Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 21, 2013, 08:02 PM   #1
joeholl1979
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
New iMac Getting SPOD

I've been loving my new iMac, and haven't looked back since switching from PC. However, over the last few days I've been getting the Spinning Pinwheel Of Death, seemingly at random times. It's REALLY annoying because the only way I know to resolve it is hard boot the computer.

Any help to permanently resolve this issue would be much appreciated!
__________________
27' iMac, 3.4GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 1TB Fusion HD
joeholl1979 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 08:03 PM   #2
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
When you're getting beachballs, follow every step of the following instructions precisely. Do not skip any steps.
  1. Launch Activity Monitor
  2. Change "My Processes" at the top to "All Processes"
  3. Click on the "% CPU" column heading once or twice, so the arrow points downward (highest values on top).
    (If that column isn't visible, right-click on the column headings and check it, NOT "CPU Time")
  4. Click on the System Memory tab at the bottom.
  5. Take a screen shot of the entire Activity Monitor window, then scroll down to see the rest of the list, take another screen shot
  6. Post your screenshots.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 08:03 PM   #3
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Open Activity Monitor and go to the System Memory* tab and look for Page Outs and Swap used and report back.
Using Activity Monitor to show you CPU and RAM usage
* Mac OS X: Reading system memory usage in Activity Monitor
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 08:15 PM   #4
joeholl1979
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Whenever this happens, the computer is completely frozen, so I won't be able to do that...
__________________
27' iMac, 3.4GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 1TB Fusion HD
joeholl1979 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 08:24 PM   #5
pete78
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeholl1979 View Post
I've been loving my new iMac, and haven't looked back since switching from PC. However, over the last few days I've been getting the Spinning Pinwheel Of Death, seemingly at random times. It's REALLY annoying because the only way I know to resolve it is hard boot the computer.

Any help to permanently resolve this issue would be much appreciated!
I would run disk utility to make sure your hard drive is okay. I had a similar symptom, and turned out to be a bad HD. Good luck.
pete78 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 08:24 PM   #6
TennisandMusic
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
This is actually one of the reasons I switched back from Mac to PC. OS X is simply incredibly slow, buggy, and just not performant.

Go look at the articles posted at macperformanceguide.com to get an idea. My Windows install blazes...

Good luck with your computer (no sarcasm).
TennisandMusic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 08:25 PM   #7
joeholl1979
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by pete78 View Post
I would run disk utility to make sure your hard drive is okay. I had a similar symptom, and turned out to be a bad HD. Good luck.
Ugh, that would suck...
__________________
27' iMac, 3.4GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 1TB Fusion HD
joeholl1979 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 08:36 PM   #8
Mike in Kansas
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Metro Kansas City
Quote:
Originally Posted by TennisandMusic View Post
This is actually one of the reasons I switched back from Mac to PC. OS X is simply incredibly slow, buggy, and just not performant.

Go look at the articles posted at macperformanceguide.com to get an idea. My Windows install blazes...

Good luck with your computer (no sarcasm).
That's a riot!
__________________
13" 2012 MBA/i7/8GB/256GB
24" 2008 iMac/2.8GHz/6GB/240GB SSD & 2TB FW800 HDD "Fused"
2GB TC; ATV 3; 32GB iPad 4; iPhone 5
Left Nikon for Fuji X-E1, Fujinon 18-55mm OIS, 55-200mm OIS, 27mm f/2.8
Mike in Kansas is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 08:41 PM   #9
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeholl1979 View Post
Whenever this happens, the computer is completely frozen, so I won't be able to do that...
Then do the System Memory part afterwards.
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 08:45 PM   #10
J. Rab
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by TennisandMusic View Post
This is actually one of the reasons I switched back from Mac to PC. OS X is simply incredibly slow, buggy, and just not performant.

Go look at the articles posted at macperformanceguide.com to get an idea. My Windows install blazes...

Good luck with your computer (no sarcasm).
My experience has been the complete opposite. I went without a reformat on my MBP for about three years -- and it started slowing down -- with windows I can't go more than a year without it bogging down. To each their own I spose.
J. Rab is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 10:16 PM   #11
joeholl1979
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
It just did it again. I hard booted then took these screen shots.
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-02-21 at 11.11.38 PM.png
Views:	132
Size:	325.6 KB
ID:	398670
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-02-21 at 11.13.46 PM.png
Views:	85
Size:	333.9 KB
ID:	398671
joeholl1979 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 10:33 PM   #12
ssls6
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeholl1979 View Post
It just did it again. I hard booted then took ]
1) open system pref's and put your hard drive in spotlight exclusions. This will wipe away your .DS_Store files.

2) Reboot and go into recovery. Repair your HD and then repair permissions

3) Reboot again and remove your hard drive from spotlight exclusions.

Now wait while your drive is reindexed. You can work on it but don't mess with spotlight until it is finished. This should help if mds is really going wild.
ssls6 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2013, 01:33 AM   #13
joeholl1979
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssls6 View Post
1) open system pref's and put your hard drive in spotlight exclusions. This will wipe away your .DS_Store files.

2) Reboot and go into recovery. Repair your HD and then repair permissions

3) Reboot again and remove your hard drive from spotlight exclusions.

Now wait while your drive is reindexed. You can work on it but don't mess with spotlight until it is finished. This should help if mds is really going wild.
This didn't quite work, but it did make me realize that Spotlight was probably causing the issue. I reset the PRAM and now Spotlight is re-indexing my hard drive. So far, no Spinning Pinwheel.
Hopefully this will resolve the problem!
__________________
27' iMac, 3.4GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 1TB Fusion HD
joeholl1979 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2013, 01:57 AM   #14
Giuly
macrumors 68040
 
Giuly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: That depends whether you ask for timezone, state of mind or GPS coordinates.
mds = hard drive indexing for Spotlight. Look at the top right of the screen, there should be a dot in the loupe. Click it and it'll tell you when it's done. A full indexing only takes place when you attach a new volume.

Ah, you've figured that out already.

Last edited by Giuly; Feb 22, 2013 at 02:08 AM.
Giuly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2013, 02:20 AM   #15
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssls6 View Post
This will wipe away your .DS_Store files.
.DS_Store files are not part of the problem and deleting them only means the system will recreate them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeholl1979 View Post
This didn't quite work, but it did make me realize that Spotlight was probably causing the issue. I reset the PRAM and now Spotlight is re-indexing my hard drive.
PRAM/NVRAM has nothing to do indexing issues. Resetting it will not help.
About NVRAM and PRAM
If a drive is constantly active or your CPU utilization is high (possibly with increased temps and fan speed) when you're not running any major apps, you can check to see if Spotlight is indexing by looking at the Menu Bar icon:
(not indexing)
(indexing) (pulsing dot)
When it's indexing, you may also see increased CPU and RAM usage by the mds and mdworker processes in Activity Monitor.

To re-index your drive:
Spotlight: How to re-index folders or volumes
If that fails to index, enter the following command in Terminal:
sudo mdutil -i on "/Volumes/your drive name"
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2013, 05:35 AM   #16
ssls6
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
.DS_Store files are not part of the problem and deleting them only means the system will recreate them.

PRAM/NVRAM has nothing to do indexing issues. Resetting it will not help.
About NVRAM and PRAM
If a drive is constantly active or your CPU utilization is high (possibly with increased temps and fan speed) when you're not running any major apps, you can check to see if Spotlight is indexing by looking at the Menu Bar icon:
Image (not indexing)
Image (indexing) (pulsing dot)
When it's indexing, you may also see increased CPU and RAM usage by the mds and mdworker processes in Activity Monitor.

To re-index your drive:
Spotlight: How to re-index folders or volumes
If that fails to index, enter the following command in Terminal:
sudo mdutil -i on "/Volumes/your drive name"
How I told him to reindex his drives works perfectly well.
ssls6 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2013, 07:23 AM   #17
highlightshadow
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Hmmm ... thinking this might be my issue ... seems like the dotted icon for spotlight is constantly popping up despite no real change day to day ...

Might do the procedure myself now
highlightshadow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2013, 10:33 AM   #18
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssls6 View Post
How I told him to reindex his drives works perfectly well.
I didn't say the part of the post which refers to reindexing doesn't work. In fact, that procedure is in the link I posted. I only addressed the fact that the .DS_Store files are not part of the problem.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2013, 11:28 AM   #19
joeholl1979
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
It happened again this morning, so I ended up re-installing OSX in recovery. I did the re-indexing procedure last night and it didn't seem to help.
joeholl1979 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2013, 11:29 AM   #20
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeholl1979 View Post
It happened again this morning, so I ended up re-installing OSX in recovery. I'll see if that helps, then I'll try re-indexing.
Just be aware that the initial indexing process could take several hours, so let it finish. After it's done, maintaining the index will be done in the background and you likely won't even notice it.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2013, 12:01 PM   #21
joeholl1979
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
I went ahead and did the re-indexing procedure after the OSX recovery, just for good measure. I'm leaving it run while I go run errands.
__________________
27' iMac, 3.4GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 1TB Fusion HD
joeholl1979 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2013, 04:24 PM   #22
joeholl1979
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeholl1979 View Post
It happened again this morning, so I ended up re-installing OSX in recovery. I did the re-indexing procedure last night and it didn't seem to help.
So far, so good. I've been running games and surfing around for a few hours now and no SPOD!
I'm glad it seems as though this is fixed now. I was really starting to worry...
joeholl1979 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2013, 10:59 PM   #23
joeholl1979
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
After I reinstalled OSX, it ran good for a while, then after I loaded back up my programs, it started SPOD'ing worse than before. I broke down and called Apple Support, since it's still within the first 90 days of my purchase. They helped me clean out the start-up programs, which solved the issue.

Upon starting them up one by one, I found out that CrashPlan's software was causing the issue!

It's a shame, because the software has worked well for backing up my iMac until I can cough up the dough for a Time Capsule.

I'm going to contact CrashPlan about it and see what they say.
joeholl1979 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 12:19 AM   #24
RebornTheGame
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Qld, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeholl1979 View Post
I'm going to contact CrashPlan about it and see what they say.
Let us know what they say. I was thinking of using CrashPlan to supplement my local TC backup, so it would be good to hear what they say.
__________________
64 GB iPad (3rd gen) | Macbook Pro (Mid 2012) 2.7GHz, 16GB RAM, 768GB Flash Storage | 32GB iPhone 5 | I have ordered my first iMac
RebornTheGame is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 01:05 AM   #25
Since OS-6
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: South Australia ( it's a State )
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeholl1979 View Post
After I reinstalled OSX, it ran good for a while, then after I loaded back up my programs, it started SPOD'ing worse than before. I broke down and called Apple Support, since it's still within the first 90 days of my purchase. They helped me clean out the start-up programs, which solved the issue.

Upon starting them up one by one, I found out that CrashPlan's software was causing the issue!

It's a shame, because the software has worked well for backing up my iMac until I can cough up the dough for a Time Capsule.

I'm going to contact CrashPlan about it and see what they say.
So refreshing to see some one

A) fight a problem, to the death

B) and win !!
__________________
MacMini (1,1), 20" Display, MacBook (5,1) iPhone 3GS & 4S, ATV ( 1st & 3rd Gen ), iPod Nano (1st & 5th Gen), Apple Hi-Fi, iPad 2nd & 4th gen Wi-Fi, AirPort Extreme (4th Gen)
Since OS-6 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac SMC Firmware Update 1.1 - Fan Noise - Late 2013 27 iMac alksion iMac 139 Jan 17, 2014 09:51 AM
Help, Erased iMac HDD volume drive trying reset my iMac to factory conditions trueq iMac 12 Dec 23, 2013 09:27 AM
Is possible to install Ati HD 6670m (iMac 2011 21,5) in iMac 27 late 2009?? Gianca90 iMac 4 Nov 5, 2013 04:08 PM
Late 2009 27" iMac Graphics Card DYING AGAIN. Which new iMac to replace it? DracoDWS iMac 0 Sep 29, 2013 08:50 PM
MBP 2008 SPOD when connected to internet djoz187 MacBook Pro 2 Dec 18, 2012 01:24 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC