Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 6, 2012, 11:46 AM   #1
MacRumors
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Evidence of Quad-Core Chips Shows Up in iOS 5.1 Betas




9to5Mac reports that evidence of support for quad-core processors has shown up in beta versions of iOS 5.1, lending support to claims that Apple's forthcoming A6 chips will see a doubling in the number of processing cores.
Quote:
The references to quad-core iPhone and iPad chips come by way of a hidden panel that describes cores that are supported by iOS device hardware. The updated core management software includes an option of "/cores/core.3," and this represents a fourth available processing core...
The report notes that single-core processors such as the A4 found in the iPhone 4 and original iPad fall under a "cores/core.0" designation, while dual-core processors such as the A5 in the iPhone 4S and iPad 2 are covered by a "/cores/core.1" designation. The "/cores/core.3" reference thus suggests compatibility with a quad-core chip.




Apple's A6 system-on-a-chip has been rumored several times to carry a quad-core processor, and has been presumed to be set for inclusion in the company's next-generation iPad and iPhone models. There have, however, been some questions about whether the production timeline for the A6 would support its inclusion in the iPad 3, which is rumored for a release around March of this year.

Article Link: Evidence of Quad-Core Chips Shows Up in iOS 5.1 Betas
MacRumors is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 11:49 AM   #2
Dowjohnny
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Nice I'd love to see that coming!
__________________
Mid 2011 Macbook Air 13" 128GB; Ipod shuffle black; Apple TV 3. Gen.;
Dowjohnny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 11:51 AM   #3
MacBookPro13"
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ireland
Send a message via MSN to MacBookPro13" Send a message via Skype™ to MacBookPro13"
Quad-core chip on the next-gen iPhone would be blindingly fast
MacBookPro13" is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 11:55 AM   #4
Eauboy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Washington, DC
Wouldn't there also have to be a cores.2 reference?
__________________
15" UMBP (2009)
iPad 3
iPhone 5s
Eauboy is offline   -4 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 11:57 AM   #5
MacBookPro13"
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ireland
Send a message via MSN to MacBookPro13" Send a message via Skype™ to MacBookPro13"
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eauboy View Post
Wouldn't there also have to be a cores.2 reference?
No, core.3 stands for Quad-Core. There is no such thing as "core.2"
MacBookPro13" is offline   10 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 11:57 AM   #6
GunZi
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Release beta 3 already :/ or GM.. lol
GunZi is offline   -3 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 11:58 AM   #7
Snowcat001
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Brilliant! My MacBook Pro has... 2 cores... Better by a phone I guess
Snowcat001 is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 11:58 AM   #8
kalex
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Wait what? I thought apple didn't care about specs? Who needs quad core processors? Funny
kalex is offline   -25 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 12:00 PM   #9
GSPice
macrumors 68000
 
GSPice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eauboy View Post
Wouldn't there also have to be a cores.2 reference?
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacBookPro13" View Post
No, core.3 stands for Quad-Core. There is no such thing as "core.2"
based on the convention they've chosen, "core.2" would imply, um, tri-core.
__________________
15" Haswell rMBP 2.3/16/512/750m | 24" iMac 3.06/500/4/8800 | Mac OS X 10.9.2
AEBS MC340LL/A | APC RS 800VA/XS 1000 | iPhone 5 16GB 7.1 | iPad 16GB LTE 7.1 | Apple TV 2
GSPice is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 12:01 PM   #10
ardy8888
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eauboy View Post
Wouldn't there also have to be a cores.2 reference?
cores.0 = single core
cores.1 = dual core
cores.3 = quad core

common sense would tell you cores.2 should be q tri core. as far as i know, there are no tri core processors out there.
ardy8888 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 12:01 PM   #11
I8P'CS
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Nice, Glad i never got 4s, this will be sufficient for me for a long time if true (on an iPhone that is) Besides spec means nothing if the software is crap plus bloated some (Android,Blackberry), Apple is Good at software so will be a great device iPad & iPhone. Bring it on
I8P'CS is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 12:01 PM   #12
mjschranz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Now this is an interesting rumor. Would be awesome to see if in the iPad 3 as I plan on making that one my first.

Would have more cores than my macbook!
mjschranz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 12:04 PM   #13
ECUpirate44
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NC
Honestly, it seems like more wasted heat and energy to me. What is the iPhone 4S limited to right now because of the dual core? If their going to put a quad core in it, there better be a killer feature that requires it.
ECUpirate44 is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 12:04 PM   #14
george-brooks
macrumors 6502a
 
george-brooks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Makes sense! That would be sweet! Anyone think this will make it into the iPad 3 or are we waiting for iPhone 5 or iPad 4 with this one?
__________________
Mac Pro 6,1: 6 Core 3.5 GHz|32GB|D700|1TB
MacBook Pro 11,3: 2.8 GHz|16GB|1TB
iPhone 5s, iPad 4, iPad Mini Retina, 12" Powerbook G4
george-brooks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 12:04 PM   #15
tctony
macrumors 6502a
 
tctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Possibly something Apple threw in there to throw people off again?
__________________
iPhone 4S (6.0), iPad 3 (6.0)
MBP17 (OSX 10.8.1) 2.8 GHz C2D, 64 GB SSD/500 GB HDD, 8 GB RAM
Apple TV 3, iPod Classic 120 GB

"no hot no sweat screen no heavy" - iphonetoday
tctony is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 12:06 PM   #16
Yvan256
macrumors 601
 
Yvan256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canada
The A4 and A5 processors have their GPU in the same die as the CPU.

An iPad with a retina displays means four times as much pixels to draw, meaning it requires a GPU upgrade, hence a CPU upgrade too, it would make no sense to only upgrade the GPU.

Based on that, I'd be very surprised to see an iPad 3 without a quad-core CPU.
Yvan256 is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 12:06 PM   #17
MacBookPro13"
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ireland
Send a message via MSN to MacBookPro13" Send a message via Skype™ to MacBookPro13"
The next 13" Macbook's should have a quad-core processor then if the iDevices can make use of them
MacBookPro13" is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 12:07 PM   #18
Taz Mangus
macrumors 65816
 
Taz Mangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eauboy View Post
Wouldn't there also have to be a cores.2 reference?
I could be wrong about this but I think CORES 0 and 1 represent dual core processor, CORES 0, 1, 2, 3 represent quad core processor. This is why cores.0 is a single-core, cores.1 is a dual-core and cores.3 is a quad-core processor. cores.2 would be a tri-core processor which does not exist.
__________________
'11 27" iMac Quad Core 3.4GHz, 16GB, 1TB HD, 256GB SSD; '09 17" MacBook Pro, 2.8GHz, 8GB, 500GB HD; '09 MacMini, 2.0GHz, 4GB, 320GB HD; '13 32GB iPhone 5; '13 64GB LTE iPad Air; '13 32GB iPod Touch 5
Taz Mangus is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 12:07 PM   #19
GSPice
macrumors 68000
 
GSPice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ECUpirate44 View Post
Honestly, it seems like more wasted heat and energy to me. What is the iPhone 4S limited to right now because of the dual core? If their going to put a quad core in it, there better be a killer feature that requires it.
If engineers asked that throughout history....


anyway, a quad core could easily allow similar processing power at a lower clock speed. Which could easily be "cooler" core for core.
__________________
15" Haswell rMBP 2.3/16/512/750m | 24" iMac 3.06/500/4/8800 | Mac OS X 10.9.2
AEBS MC340LL/A | APC RS 800VA/XS 1000 | iPhone 5 16GB 7.1 | iPad 16GB LTE 7.1 | Apple TV 2
GSPice is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 12:08 PM   #20
nunes013
macrumors 65816
 
nunes013's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Connecticut
makes sense. if the next iPad does have a high resolution display it will need a powerful GPU and also a powerful CPU to run some new applications that will be designed for it. Apple will probably under clock it a bit from the A5 though. maybe 800 MHz for the iPad and 600-700 MHz for the iPhone if they include it in the iPhone.
__________________
15" 2012 Retina MacBook Pro, 2.3 Ghz Intel Core i7, 8 GB Ram, 256 GB SSD; iPhone 6+
nunes013 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 12:09 PM   #21
FaustsHausUK
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eauboy View Post
Wouldn't there also have to be a cores.2 reference?
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacBookPro13" View Post
No, core.3 stands for Quad-Core. There is no such thing as "core.2"
That's actually not a bad question. Marvell released a triple core ARM processor: http://gizmodo.com/5646025/marvells-...-on-one-charge
__________________
2011 3.4GHz Core i7 iMac with 16GB RAM | iPhone 5S 32GB | iPad Air 2 LTE 64GB | iPad Air 32GB
Follow me on Twitter
FaustsHausUK is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 12:09 PM   #22
MultiMediaWill
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Illinois
Quad core to power the Retina iPad 3? Anyone?
__________________
MacBook Pro 15" 2011 , 2.2 GHz Quad i7, 750GB SDD, 8GB RAM
iPhone 6 Plus 64gb
MultiMediaWill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 12:09 PM   #23
cvaldes
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: somewhere else
Quote:
Originally Posted by kalex View Post
Wait what? I thought apple didn't care about specs? Who needs quad core processors? Funny
Sorry, but caring and publicizing are two different concepts.

Apple does not publicize many specs for its iOS devices. And they are right: Joe Consumer really doesn't care how MFLOPs the CPU can handle or how many polygons the graphics unit can paint in a second.

Remember that Apple is a software-driven company whose software and services run best on their proprietary, high-margin hardware.

The key with handheld devices is optimizing the software to run efficiently on the hardware. This is where Apple's tight control is advantageous. Android handset manufacturers do not have that control and often their devices which exceed Apple's on a spec sheet, don't perform as well in real world usage. In fact, they may need to beef up the hardware to get similar results.

The biggest concerns in throwing in more hardware performance is battery life and bulk. There are some very important design considerations that need to be made, particularly in the design of handheld devices.

Joe Consumer cares about how quickly the camera starts up and whether or not his favorite game stutters. Stuff like that. Joe Consumer does not care that smartphone X has a Tegra running at 1.2GHz whereas the iPhone 4S is probably underclocked to 800 or 900MHz.

Last edited by cvaldes; Jan 6, 2012 at 12:25 PM.
cvaldes is offline   12 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 12:10 PM   #24
diamond.g
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by ardy8888 View Post
cores.0 = single core
cores.1 = dual core
cores.3 = quad core

common sense would tell you cores.2 should be q tri core. as far as i know, there are no tri core processors out there.
There are tri core x64 CPUs. Technically the 360 is a tri core CPU.
diamond.g is offline   7 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 12:12 PM   #25
Lone Deranger
macrumors 65816
 
Lone Deranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Assembler code? Are parts of iOS written in that? I always thought it was 100% Objective-C.
__________________
Lone Deranger is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad: iOS 7 beta 3 slow on iPad 3rd generation... parallels in iOS 6/5 betas? BadBadPhillyBro iOS 7 1 Jul 10, 2013 09:38 AM
Mid 2007 iMac CPU upgrade: Core 2 Duo to Core 2 Extreme or Core 2 Quad Hexley iMac 2 Dec 9, 2012 10:56 AM
Apple Reportedly Tapping TSMC for 20-nm Quad-Core Chips with Late 2013 Production MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 118 Oct 16, 2012 08:09 PM
Evidence of Apple Maps for OS X Shows Up in iOS 6 Beta MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 57 Jul 10, 2012 04:48 PM
2.3GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7 VS 2.6GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7 birthmark MacBook Pro 8 Jun 22, 2012 04:18 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC