Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Obi Wan Kenobi

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Mar 9, 2011
London, UK
Does anyone know why Apple don't make a wireless keyboard with a numeric keypad?

I've been using Macs for 3 years now, and I still find the lack of a numeric keypad annoying (but not so annoying I'll put up with a cable).

tommy060289

macrumors regular
Jun 20, 2011
I think it's simply a case of Steve's House - Steve's Rules!

I expect its down to a thought that those who want looks most will prefer the looks of the smaller keyboard too where as those that want a numeric keypad will be heavier users, so:

a. Likely to go through more batteries if it was wireless
b. It allows them to fit most bills with just two products (wireless and wired options) with out bloating their product line

Although I agree it is annoying. I have the wireless keyboard now but want a full size keyboard which is being delivered soon but im not sure if ill use it as ive got used to the good looks of the wireless unit:) If they made the full size wireless id be happy.

P.S I also just remembered the wired keyboard is also a USB hub, which it obviously couldnt do if it was wireless

Obi Wan Kenobi

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Mar 9, 2011
London, UK
I agree it does seem to be "Steve's House, Steve's Rules", as you say. But I see no logic in their approach. If they offer a wired keyboard with numeric keypad, why not a wireless one?

:confused:

applefan289

macrumors 68000
Aug 20, 2010
USA
I agree it does seem to be "Steve's House, Steve's Rules", as you say. But I see no logic in their approach. If they offer a wired keyboard with numeric keypad, why not a wireless one?

:confused:

Everything at Apple is planned.

I'm sure they have their reasons.

GGJstudios

macrumors Westmere
May 16, 2008
Wireless numeric keypad
Full size Apple Wireless Keyboard with numberpad?
Wireless Mac keyboard with numeric keypad