Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 11, 2012, 04:43 PM   #1
212rikanmofo
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Running mountain lion on power Mac g5 possible?

I heard that it's possible with a hack to be able to install mountain lion on a power Mac G5? Is this possible?
212rikanmofo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2012, 04:45 PM   #2
innominato5090
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Washington, DC
no, mountain lion is only x64 compatible.
__________________
soldaini.net
innominato5090 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2012, 05:01 PM   #3
NeoMayhem
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by 212rikanmofo View Post
I heard that it's possible with a hack to be able to install mountain lion on a power Mac G5? Is this possible?
Never going to happen, sorry. People have had success getting it running on older Intel machines that are not supported though.
NeoMayhem is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2012, 07:59 PM   #4
Mal
macrumors 603
 
Mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Orlando
Nope, even Snow Leopard won't run with all the hacks in the world on a G5, because it doesn't contain the PPC code necessary.

jW
__________________
The Bearded Nerd
13" MacBook Pro; 64GB iPod touch
"It's a real burn, being right so often."
NoiseTrade.com/Walker
Mal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2012, 09:21 PM   #5
NeoMayhem
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
I changed my mind, it IS possible:

http://build-its.blogspot.com/2011/0...c-g5-case.html

If you use the right hardware, you can turn it into a hackintosh that is still 'apple labeled', allowing you to install OS X.
NeoMayhem is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2012, 09:24 PM   #6
Major.Robto
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2012
(facepalm)

ppcg5 was droped at 10.6 your two versons to late.
Major.Robto is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2012, 08:28 AM   #7
Mal
macrumors 603
 
Mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Orlando
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeoMayhem View Post
I changed my mind, it IS possible:

http://build-its.blogspot.com/2011/0...c-g5-case.html

If you use the right hardware, you can turn it into a hackintosh that is still 'apple labeled', allowing you to install OS X.
That's still not a G5, no matter what you put in the case. The PowerPC G5 processors will not, under any circumstances, run 10.8.

jW
__________________
The Bearded Nerd
13" MacBook Pro; 64GB iPod touch
"It's a real burn, being right so often."
NoiseTrade.com/Walker
Mal is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2012, 08:41 AM   #8
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Quote:
Originally Posted by 212rikanmofo View Post
I heard that it's possible with a hack to be able to install mountain lion on a power Mac G5? Is this possible?
No, because its not a an artificial barrier, apple has not included the PPC code in OSX since 10.5.

If you have a G5, your only option is to upgrade to a new computer if you want to use Mountain Lion
__________________
~Mike Flynn
maflynn is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC