Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 17, 2008, 10:57 AM   #1
jmacatac2002
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2008
HELP! IPOD is connected, on desktop, but won't show up on Itunes

I've looked all over for some help, and found nothing!

My Ipod says connected, and the ipod image is on the desktop, its connected to the desktop. . . but when I go to Itunes there is nothing there.

- I've updated to 7.7
- Restarted my computer a BILLION times
- Ejected and Rejected the Ipod
- Went to Disk Utilities, its there
and yet nothing in itunes that relates to my ipod

The Ipod was working last night, I properly ejected it, and when I woke up this morning plugged it into my COMPUTER, and it connected, on the desktop but nothing in ITUNES.

I've received no messages saying somethings wrong or nothing. . . I really need help!

I don't want to reset my Ipod or lose my songs because of something as crazy as this. . . I have 4,500 songs, it would take forever. . .
jmacatac2002 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2008, 11:03 AM   #2
wrldwzrd89
macrumors G4
 
wrldwzrd89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Solon, OH
Quit and relaunch iTunes. This has solved iPod/iTunes connectivity issues for me.
__________________
iMac Intel (Rev H, 27"), 1TB HDD, 16GB RAM, 10.8.4
wrldwzrd89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2008, 11:10 AM   #3
jmacatac2002
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Yeah I've done that too a billion times too

But now, my entire Ipod won't play any music. . . I ejected it, put in my headphones, pressed play and my songs just won't play
jmacatac2002 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2008, 11:11 AM   #4
jmacatac2002
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2008
This has never happened. . . I was playing it an hour ago, now it won't work, this is completely new????

What's wrong, how can this happen, is it even possible???
jmacatac2002 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2008, 11:14 AM   #5
wrldwzrd89
macrumors G4
 
wrldwzrd89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Solon, OH
What kind of iPod do you have? I'd try restarting your iPod - instructions to do that are here (choose your iPod model first).
__________________
iMac Intel (Rev H, 27"), 1TB HDD, 16GB RAM, 10.8.4
wrldwzrd89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2008, 11:16 AM   #6
jmacatac2002
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2008
A Classic, I forgot how many gigs, but I know its a lot I paid like $300 for it. So whichever one comes with the most gigs. I brought it in the SPRING
jmacatac2002 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2008, 11:18 AM   #7
jmacatac2002
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2008
How to reset again?
jmacatac2002 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2008, 11:20 AM   #8
wrldwzrd89
macrumors G4
 
wrldwzrd89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Solon, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmacatac2002 View Post
How to reset again?
Here's the link you need - it's the first tab on that page, called Reset.
__________________
iMac Intel (Rev H, 27"), 1TB HDD, 16GB RAM, 10.8.4
wrldwzrd89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2008, 11:24 AM   #9
jmacatac2002
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2008
I've reset it and still get nothing, this is so weird
jmacatac2002 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2008, 02:48 PM   #10
JohnnyRules
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I had something like this happen to me a few years ago with my 4g click wheel ipod. It turns out the hard drive was damaged because I threw my book bag and forgot my ipod was in it. My ipod would freeze up and take a long time to change songs. I would take over a minute sometimes just to change songs. At one point it stopped playing songs altogether and I took it to the apple store and it was replaced doe to a bad hard disk. This probably won't help you, but it kind of sounds like a damaged hard drive imo. Call Apple, they know more about it.
JohnnyRules is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2008, 04:24 PM   #11
jmacatac2002
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2008
What's the number?
jmacatac2002 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2008, 05:11 PM   #12
jmacatac2002
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Now, my Ipod had dropped earlier that night, but I have the protective shell/cover around it, plus I picked it up and kept listening to music. . . continued to listen to it that night, got up in the early morning and listened to it. . . I don't know if the falling had anything to do with it, but it did, since the effects were immediate.

Plus: Its not skipping tracks like I heard from others, the wheel is very responsive, I'm able to see everything, it works like a regular Ipod except when I click on a song, it goes to the now playing menu like usual and just sits there, at zero, I hit play again, nothing, I try moving the song to the middle, it moves and still plays nothing. . .
jmacatac2002 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2008, 05:42 PM   #13
Cheffy Dave
macrumors 68020
 
Cheffy Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sunny Florida, on the Gulf Coast in Homosassa Fl
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmacatac2002 View Post
What's the number?
want me to make the call too?
__________________
lotsa "stuff"
Cheffy Dave is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2008, 06:48 PM   #14
jmacatac2002
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2008
I fixed my ipod and heres how, for those who may counter this same problem:

1.) I have an extra laptop in my house/room, its a PC. . .

2.) I connected my Ipod to my PC, and it came up automatically and said that I needed to download an update to my Ipod, and I agreed to download the update.

3.) Then I updated my Itunes on the PC, because I rarely use it to play my Ipod

4.) And it worked. . . plugged it back into my Mac, restarted my computer and it worked.

I guess my Ipod (the actual MP3 player) needed an update transfered into it. . . I don't understand why the Mac didn't detect that, but oh well...
jmacatac2002 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iTunes library won't add / list several of my TV-Show episodes RamGuy Apple TV and Home Theater 8 Nov 25, 2014 05:49 AM
my iphone won't show up on mac desktop, but itunes sees it plpmusic iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Mar 25, 2013 10:17 PM
itunes lib show app, but won't install to iPhone bmarkoff iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Nov 9, 2012 02:22 AM
iPod Classic won't show playlists after adding music with iTunes? php111 iPod 0 Oct 10, 2012 03:23 PM
Itunes purchased Titanic video won't show up on iPad 1 riciad iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Sep 22, 2012 07:22 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC