Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X Mavericks (10.9)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 25, 2013, 05:20 AM   #1
beyond
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Exclamation Mavericks corrupts external hard drives!

There's one thread over at Western digitals forum, and one thread at apple discussions. Beware, mavericks kills some external hard drives. Lots of people using WD mybook studio ll have had their drives reset and lost all data.

https://discussions.apple.com/message/23499357#23499357
http://community.wd.com/t5/External-...II/td-p/602387
beyond is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2013, 05:24 AM   #2
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
I have a WD portable drive and so far its been rock solid, no issues with Mavericks. The same goes with my Drobo mini.

It looks like if you install the software from WD, that's where things can get tricky.

There's a thread here about Pegasus TB drives incurring similar issues when Mavericks was in beta, so its definitely something to keep an eye on.
__________________
~Mike Flynn
maflynn is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2013, 05:26 AM   #3
beyond
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
So far I think people having this major problem have their units working in raid mode.
beyond is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2013, 05:37 AM   #4
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Quote:
Originally Posted by beyond View Post
So far I think people having this major problem have their units working in raid mode.
That seems to fit with the Pegasus issue during the beta period.

As I mentioned I'm running my Drobo Mini (using their proprietary RAID implementation) with Mavericks and so far no issues.
__________________
~Mike Flynn
maflynn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2013, 07:01 AM   #5
iOrbit
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
does anyone have more information on this?

i use several external drives, they are all independent, no RAID configurations but i am still very worried by this thread. i have alot of data that is vulnerable since i dont own enough drives to back up what i have.

ironically i have been runing mavericks on an external drive itsself, i haven't had an issue, but i have so much of my itunes meda etc on my drives.
__________________
MacBook Pro - late 2011, 16GB Ram, 256GB SSD. iPad - 2nd Gen, White 16gb. iPhone 4s - Black 8gb. iPod Touch - 4th Gen, 8GB, White. TV - 3rd Gen.
iOrbit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2013, 07:08 AM   #6
beyond
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by iOrbit View Post
does anyone have more information on this?

i use several external drives, they are all independent, no RAID configurations but i am still very worried by this thread. i have alot of data that is vulnerable since i dont own enough drives to back up what i have.

ironically i have been runing mavericks on an external drive itsself, i haven't had an issue, but i have so much of my itunes meda etc on my drives.

All I can say it's consistent behaviour on my mac mini (2012). I can't rely on my WD drive at all. I do believe the problems are a mavericks/WD software combo. Hopefully it will be sorted fast. In all my Mac years I have never came across anything as vicious as this when it comes to OS updates.
beyond is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2013, 08:22 AM   #7
devman
macrumors 65816
 
devman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: AU
I have an external WD 1TB drive that was a time machine backup device. It was corrupted yesterday by Mavericks and the drive is now lost. Neither Drive Genius or Diskwarrior or Disk Utility could recover it. FWIW.
devman is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2013, 08:55 AM   #8
jhfenton
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I've been running Mavericks with multiple external USB and Firewire 800 drives for months, without any issues. None of them are WD or involve any proprietary drivers (other than Paragon NTFS 10). Specifically, I have a 1TB Seagate drive in a USB 3.0 dock that holds my music, photos, and development projects; a 4TB Seagate Backup Plus USB 3.0 drive that is devoted to Time Machine; and two 4TB G-Tech Firewire 800 drives formatted to NTFS that hold the upstairs copy of our video library. I have a second USB 3.0 dock that is used to swap various bare drives in and out (rotated clone backups and a Windows 8 boot volume).

I've had no data integrity issues. (But I assume drives are going to fail, so everything is still backed up, generally more than once.)
jhfenton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2013, 09:57 AM   #9
flopticalcube
macrumors G4
 
flopticalcube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the velcro closure of America's Hat
Running 2 Buffalo DriveStation's (1TB each) on FW800 (Late 09 mini) with no issues. Used as both storage and TM backup.

EDIT: The drives in the DriveStations are Seagate... so it appears your issues are largely confined to WD drives. I have had nearly a dozen failed MyBooks in the past so I shun them now.
__________________
Read the Rules / Search the Forums / Use a Descriptive Title
Mac Won't Boot?

Last edited by flopticalcube; Oct 25, 2013 at 10:18 AM.
flopticalcube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2013, 10:15 AM   #10
beyond
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
So it would seem it's an issue mostly with wd drives.
beyond is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2013, 12:43 AM   #11
TrashCanBin
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
I haven't lost any data, but my 3 TB USB 3 WD drive is doing something all the time. It's like it's reading/writting something, but no app registers that. Also when i boot in ML it's operates differently even under load. Something is really wrong with the driver or something.
TrashCanBin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2013, 01:04 AM   #12
PinkWaters
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
yesterday my external time machine backup suddenly gave me the error message: drive is read only, i couldn't repartition it nor repairing it, so only thing that worked is that I erase the partition, and now its working again.
seems there is something wrong with mavericks.
PinkWaters is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2013, 01:41 AM   #13
fikonhjul
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sweden
 
Unhappy Oh, yes it's bad

Yesterday, my time machine drive -- a Western Digital MyBook Studio II 6 TB, RAID 0, connected via Apple's Thunderbolt to FireWire 800 adapter -- came up empty and with a different name. It looked just like when i bought it.

It was the second time I connected it since moving to Mavericks. The first time everything seemed OK. I have several other WDC drives and I don't dare using them now.
__________________
Random outputs: http://aux.tutman.se

Last edited by fikonhjul; Oct 26, 2013 at 03:13 AM. Reason: Corrected RAID status
fikonhjul is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2013, 01:46 AM   #14
apomarinov
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Wow, I came on here to search for an answer to my problem, but didnt expect to find something like this So I've got my internal mac mini seagate drive as an external usb one, partitioned to Mac OS Extended (Journaled) and ExFAT and whats happening is that Mavericks wont stop indexing the Mac OS Extended (Journaled) partition.


Edit: As I see now, it seems it indexes every time I log in.

Last edited by apomarinov; Oct 26, 2013 at 01:54 AM.
apomarinov is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2013, 01:58 AM   #15
jtfolden
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Springfield, Ohio
Send a message via AIM to jtfolden
Quote:
Originally Posted by beyond View Post
So it would seem it's an issue mostly with wd drives.
Is it the drives or is it the WD software? After reading most of the other discussions on this issue, I'm thinking it's the software. One user in particular, running the WD Manager said that a NON WD external drive was formatted but labeled as a MyBook afterwards. I don't think OS X would do that.
__________________
Mac mini Core i7 2.7Ghz/500GB HD, 4gb RAM, OS X 10.9
jtfolden is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2013, 03:05 AM   #16
ern
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
I stuck in the same situation. My WD Mybook Studio II was bought just 6 months ago. Now it's labeled MyBook and emptied. Is there any suggestion? There's all my CD ripped in it. I really don't want to work a month again.
ern is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2013, 03:25 AM   #17
Droidrage729
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
I just updated and mavericks is playing. Nicely with my 3tb seagate external. Back. Ups are going as scheduled no issues just smooth sailing which is why I'm on a Mac to begin with.
Droidrage729 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2013, 04:27 AM   #18
fb0r
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Sweden
FWIW I've got no less than three WD drives rotating as Time Machine backups. Two of them are WD MyPassport USB 3 externals (2GB and 1GB respectively) for on-the-go backups and the third is a WD MyBook Live connected to my router as a simple NAS (with the built-in Time Machine server enabled.) The MyBook Live is being accessed as a simple, no-frills shared storage both from my PC and several Macs running OS X Mavericks. All three drives work without issues with OS X Mavericks but then I'm not using any bundled WD software at all apart from (of course) the WD firmware on the MyBook Live.

Considering that almost all the reports in the linked threads mention WD MyBook Studios and there is the odd mention of the WD Drive Manager as well I highly suspect (but could be wrong) that the issues have something to do with software incompatibilities between Mavericks and a) bundled WD software or b) the WD firmware for the MyBook Studios.

Personally I've always made sure to avoid installing any manufacturer bundled hard drive software, both on OS X and Windows. Especially if it's WD software...
fb0r is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2013, 06:17 AM   #19
beyond
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
The wd drive manager is needed to config the unit....raid 1 and so on...

Last edited by beyond; Oct 26, 2013 at 11:02 AM.
beyond is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2013, 10:21 AM   #20
amoergosum
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
This is just unbelievable.
Has this happened to Western Digital Elements external hard drives, too?
I'm scared now to connect my hard drives after the update.

So this is why Mavericks is free.
amoergosum is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2013, 10:23 AM   #21
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
The problem is WD's bundled software hasn't been updated. Personally I never used it as it seemed like a kludge.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2013, 10:28 AM   #22
NewbieCanada
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by beyond View Post
So it would seem it's an issue mostly with wd drives.
I have some WD drives - but when I buy a drive, regardless of maker, I wipe it and reformat it as HFS. Not interested in any of the "helpful" software they've installed.
__________________
nMP 6-core, D500, 32 GB, 1 TB rMBP 13" '13 2.4 gHz, 256 GB, 8GB Mini '11 i7, 256 GB SSD & 750 GB HDD, 16GB iPhone 5 64GB iPad Air 128
NewbieCanada is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2013, 10:39 AM   #23
PinkWaters
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
My external HDD, is a seagate one, but I replaced its internal hdd with a WD Green one, it doesnt have any software or whatsoever, and same issue happened to me
PinkWaters is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2013, 11:01 AM   #24
beyond
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewbieCanada View Post
I have some WD drives - but when I buy a drive, regardless of maker, I wipe it and reformat it as HFS. Not interested in any of the "helpful" software they've installed.
Like I said, you need the "wd drive manager" to config the mybook studio ll units… once you set the drive to the raid mode you want - you can uninstall the drive manager.

Last edited by beyond; Oct 26, 2013 at 11:07 AM.
beyond is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2013, 11:03 AM   #25
bobright
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by devman View Post
I have an external WD 1TB drive that was a time machine backup device. It was corrupted yesterday by Mavericks and the drive is now lost. Neither Drive Genius or Diskwarrior or Disk Utility could recover it. FWIW.
Oh wow seriously was it a WD Elements by any chance? I have a WD Elements 1.5TB that I do CCC clones with that I'm now scared to use.
bobright is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X Mavericks (10.9)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TB External Hard Drives? thomamon Mac Peripherals 7 Apr 12, 2013 10:00 PM
naming external drives, hard drives, thum drives for best compatability Sossity Mac Peripherals 1 Apr 5, 2013 03:11 AM
External Hard Drives courtnej Apple TV and Home Theater 2 Mar 18, 2013 09:37 AM
Best way to keep external hard drives? kylera Mac Peripherals 14 Mar 1, 2013 08:23 PM
Bare 3.5 hard drives, & enclosures vs buying all in one external hard drive Sossity Buying Tips and Advice 16 Feb 12, 2013 11:10 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC