Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

View Poll Results: do you have a PASSCODE on you iPhone?
Yes, and it's a 4 digit one. 135 55.10%
Yes, and it's a complicated one (numbers + letters) 18 7.35%
Nope, I prefer to take a risk 70 28.57%
(I like ponies) 22 8.98%
Voters: 245. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 12, 2012, 05:13 PM   #1
EarthNeutron
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Earth
 
see vendor information in user profile
Talking do you have a PASSCODE?

If yes, then is it a 4 digit one or one with letters and numbers well?


(mine only has 4 digits)
EarthNeutron is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 05:16 PM   #2
j.dstasio
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South Jersey
I have to have a passcode for my work email. I use 4 digits because It's the fewest I can use.

If/ when an A6 jailbreak is available I'll be using Exchange Unlock again. It can't come soon enough! I hate having to use a passcode.
__________________
 A good mix of both black and white gadgets.
j.dstasio is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 05:17 PM   #3
EarthNeutron
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Earth
 
see vendor information in user profile
Quote:
Originally Posted by j.dstasio View Post
I have to have a passcode for my work email. I use 4 digits because It's the fewest I can use.

If/ when an A6 jailbreak is available I'll be using Exchange Unlock again. It can't come soon enough! I hate having to use a passcode.
Hmm.. I actually have no idea what Exchange Unlock is. Could you explain it to me? Maybe I'll make a YouTube video so more people (including me) can find out what it is and how much better than the original passcode it really is.

Cheers!
EarthNeutron is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 05:18 PM   #4
macjram
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
I do; I have it come on if I don't use my phone within 30 minutes.
__________________
2010 Macbook Pro, iPhone 4S
macjram is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 05:22 PM   #5
seeharrison
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
I use a 4 digit passcode that locks after 15 minutes. Since my e-mail client (Good Client) requires a complex password, I feel comfortable with with a 4 digit device code.
seeharrison is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 05:25 PM   #6
s15119
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
For me to know and you to find out.

Seriously I wouldn't talk about security measures on this board.

Too many little kids.


T
s15119 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 05:27 PM   #7
dukebound85
macrumors P6
 
dukebound85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 5045 feet above seal level
Quote:
Originally Posted by s15119 View Post
For me to know and you to find out.

Seriously I wouldn't talk about security measures on this board.

Too many little kids.


T
hey my pass code is 6781. What are you going to be able to do with it?
dukebound85 is offline   18 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 05:29 PM   #8
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
I do, mostly because its enforced by my company.
maflynn is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 05:29 PM   #9
EarthNeutron
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Earth
 
see vendor information in user profile
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by dukebound85 View Post
hey my pass code is 6781. What are you going to be able to do with it?

I'm going to find you, steal or iPhone and unlock it! MUAHAHAHAH (and then give it back to you since I already have an iPhone)


EarthNeutron is offline   6 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 05:33 PM   #10
anonjd
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
I use a four digit password when I'm at home.

When I go out, I use an alphanumeric password. I generally don't constantly use my phone when I go out, so I don't mind the extra time it takes to type it in.

These passwords also get changed once a week, because I'm neurotic like that.
anonjd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 05:39 PM   #11
tymaster50
macrumors 68030
 
tymaster50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New Jersey
i don't use a password, nobody uses my phone and if someone steals it oh well, don't have anything of value on here since I am only a teenager. Just get Verizon to block the ESN and AT&T to block the IMEI and bam a useless phone.
tymaster50 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 07:00 PM   #12
ejrizo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles
I have a password but its none of the above options. if you set up a so called complex pass code with just numbers you will get a keypad as opposed to keyboard. From there you can have any amount of digits from 5 to who knows how many digit pin number and you have to press OK to enter it.

look at the pic attached
Attached Images
 
__________________
Designed by Apple in California
ejrizo is offline   7 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 07:10 PM   #13
Jordan921
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bay Area
I don't bother with a passcode.
__________________
Unlocked Space Gray iPhone 5S 32gb AT&T, 13.3" MacBook Air 1.86GHZ 4GB Ram 128GB SSD
Jordan921 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 07:12 PM   #14
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
Where's the option for "no, but not taking a risk"?

I simply never leave my phone unattended.

Last edited by Nermal; Nov 12, 2012 at 07:14 PM. Reason: ponies
Nermal is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 07:22 PM   #15
bmat
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: East Coast, USA
Yeah. My company requires a seven digit one.

But it I'd worth it to have my work stuff integrated in one device.
bmat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 07:22 PM   #16
eastercat
macrumors 68040
 
eastercat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PDX
I didn't vote, because I have a 5 digit numerical passcode and a five minute auto lock.
You might want to think about adding an option for those with longer numbered passcodes.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ejrizo View Post
I have a password but its none of the above options. if you set up a so called complex pass code with just numbers you will get a keypad as opposed to keyboard. From there you can have any amount of digits from 5 to who knows how many digit pin number and you have to press OK to enter it.
__________________
64 GB space grey iPhone 5S (AT&T); 16 GB space grey iPad retina mini (Verizon with T-Mobile sim); 2008 MBP 17" 2.5 GHz Penryn, 4GB RAM, 250GB HD 5400 rpm, 1920x1200 matte LED
eastercat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 07:38 PM   #17
- rob -
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Portland, OR
I use a 4 digit with a 5 minute lock.
__________________
I use Gliph on iPhone to send secure picture messages.
- rob - is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 07:44 PM   #18
andyx3x
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
4 digit with a 15 minute lock.
andyx3x is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 07:56 PM   #19
mpaquette
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Columbia, SC
Quote:
Originally Posted by ejrizo View Post
I have a password but its none of the above options. if you set up a so called complex pass code with just numbers you will get a keypad as opposed to keyboard. From there you can have any amount of digits from 5 to who knows how many digit pin number and you have to press OK to enter it.

look at the pic attached
This is how I have mine set as well.
mpaquette is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 08:03 PM   #20
JonMPLS
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: MN
no, but I keep all my passwords in SplashID.
__________________
Macbook Pro, iPhone 2,4,5,5s, iPods, iPad 1,3, rMini
JonMPLS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 08:11 PM   #21
ucfgrad93
macrumors G5
 
ucfgrad93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Colorado
I don't use a passcode on my iPhone.
ucfgrad93 is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 08:14 PM   #22
alphaod
macrumors Core
 
alphaod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 上海 (Shanghai)
It's my phone number.
__________________
Mac Pro | iMac | Mac mini | MacBook Pro | MacBook Air | iPad | iPhone | iPod
alphaod is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 08:22 PM   #23
j.dstasio
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South Jersey
Quote:
Originally Posted by EarthNeutron View Post
Hmm.. I actually have no idea what Exchange Unlock is. Could you explain it to me? Maybe I'll make a YouTube video so more people (including me) can find out what it is and how much better than the original passcode it really is.

Cheers!
It would probably be a boring video. Lol.

Using the Exchange Unlock tweak, you have to enter your passcode once after an initial boot, but not every time you unlock it. Our work exchange policy requires a passcode, which is annoying IMO, so it's just a work around.
__________________
 A good mix of both black and white gadgets.
j.dstasio is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 08:24 PM   #24
sviato
macrumors 68000
 
sviato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: HR 9038 A
My password is password
sviato is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 08:42 PM   #25
orange42
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
I have a 4 digit one that goes on after 15 minutes.
orange42 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC