez
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: UK
Send a message via Skype™ to leez
Quote:
Originally Posted by arogge View Post
It looks like the gullible people looking for free stuff got duped, as usual!

http://www.forbes.com/sites/adrianki...ions-for-free/
Thanks for the link. Will update the post title and message.
leez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 09:50 PM   #17
ratsg
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
FYI, the link is back up.
ratsg is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 09:21 AM   #18
CrickettGrrrl
macrumors 6502a
 
CrickettGrrrl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: B'more or Less
Here's a link to an Ars Technica article about Adobe releasing CS2 (and yes, it IS available with a wink & a nod to all):

http://arstechnica.com/information-t...g-by-accident/

Peter Bright examines the ambiguity...

FWIW, it does run faster on my 2011 iMac in Snow Leopard using Rosetta & 16GB RAM than it does on my G5 PPC iMac. Some things are greyed out in Illustrator but I recently used 3D in Illustrator (first time) & was blown away that it actually worked.

It's worth downloading & running if you have SL or a VM, or an older Mac.
CrickettGrrrl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 10:12 AM   #19
CrickettGrrrl
macrumors 6502a
 
CrickettGrrrl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: B'more or Less
Quote:
Originally Posted by leez View Post
Update: Adobe Creative Suite CS2 Premium for free on Adobe website. Not.
I think the "Not" should be removed from the thread title, as it is available for free to all. The Ars Technica article "Adobe Does Something Amazing by Accident" explains the twists.
CrickettGrrrl is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 02:56 AM   #20
macstatic
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by hvfsl View Post
You could always run 10.6 in a Virtual Machine.
Just exactly what do I need to get/set up and are there free virtual machines available?
I'm on a Mac Pro with OSX 10.6.8.
macstatic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 05:37 AM   #21
leez
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: UK
Send a message via Skype™ to leez
Quote:
Originally Posted by macstatic View Post
Just exactly what do I need to get/set up and are there free virtual machines available?
I'm on a Mac Pro with OSX 10.6.8.
Yes, get the Oracle VirtualBox: https://www.virtualbox.org
__________________
Digital & Graphic Designer from Bristol, using Macbook Pro 15" 2.3 2011.
leez is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 07:11 AM   #22
weckart
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Alternatively, install Wine or CrossOver and run the Windows version in an XP bottle. Might be slightly quicker than a VM.
weckart is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 10:19 AM   #23
ratsg
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
+1

I have also had great luck with VirtualBox

Quote:
Originally Posted by leez View Post
Yes, get the Oracle VirtualBox: https://www.virtualbox.org
ratsg is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 12:04 PM   #24
CrickettGrrrl
macrumors 6502a
 
CrickettGrrrl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: B'more or Less
Quote:
Originally Posted by macstatic View Post
Just exactly what do I need to get/set up and are there free virtual machines available?
I'm on a Mac Pro with OSX 10.6.8.
It should run fine for you in Snow Leopard without a virtual machine, it has for me, with Rosetta, for over a year.
CrickettGrrrl is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 04:04 AM   #25
macstatic
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Sounds good, thanks
So what's the final verdict on it being available for everybody or just those who have previously purchased CS2? There seems to be a lot of confusion and speculation on what the facts are.

Adobe hasn't even bothered posting a note about it on their download page.
macstatic is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best apps that are dupes for Adobe Creative Suite? JeremyC iPad Apps 0 Mar 21, 2014 12:58 AM
Adobe Announces New Creative Cloud Apps, Abandons Creative Suite MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 856 Mar 13, 2014 06:02 PM
Adobe Creative Suite vs Creative Cloud firedept Mac Applications and Mac App Store 8 May 31, 2013 09:03 AM
Adobe Drops Creative Suite, It's All In The Cloud cambookpro Apple, Industry and Internet Discussion 3 May 6, 2013 12:51 PM
MBP v. MBA + Adobe creative suite unregbaron Buying Tips and Advice 2 Dec 18, 2012 04:21 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC