Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 3, 2014, 10:44 AM   #1
Investor27
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Smile Will the next iPad Air 2 finally have 2 GB of memory?

I sincerely hope so, but I'm not too convinced that Apple will add more memory next. They always have been very stingy with memory upgrades.

Last edited by Investor27; Apr 3, 2014 at 01:35 PM.
Investor27 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2014, 10:47 AM   #2
iPhysicist
macrumors 6502a
 
iPhysicist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Dresden
it already starts at 16GB...
iPhysicist is offline   6 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2014, 01:19 PM   #3
rhinosrcool
macrumors 65816
 
rhinosrcool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by iPhysicist View Post
it already starts at 16GB...
Cute. RAM

Hopefully, but who knows.
rhinosrcool is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2014, 01:33 PM   #4
deluxeshredder
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Very, very likely.
deluxeshredder is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2014, 01:40 PM   #5
Investor27
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
I thought that it was very, very likely as well when the Air and iPad mini Retina came out last year. But nope! Just 1 GB only. If the next Air will have 2 GB instead, and even with no other improvements, I would buy that in an instant. I'm praying to the iPad God to make that happen.
Investor27 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2014, 01:41 PM   #6
PDFierro
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
If the iPhone 6 does.
PDFierro is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2014, 02:42 PM   #7
darngooddesign
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Yes. In the future, the next version of the iPad will have 2GB RAM.
__________________
64 giggity... giggity... gigg-i-ty
Lego Apple Store
darngooddesign is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2014, 03:39 PM   #8
ABC5S
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
No one on this forum knows. Only Apple Forum members last year thought it would be offered, but, no and the year before that it was rumored it might, but again, no....
ABC5S is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2014, 04:26 PM   #9
Rodster
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ABC5S View Post
No one on this forum knows. Only Apple Forum members last year thought it would be offered, but, no and the year before that it was rumored it might, but again, no....
I think it could have happened last year but iOS 7 using memory compression just like OS X Mavericks so Apple was able to keep the 1 GB of ram in place. With the 64 bit OS it's possible the next iPad's could get a spec bump but no one really knows.
Rodster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2014, 04:35 PM   #10
Wiesenlooser
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Depends on whether iOS 8 demands more Ram for new functions and Apple thinks a RAM bump would be necessary.
Wiesenlooser is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2014, 05:14 PM   #11
Tsepz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
I hope so, RAM is quite literally the ONLY thing that ruins the experience for me, if my iPad 4 had 2GB RAM I'd be truly satisfied. Here's to hoping the iPad Air 2 does indeed come with 2GB RAM.
__________________
Samsung GALAXY S4 32GB Octa Black Mist
Apple iPad 4 WIFI + LTE 16GB White
The world can't hold me, too much ambition.
Tsepz is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2014, 10:42 AM   #12
Donka
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Scotland
I think it is definitely time. With IOS7, more examples of low memory conditions have been reported and that also seems one of the biggest complaints with IOS users. With the switch to 64bit processing, the next logical step seems to be to increase the RAM.
Donka is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2014, 11:36 AM   #13
Investor27
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Donka View Post
I think it is definitely time. With IOS7, more examples of low memory conditions have been reported and that also seems one of the biggest complaints with IOS users. With the switch to 64bit processing, the next logical step seems to be to increase the RAM.
Agreed! I'm not used to my iPad crashing so much since moving over to Apple from PC. I know if there's a way for Apple to make 1 GB work with the 64bit processing, they will. But 2 GB would make the user experience so much better. Apple just need to do the right thing now. By this October, it will have been more than 2 years since the iPad 4 came out, and we cannot go with just 1 GB any longer.
Investor27 is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2014, 04:35 AM   #14
HarryWarden
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I wish Apple and Amazon would follow each other's lead in that Kindle Fire HDX has top-flight specs (including 2 GB RAM) but is crippled by horrid software whereas the iPad has good to great software but underwhelming specs.
HarryWarden is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2014, 05:09 AM   #15
confucious
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Woking, UK
iOS is far more memory efficient than Android.
No doubt, at some point in the future, an increase will be necessary but I don't think that time has come yet. Maybe it will with iOS8 but who, apart from Apple, knows.
__________________
He who asks a question looks foolish for 5 minutes. He who doesn't ask a question remains foolish forever.
confucious is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2014, 05:50 AM   #16
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
One would hope given that so many people complain about it and/or the fact the CPUs are now 64 bit.
__________________
~Mike Flynn
maflynn is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2014, 07:07 AM   #17
s2mikey
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Upstate, NY
What's going to happen if it does have 2GB of RAM and certain websites still crash safari or reload tabs? It could be the biggest human meltdown ever. Then, we can read thread after thread about how the Air should have 5 GB of RAM.

Grab yer favorite popcorn and blanket..... This is gonna be good....
__________________
iPad Air 32GB / AT&T
13 Retina MacBook Pro with i5, 8GB, 256 SSD
iPod Nano 7th gen, space grey
s2mikey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2014, 07:55 AM   #18
Plutonius
macrumors 601
 
Plutonius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Hampshire
If a device has an A8 in it, it will have 2GB RAM. If it has an A7, it will have 1GB.

Quote:
Originally Posted by s2mikey View Post
What's going to happen if it does have 2GB of RAM and certain websites still crash safari or reload tabs? It could be the biggest human meltdown ever. Then, we can read thread after thread about how the Air should have 5 GB of RAM.

Grab yer favorite popcorn and blanket..... This is gonna be good....
That's exactly what's going to happen.
Plutonius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2014, 08:47 AM   #19
HenryDJP
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plutonius View Post
If a device has an A8 in it, it will have 2GB RAM. If it has an A7, it will have 1GB.



That's exactly what's going to happen.
Is there any documentation that shows this? How do you know?
HenryDJP is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2014, 10:30 AM   #20
Plutonius
macrumors 601
 
Plutonius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Hampshire
Quote:
Originally Posted by HenryDJP View Post
Is there any documentation that shows this? How do you know?
You will not find any official documentation that shows anything for any upcoming Apple products.

As dcpmark stated, you can believe me or not as far as A8 devices having 2GB and A7 devices having 1GB. Nothing is official from anyone until the product is released. Assume "IMHO" for anything you read (or hear) anywhere about Apple products.

As far as my other comment in response to "what will happen if people still have issues with certain websites after having more RAM", it is purely speculation. Although, based on years of reading the forums here, I think it's guaranteed to happen if people still experience problems with websites .
Plutonius is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2014, 10:59 AM   #21
Investor27
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plutonius View Post
If a device has an A8 in it, it will have 2GB RAM. If it has an A7, it will have 1GB.



That's exactly what's going to happen.
Quote:
Originally Posted by HenryDJP View Post
Is there any documentation that shows this? How do you know?
No one knows. It's all speculative. But since we are moving to a 64bit architechture, AND if rumors are true about us getting an A8 chip next across the board the iPhone and iPads, then there is a very good to excellent change of us getting 2 GB of RAM.
Investor27 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2014, 11:12 AM   #22
NT1440
macrumors G3
 
NT1440's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hartford, CT
It will probably be 2 GB of DDR4 RAM which will bring savings to battery life as well as giving the OS more overhead to scream performance.
NT1440 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2014, 01:03 PM   #23
Rodster
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by NT1440 View Post
It will probably be 2 GB of DDR4 RAM which will bring savings to battery life as well as giving the OS more overhead to scream performance.
Quite possible http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1722672
Rodster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2014, 05:37 PM   #24
theromz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
IMO I think it will, iOS 7 has brought in more multi tasking and background refresh, not a lot of apps use it yet but the adoption is claiming steadily. 64bit app also use up to 30% more ram, and the performance of the A8 would be more then enough to handle several things at once and the ram might actual start to be a real bottle neck, if it has to keep refresh its ram.
__________________
Late 2013 13" rMBP, 2.4ghz/8gb/256gb
theromz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2014, 05:43 PM   #25
ShootingStarPho
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
2GB RAM? Why not MORE?!?

When it comes to RAM, I think that with recent optimisations of such technology, it would be best to add competitive edge and give the 'iPad Air 2'
4GB or even 6GB / 8GB of RAM!

Sound like too much? Consider this: iOS has not yet had a fully functional multi window interface. In order to successfully make such an experience what I will call 'Apple smooth', as opposed to the not quite premiere quality OS feeling from Android devices, although they are not 'bad', just slightly less polished overall, it would be quite clever of Apple to step up the RAM in an unexpected way, much like the 64 bit A7 proved to surprise. I would gladly welcome the increased RAM, as my iPad Air has been a tad slow compared to how snappy I expect it should be at this stage in iPad life cycles.
ShootingStarPho is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad: iPad Air - Low Memory Crashes - Fix Cell-666 iPad 66 Mar 4, 2014 12:06 AM
iPad: finally got my ipad air.. for a sweet deal Atrin1 iPad 6 Dec 30, 2013 10:57 AM
iPad: I finally get my ideal iPad Air case. Cabbire iPad Accessories 1 Dec 29, 2013 05:27 AM
All iPads: Finally got my iPad Air... Screen was defective Alundra iPad 27 Dec 6, 2013 07:36 PM
iPad: iPad Air: Low Memory and Safari reloads tabs NeoiPad iPad 24 Nov 3, 2013 01:55 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC