Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

adam044

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jan 24, 2012
Boston
Looking to get a new printer because my old one is old and inefficient. I only get about 200 pages before I have to buy $50-$60 worth of ink the cost of a new printer almost. So heres what I'm looking for:

under $100
able to print many pages without having to buy ink
AirPrint would be nice but not needed

Im not going to be printing picture or anything like that mostly text documents and projects as I'm a college student. Thanks

SmurfBoxMasta

macrumors 65816
Nov 24, 2005
I'm only really here at night.
Alhtough I am not a big fan of HP's inkjets, I have learned over the years that they are the bomb for Laserjets....having used them in business since the 90's, where the demands on them far exceed that of most home users, they are the way to go IMHO for strictly B&W text printing....

If you wanna save some $$, look for a used/refurb LJ1200/1250/1300....

designs216

macrumors 65816
Oct 26, 2009
Down the rabbit hole
I would recommend looking at the ratings at ConsumerReports. They not only rate the printers by performance, they'll tell you which ones give the cheapest per print cost. I ended up buying the HP OJP 8600, which wasn't the cheapest but has a very low per print cost.

Interestingly enough, from a pure dollars standpoint, it's cheaper to buy a new ink jet printer rather than simultaneously replace all the cartridges...

adamjb22

macrumors newbie
Feb 18, 2013
I would recommend looking at the ratings at ConsumerReports. They not only rate the printers by performance, they'll tell you which ones give the cheapest per print cost. I ended up buying the HP OJP 8600, which wasn't the cheapest but has a very low per print cost.

Interestingly enough, from a pure dollars standpoint, it's cheaper to buy a new ink jet printer rather than simultaneously replace all the cartridges...