Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 13, 2009, 08:43 PM   #1
Portal83
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
I think my G5 finally bit the dust

My original iMac G5 had been experiencing some weird freezing for a couple months but I think it's finally dead. Today it was freezing constantly and weird crazy lines covered the screen. Next time, I came back to it and the lines were back and the fan was going nuts. I turned it off and now it's really screwed up from boot.

Is it safe to assume the thing's just been run into the ground and has now officially bit the dust?
__________________
 - 13" Macbook Pro with Retina display - 2.4GHz Intel Core i5 // 8GB RAM // 256GB SSD
 - iPhone 6 - 16GB
Portal83 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2009, 08:46 PM   #2
eawmp1
macrumors 601
 
eawmp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: FL
Check your RAM. The same symptoms happened to me when I upgraded to a bad batch or RAM. Replacing the original working RAM fixed the problem until OWC sent me some new sticks.
eawmp1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2009, 08:52 PM   #3
ceezy3000
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: The Valley!!
try everything you can!
1st: try resetting the pram by holding command+option+R+P when you turn it on.
2nd.try safebooting by holding shift on startup
3rd. try hitting it
__________________
Collector's Edition Aluminum Macbook 2.4Ghz 2gb Ram 250GB HDD
ceezy3000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2009, 08:59 PM   #4
Nukemkb
macrumors 6502a
 
Nukemkb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Columbia, SC
Quote:
Originally Posted by ceezy3000 View Post
try everything you can!
1st: try resetting the pram by holding command+option+R+P when you turn it on.
2nd.try safebooting by holding shift on startup
3rd. try hitting it
My favorite choice!
__________________
iPhone 6, 64GB Silver
Nukemkb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2009, 09:04 PM   #5
Ttownbeast
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2009
It's not dead I'm sure probably just a hardware issue and a fresh reinstall will fix things right up. If I can keep a G4 working on bubblegum coat hangers duct tape and spit that's passing the 10 year mark I'm certain a G5 has a lot more life in it than that
Ttownbeast is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2009, 09:13 PM   #6
Nukemkb
macrumors 6502a
 
Nukemkb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Columbia, SC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ttownbeast View Post
It's not dead I'm sure probably just a hardware issue and a fresh reinstall will fix things right up. If I can keep a G4 working on bubblegum coat hangers duct tape and spit that's passing the 10 year mark I'm certain a G5 has a lot more life in it than that
Darn right!
__________________
iPhone 6, 64GB Silver
Nukemkb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2009, 09:16 PM   #7
Shake 'n' Bake
macrumors 68020
 
Shake 'n' Bake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ttownbeast View Post
It's not dead I'm sure probably just a hardware issue and a fresh reinstall will fix things right up. If I can keep a G4 working on bubblegum coat hangers duct tape and spit that's passing the 10 year mark I'm certain a G5 has a lot more life in it than that
Hardware isn't the OS. The OS is software and the computer itself is hardware.
__________________
Mid-'07 2 GHz Mac mini (10.6.6), Dell Studio 540 C2Q (W7), Samsung N130 (Natty), Dimension 4300s inside a 4400 case (Natty)
Check out my blog!
Shake 'n' Bake is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2009, 09:18 PM   #8
Portal83
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ceezy3000 View Post
try everything you can!
1st: try resetting the pram by holding command+option+R+P when you turn it on.
2nd.try safebooting by holding shift on startup
3rd. try hitting it
Hehe, tried all 3 and switching the RAM but no change. At least my new MBP should get here Monday. I'll see if I can get far enough to wipe/reinstall but my superdrive hasn't worked much for about a year

Maybe I'll just pop out the HDD but I think my backup's up to date.
__________________
 - 13" Macbook Pro with Retina display - 2.4GHz Intel Core i5 // 8GB RAM // 256GB SSD
 - iPhone 6 - 16GB
Portal83 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2009, 09:20 PM   #9
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
no1 has mentioned this yet it could be the cause::

if the screen is going all crazy and liney they it could be

*pause*

the GPU!!!!

run the hardware test if you can!
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2009, 09:21 PM   #10
eawmp1
macrumors 601
 
eawmp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: FL
But would the GPU cause the fan to go crazy?
eawmp1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2009, 09:22 PM   #11
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
Quote:
Originally Posted by eawmp1 View Post
But would the GPU cause the fan to go crazy?
not neccesarily
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2009, 09:24 PM   #12
Nukemkb
macrumors 6502a
 
Nukemkb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Columbia, SC
hardware test time! let us know...
__________________
iPhone 6, 64GB Silver
Nukemkb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2009, 09:26 PM   #13
Ttownbeast
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shake 'n' Bake View Post
Hardware isn't the OS. The OS is software and the computer itself is hardware.
You'd be surprised how a bad piece of ram or a fxxcked up PCI card can effect software over the course when the software is forced to operate under bad physical conditions and limitations that can lead to anomalies in the software's code, errors can build up over time.
Ttownbeast is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible to downgrade 64 bit to 32 bit time machine? Extra Crispy MacBook Pro 4 Jan 21, 2014 06:32 AM
64 bit & 32 bit apps ljy1 iOS 7 1 Jan 11, 2014 01:22 AM
Deploying 32 bit or 64 bit or Universal Binaries? kamy Mac Programming 7 Nov 15, 2013 02:10 PM
Finally made the final decision and bit the bullet collinmac MacBook Pro 5 Aug 28, 2013 11:44 PM
iMac 2008, Boot Camp 5, and Windows 7 32-bit & 64-bit mcrazza Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Mar 20, 2013 11:57 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC