Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 31, 2007, 01:10 AM   #1
ero87
macrumors 65816
 
ero87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York City
change Time Machine's backup frequency?

Hi,

When Time Machine begins to back stuff up, my computer slows and i feel my external hard drive working. How can i make it only do backups once a day, or something like that?

Thanks
ero87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2007, 05:12 PM   #2
flopticalcube
macrumors G4
 
flopticalcube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the velcro closure of America's Hat
There is. There is a file that holds the magic 3600 number. its a plist somewhere. I will have dig around.

Here it is: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthre...=376770&page=2
__________________
Read the Rules / Search the Forums / Use a Descriptive Title
Mac Won't Boot?
flopticalcube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2007, 05:14 PM   #3
thebassoonist
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Davis, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by ero87 View Post
::bump:: there's gotta be a way to do this...
Yeah, I'd actually like to have it back up my computer every 30 minutes. I know that sounds insane, but I have an MBP and the external drive is not usually plugged in (since I'm at school) and if I don't like having to wait 59 minutes for the next update some nights. I hope it can be done!
__________________
TheBassoonist
iPod Video 60 GB - White, iPod Shuffle 3G - Turquoise, 3G iPhone4 16 GB, MBP SR 2.4GHz, 2 GB Ram, 15" Matte
thebassoonist is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2007, 05:14 PM   #4
xUKHCx
Administrator emeritus
 
xUKHCx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The Kop
Quote:
Originally Posted by flopticalcube View Post
There is. There is a file that holds the magic 3600 number. its a plist somewhere. I will have dig around.
details here

Quote:
If you think Time Machine backs up too often (or not often enough) for your liking, navigate into /System Library LaunchDaemons. There you'll find a file named com.apple.backupd-auto.plist. Open it in your favorite text editor, and look for this section:
<key>StartInterval</key>
<integer>3600</integer>
Change the 3600 number to some other time interval in seconds, and you'll have changed Time Machine's backup interval.
edit: nice link
xUKHCx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2007, 05:15 PM   #5
smythey
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Scotland
Here you go.

Edit: Darn!! Gotta be quick in this game!
smythey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2007, 05:18 PM   #6
gr8tfly
macrumors 603
 
gr8tfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: ~119W 34N
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebassoonist View Post
Yeah, I'd actually like to have it back up my computer every 30 minutes. I know that sounds insane, but I have an MBP and the external drive is not usually plugged in (since I'm at school) and if I don't like having to wait 59 minutes for the next update some nights. I hope it can be done!
You can start an incremental at any time by clicking on the Time Machine Dock icon and selecting "Backup Up Now".
__________________
Macs from 1984 to 15" Retina MBP 768GB SSD 16GB RAM, from Newton to iPhone 5 S⃣ , iPods, and tv (3). 128GB Wifi iPad Air
gr8tfly is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2007, 01:41 AM   #7
thebassoonist
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Davis, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by gr8tfly View Post
You can start an incremental at any time by clicking on the Time Machine Dock icon and selecting "Backup Up Now".
Hey, cool. Thanks for pointing that out!
__________________
TheBassoonist
iPod Video 60 GB - White, iPod Shuffle 3G - Turquoise, 3G iPhone4 16 GB, MBP SR 2.4GHz, 2 GB Ram, 15" Matte
thebassoonist is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2007, 07:29 AM   #8
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
hmph i do not have the com.apple.backup**** file...

where is it/ why dont i have it???
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2007, 07:32 AM   #9
xUKHCx
Administrator emeritus
 
xUKHCx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The Kop
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoFoT9 View Post
hmph i do not have the com.apple.backup**** file...

where is it/ why dont i have it???
/System/Library/LaunchDaemons

I haven't verfied it myself though. Perhaps it only gets created once you setup tme machne(?)
xUKHCx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2007, 07:34 AM   #10
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
Quote:
Originally Posted by xUKHCx View Post
/System/Library/LaunchDaemons

I haven't verfied it myself though. Perhaps it only gets created once you setup tme machne(?)
i have looked in there numerous times, searched in spotlight and done a +F to search for it to. its not on mine. i have time machine turned "ON".
wierd.... i was so looking foreward to changing to backup times
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2009, 12:07 PM   #11
flick
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
DoFoT9, spotlight nowadays won't find system files, and finder won't either unless you tell it to. Do apple-f, click "kind" --> "system files" then click "don't include" --> "include."
flick is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2009, 02:27 PM   #12
keeper
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
http://timesoftware.free.fr/timemachineeditor/
keeper is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2009, 05:56 PM   #13
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
Quote:
Originally Posted by flick View Post
DoFoT9, spotlight nowadays won't find system files, and finder won't either unless you tell it to. Do apple-f, click "kind" --> "system files" then click "don't include" --> "include."
lol that was a good 2 years ago!!!!! i now only do manual backups. thanks for the input but
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2009, 05:59 PM   #14
powerbook911
macrumors 68030
 
powerbook911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
You will probably still find the external drive starts up for other things though, delaying your system, for example, spotlight indexing, etc.
__________________
*12in Powerbook G4 1.5ghz, *20in iMac 2.4 Core 2 Duo, *Mac Mini (Early 09), *Mini Server ('11), *11in Air (Late 10) *20in Cinema Display,
*AppleTV, *iPhone 64GB; *Airpot Extreme (2011) *iPod 160GB
powerbook911 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2009, 06:02 PM   #15
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
Quote:
Originally Posted by powerbook911 View Post
You will probably still find the external drive starts up for other things though, delaying your system, for example, spotlight indexing, etc.
my backup device is TC, i dont notice anything. anyway - i think TM does an index only when you tell it to backup (when on manual anyway)
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2011, 04:09 PM   #16
thecodeman
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Western MA
Nice work xUKHCx

Thanks, xUKHCx, that was simple and direct. Now just need to multiply...

Has anyone used the free software editor? I hesitate because it requires turning off the TM software itself...and I don't really want to risk corrupting the backups on the disk.
thecodeman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2011, 12:16 AM   #17
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
Quote:
Originally Posted by thecodeman View Post
Thanks, xUKHCx, that was simple and direct. Now just need to multiply...

Has anyone used the free software editor? I hesitate because it requires turning off the TM software itself...and I don't really want to risk corrupting the backups on the disk.
by turning off, do you mean flicking it "OFF" through system preferences? if so, just do it. i do this daily. it will not corrupt your backups.
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2011, 09:52 PM   #18
tj2001
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Florida - USA
Send a message via AIM to tj2001
TimeMachineEditor

After seeing Keeper's link I was curious because it dumbfounds me as to why Apple left out any sort of Advanced options for Time Machine.

Needless to say TImeMachineEditor is great for controlling timed back-ups! Simple, easy, and effective; great little application to use!

I even tested it by setting up a schedule and watching the Time Machine preference pane and it activated on beat with my schedule and I then used Time Machine to restore some files to check the integrity, all was smooth!

I'd rather not have to use any other software for back-ups, but patching and using small utilities to fill in the voids is quite odd. What back-up software is most popular and works?
__________________
FreakyTJ.com || MacDynamiX.com
: iMac 21.5" 3.2GHz Intel i3 : OS X 10.6.8 Snow Leopard : 12GB DDR3 Ram : iPhone 4 iOS 5 : Synology DS211+ :
tj2001 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2011, 02:18 AM   #19
SpaceMagic
macrumors 68000
 
SpaceMagic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cardiff, Wales
Thanks guys. This tip was much needed. Reduced the backup HD noise and slow down to once every 3 hours using the plist trick above.
SpaceMagic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2011, 12:46 PM   #20
Emil-Denmark
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpaceMagic View Post
Thanks guys. This tip was much needed. Reduced the backup HD noise and slow down to once every 3 hours using the plist trick above.
When I tries to change the interval, it says that I don't have permission to that. Can anyone please help me out? This Time Capsule is killing me with a few things.

Emil
Emil-Denmark is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2011, 01:52 PM   #21
dakwar
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Thanks keeper and tj2001. TimeMachineEditor seems to be working really well on my MacBook running 10.7.2 so far (2 days).

EDIT (Update on day 8): Seems like I spoke too soon. TimeMachineEditor is working really well in that it is preventing Time Machine from running every hour. I have TimeMachineEditor set to run Time Machine once every 24 hours and that indeed is what it does. However, Lion's Time Machine is further capable of backing up the system on the local drive (given there is enough space on it) when the Time Machine drive (in my case an external WD drive) is not available/plugged in; it then transfers these local backups to the external drive the next time that drive becomes available. Before installing TimeMachineEditor, Time Machine indeed did this every hour so that at any point I could enter Time Machine and browse the backup history, even when my external drive housing the backups wasn't plugged in - Time Machine would show me only what was backed up locally on my system. Since installing TimeMachineEditor, backups seem to no longer be made (on the local drive) unless the external drive is plugged in.

Anyone found a way to change the Time Machine backup interval in Lion that does not prevent local backups from being made when the Time Machine drive is not available?

Last edited by dakwar; Oct 22, 2011 at 03:57 PM.
dakwar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2011, 07:40 AM   #22
fletchni
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Nope, sorry!

No,

There is no way that I know of using Time Machine editor (or any other external tool) with local snapshots. Time Machine needs to be turned on in order to create the local timeshots, and it does this as one job.

It actually creates local snapshots (as disk space allows) while doing the hourly backup. If you're not connected to a network or your back up disk, then it will just run a snapshot locally. But Time Machine must be turned on.

Another reason that I have stopped using TimeMachine Editor is that it does not have an option to respect battery power. Time Machine does, and so it will not backup automatically if I am not connect to mains power.

Have you tried the option with the Plist file? (But once again, even if it works you will only get local snapshots at the new interval you set). I did try once with Snow Leopard over a year ago with the Plist option, but never got it to work.

I would be very happy with 3 hourly backups!!!

Long and short, I don't think there is a solution, and this is an example of Apple Culture in not providing more comprehensive options (which in the bigger picture is actually good, but frustrating when using a slower machine over a wireless network every hour).

Sorry, I can't really help!
fletchni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2011, 08:14 PM   #23
dakwar
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Thanks for the reply!

When I was running 10.6 I had used the plist method and it was working well. I've since had to do a clean install of 10.7 and didn't want to mess around with the plist file, in the hopes that I could fine a less intrusive option. Well, I'll give the plist method a try.

Just changed StartInterval in /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.backupd-auto.plist from 3600 to 172800. Will report back at some point as to how the system is behaving.

EDIT (Update 5 days later): Was experiencing serious issues with Word 2011 (14.1.3), EndNote X4 (4.0.2), Lion (10.7.2) and my 1.5-year-old after market hard drive (Load Cycle Count reporting at just over 502,000) - .docx files kept turning corrupt, drive verification kept reporting errors (that i didn't write down and can't remember now), iTunes songs kept skipping half way through, amongst others. The issues I imagine were unrelated to Time Machine. Went back to a clean install of 10.6.8, with 14.1.0, 4.0.2 onto a new Seagate Momentus XT 500GB (ST95005620AS) updated to firmware SD28. Things seems to be okay for now (3 days). Will stick with this for a few months as I finish writing my thesis and until I defend.

Last edited by dakwar; Nov 1, 2011 at 11:50 AM. Reason: Update.
dakwar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2012, 09:31 AM   #24
Minicube
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
I can't believe Apple leaves out such basic functionality in Time Machine. Hide the option to control backups if you must have a dumbed-down interface, but at least leave the option somewhere for the rest of us.
Minicube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 29, 2012, 05:29 AM   #25
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minicube View Post
I can't believe Apple leaves out such basic functionality in Time Machine. Hide the option to control backups if you must have a dumbed-down interface, but at least leave the option somewhere for the rest of us.
well, apple does aim for simplicity. something that just works - backs up every hour is far far more reliable than giving end users a choice

__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to change the time/frequency I'm prompted to log back in festus15 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Mar 6, 2014 03:27 PM
Time Machine doesn't recognize backup history so incremental backup not working dmi OS X 0 Sep 10, 2013 06:56 AM
Time Machine: The identity of the backup disk has changed since the previous backup Dorv OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 9 Feb 22, 2013 11:45 PM
Can you change the frequency of Time Machine backups? dvdchance Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 16 Sep 6, 2012 12:09 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC